Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paint: A Boy Soldier's Journey, 14 Jun 2010
By 
C. L. Henton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paint - A Boy Soldier's Journey (Paperback)
A truly memorable read, this is a very honest account of life in then army and then goin AWOL to fight in Bosnia. It does not glamourise or sentsationalise either of these wars but Simon tells it from the heart about the situations he was faced with. For anyone who wants to gain an insight into the realities of life as a soldier then this is a fascinating read. Equally, despite the horrors he faced this is not a sob story but a very inspiring read about overcoming personal battles. An excellent book that just has to be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating journey, 28 Jun 2010
This review is from: Paint - A Boy Soldier's Journey (Paperback)
Pretty amazing read through two of the main events that saw out the last century; the first Gulf war and the aweful conflict in Bosnia. The order of one contrasts with the chaos of the other, but fear and shock remain common factors to both. I found especially poignant Mr. Hutts close personal identification and possible salvation being linked so closely to fighting for what seemed a lost cause in Bosnia. Both the uncertain and rebellious path of his young life and eventual terrifying fate are apt metaphores for the collective fate of so many accross the years encapsulated in this book. What makes it compelling is also it is not a verbose or opinionated read, but rather written from the heart. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paint -a boy soldiers journey, 8 Jun 2010
By 
Susan Mackenna "Mahjong" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paint - A Boy Soldier's Journey (Paperback)
This book is heart wrenching.Never before have I read such a page turner.It's beautifully written and portrays a message for everyone who values their freedom and basic rights as a human being;it's a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Paint, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paint - A Boy Soldier's Journey (Paperback)
Written by someone who clearly isn't a writer, they did an excellent job of helping you to understand what it's like to be a young soldier. Very moving and worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was always fascinated about who and why were attracted to the war in the Balkans from outside of the region. This is the most honest, warts and all , account I've read I think.

And anyone with their own demons they see from the face in the mirror and when they close their eyes at night will identify alot with Mr Hutt's account of his war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Story of War, 9 Sep 2012
This review is from: Paint - A Boy Soldier's Journey (Paperback)
From the first page you are hooked. I found this book extremely hard to put down and finished it in two sittings. The opening scene takes you to an evolving battle for a contested town on the Croatian-Bosnian border. Both sides are moving and a few foreign volunteers with the Croatian Army appear caught in the middle and only half aware of what's about to happen. They stop in a building to regroup and notice a puddle of blood. But its paint, no its blood, its paint, it's blood..... Theres the sound of an approaching tank.....Go back a couple of years prior.
Simon Hutt had everything going for him. A boy soldier in the British Army he could have been groomed into a rewarding career for life. All he wanted to do was soldier and serve his country and they gave him his wish and sent him to Iraq on Operation Storm.
As a number on a mobile missile launcher, the true nature of the Iraq conflict became shallow and built on falsehoods. Killing retreating soldiers en masse is not why Simon joined the Army. On his return to the UK he did what Squaddies do, he went home, met up with the lads and got drunk, stoned and tried to forget. Hutt could not forget and soon took a spiral descent into hell and faced charge after charge for various offenses.
In the background the war for homeland freedom had began in earnest in Croatia and escalated from an uprising to a national war for independence spilling across the border into Bosnia and igniting a viscous war there. Simon for all his youth and immaturity noticed the war when most Squaddies his age were more interested in the football scores or page two girl in the Sun. Desperate to make sense of his life and make a difference he went AWOL from the Army and travelled to Croatia. It changed his life forever.
Paint is a war story but it's also a young mans search for himself and an answer. The author wanted to be a man and wanted to do what was right and make a difference, along the way his fall in the battlefield and the hell that followed was a brutal rebirth of a man that endured for years. The real story in Paint starts in the second half. The first half of the book is fear, the second half is pain, and the ending is resurrection and healing.
I could not recommend a more honest book of the war in Croatia and Bosnia than Paint in that the author is nothing but a boy soldier who is willing to risk all for others and does that and more than most men will do in a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simon's Paint, 13 Aug 2010
This review is from: Paint - A Boy Soldier's Journey (Paperback)
I had read an extract from this book long before I got my hands on a copy. It stirred my interest enough to read the whole book and I was not disappointed. Simon unashamedly lays bare his feelings and failings in a true tale of heroism, despair and recovery that touched me deeply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa679bdbc)

This product

Paint - A Boy Soldier's Journey
Paint - A Boy Soldier's Journey by Simon Hutt (Paperback - 1 Jun 2010)
10.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews