Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New edition of this classic work
It's great to see a new edition of this classic work being published. As mentioned in a previous review the original published in the early 1990's quickly sold out and was not reprinted.

Not only has the book been reprinted (thank you British Wildlife Publishing) but it has been thoroughly updated. Richard Lewington, the master of invertebrate illustration, has...
Published on 17 May 2010 by S. Weeks

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I bought this for one of my GrandDaughters
The Subject Matter is dealt with well enough, However , I am a retired graphic designer and as such I Know what good printing
should look like....and this falls very short indeed. The overall appearance is very soft and grey, the beautiful illustrations
should never have been passed by any production manager at all the images have lost so much in their...
Published on 26 Nov. 2012 by Gimartin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New edition of this classic work, 17 May 2010
By 
S. Weeks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
It's great to see a new edition of this classic work being published. As mentioned in a previous review the original published in the early 1990's quickly sold out and was not reprinted.

Not only has the book been reprinted (thank you British Wildlife Publishing) but it has been thoroughly updated. Richard Lewington, the master of invertebrate illustration, has painted nearly 100 new illustrations for this edition. Jeremy Thomas has revised, and where necessary updated the information about each species in light of new research. Particular attention has been given to the Lycaenidae and their interaction with ants.Two new species have been added, Real's wood white and the geranium bronze and the maps have been updated.

As with the original, all life stages are illustrated, there is a life-cycle diagram illustrating when you can expect to see each stage, a map showing the species range and an extensive, up to date and expertly written account of the ecology of each species.

The book is a fair size and hardback, so it is likely best used as a home reference to double check field observations - or to learn all the fascinating details that field guides don't include.

A classic just got better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference guide to british butterflies, 6 Oct. 2009
By 
J. Wallace (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I chanced upon this book in a bookshop at around the time it was published in 1991 and have consulted it regularly ever since. Jeremy Thomas, perhaps the leading butterfly expert in the country, provides a charming text that reflects his love of butterflies as well as his deep knowledge whilst the peerless Richard Lewington provides beautiful plates that show each life stage of all of the species regularly occuring in the UK as well as a number of rare vagrants and species that are now extinct. Adult stages are shown life size.
The large format of the book (250 mm X 255 mm) means that it is not suitable for taking out into the field but the wealth of information included, covering aspects of identification, variation, distribution, life-cycle, ecology, food plants and behaviour, make it a worthy reference to include in any entomologist's library. Now only available second hand it is nevertheless well worth seeking out a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Butterflies of Britain & Ireland, 11 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
Stunning book. Provides all the information I need to ensure I retain the butterflies I do have and encourage those in the area to establish themselves in my woodland once I have planted the right larval food plants. The complete pictorial lifecycle is exactly what I desired for my conservation & restoration project. A must have for anyone wanting to learn at whatever level. And a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look no more!, 4 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
If you are enthusiastic about butterflies found in the British Isles then this is this latest edition is the book you need. Professor Jeremy Thomas has distilled a lifetime's experience of lepidoptery into this attractive, informative and immensely readable volume. If you have agonised over whether a fresh, male Common Blue might just possibly be an Adonis or the differences between Pearl-bordered Fritillaries, then this book will help settle the matter.

This is no pocket field guide but a manual for planning your butterfly season, keeping at your right hand while reviewing last season's photographs and even dreaming of the day that the Purple Emperor flutters in front of your lens. Comprehensive is an understatement, for each species is described not only for itself but also in the wider ecological context drawing from Prof. Thomas's immense experience in that field. The wealth of detail notwithstanding it remains an extremely readable book.

For field trips, Jeremy Thomas's "Guide to Butterflies" is still available s/h in its latest incarnation by Phillips, although the flight time charts may not reflect global warming. However, there is now a "Pocket Guide to Butterflies of GB & I" by Richard Lewington, who illustrated JA Thomas's epic, which has remedied this and will be the subject of intensive field trials with us this Summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 11 Nov. 2010
By 
Andrew Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
I purchased this book due to the fact I've been photographic Butterflies over the last year and needed something to help me identify them.

I stumbled upon this book and the reviews a few weeks back and can confirm what everyone is saying about it. The book really is an excellent guide to British Butterflies. The information contained within it, coupled with the beautiful illustrations really do mark this book out as something special.

The quality of the printing and the binding are also first class. If the first printing of this book sold out all those years ago, then I suspect this version will too. Buy it before it too becomes a rarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the best, 25 Aug. 2010
By 
NickL "NickL" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
This book is just the best. The pictures are works of art and so helpful and the text is a delight and full of enthusiasm. Brilliant. My other butterfly books won't be needed again, I fear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellence, 25 Aug. 2010
By 
Keith Dye "swift 55" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
This book supercedes and updates the original 1991 publication with the same title by the same authors. Highly recommended to any butterfly enthusiast, it is hard to imagine how it can be bettered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly brilliant addition to my reference book shelf, 12 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
As an amateur wildlife photography enthusiast I needed a reference book that would allow me to easily identify the butterflies that I have photographed. Not only are the illustrations exceptional for the purpose but the background information in the book is excellent to enable me to plan future expeditions to find species missing from my photo collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and informative, 20 Aug. 2011
By 
Richard Bennett (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
This is a fabulous book. I have had an interest in butterflies since taking up photography a few years ago. The book is very well written and for non-entomologists and non-lepidopterists it will make easy and informative reading.

The illustrations by Richard Lewington are, as always, exquisite. The text provides a thorough insight into each species, but for the general reader it also provides lots of interesting little tidbits covering the author's observations on each butterfly.

It is not a portable field guide but it is a book which can be happily read when at home. I have a number of butterfly books. When looking for some information on a butterfly visitor to my garden I always turn to this book first and I rarely then need to look at another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for butterfly lovers, 28 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Butterflies of Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
A really informative book. There is no question about butterflies that it does not answer. Beautifully produced and a pleasure to hold. ( Book lovers know what I mean! ) A great help in identifying the insects in all their stages of development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Butterflies of Britain and Ireland
The Butterflies of Britain and Ireland by Jeremy Thomas (Hardcover - 30 April 2010)
Used & New from: £4.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews