Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent update to NBI 2nd Edition
The second edition was good, but it was a nuisance having to set up using three discs. This version uses just one disc and is very easy to set up with clear written instructions.

The software is very easy to use and the search engine very efficient, narrowing info down to individual parish churches in different counties in England and Wales.

I...
Published on 18 Dec. 2011 by PJ Preston

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check County and Parish
Before Buying This Disc I Urge You To Check Which Counties and Parishes are Included as I Was Totally Disappointed To Discover The Counties I Needed (West Sussex and Hampshire) are Hardly covered At All. Otherwise, a Very Easy Disc To Use and Simple Search Engine Which Is Fairly Rapid
Published on 23 Feb. 2012 by Max


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent update to NBI 2nd Edition, 18 Dec. 2011
By 
PJ Preston "ppreston21" (Hythe, Hants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: National Burial Index (CD-ROM)
The second edition was good, but it was a nuisance having to set up using three discs. This version uses just one disc and is very easy to set up with clear written instructions.

The software is very easy to use and the search engine very efficient, narrowing info down to individual parish churches in different counties in England and Wales.

I thought I'd found most of the info I'd required on version 2, but I was very pleasantly surprised and am still adding data to my family tree. For the amount of info that you get it is excellent value, even if some areas aren't covered in detail. eg if you had relatives in Yorkshire, the Midlands, Suffolk, Lincolnshire and Berkshire, you'll probably find a lot of info (more details on the Federation of Family History Societies website)

Devon, Hampshire, Lancashire, Norfolk and North Wales don't have as many entries - hopefully these areas will be included on version 4!

In spite of these gaps, I would still recommend this software very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check County and Parish, 23 Feb. 2012
This review is from: National Burial Index (CD-ROM)
Before Buying This Disc I Urge You To Check Which Counties and Parishes are Included as I Was Totally Disappointed To Discover The Counties I Needed (West Sussex and Hampshire) are Hardly covered At All. Otherwise, a Very Easy Disc To Use and Simple Search Engine Which Is Fairly Rapid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NBI Index, 7 Oct. 2011
This review is from: National Burial Index (CD-ROM)
The National Burial Index is a very useful aid in Family History Research and is very user friendly. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NBI, 11 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Burial Index (CD-ROM)
Excellent and more. Easy to use with its own viewer; including conditions such as date range, variant names and optional place and county. I had one issue with a name that wouldn't load in, I used the help facility and was emailed back within 24 hours with the answer, problem solved. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars National Burial Index 3rd Edition, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Burial Index (CD-ROM)
The patchy coverage has been mentioned by others, and is well known. Future editions will no doubt go some way to filling in the gaps.

I would have found it VERY useful if this software had incorporated some sort of ability to attach simple notes to the records returned in a search. Maybe the producers of this CD would consider adding a function like this to a future release... ?

Only major gripe is with the copy protection - the CD must always be in the computer for the program to run. This means that I could find no way of getting the software to run on my netbook (which has no CD drive), so I can't use it when out and about.

Regardless of that, this is a very useful resource for researching family history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good programme, 25 Sept. 2014
By 
J. C. Miller "caravanman" (East Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: National Burial Index (CD-ROM)
A useful item for those researching Family History.
I have found several records on here of my ancestors, so in that respect it is good.
A minor niggle though is that you have to have the installation disc in your computer all the time you are searching, since the programme does not fully install. This is intentional, but seems a bit strange in this day and age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars National Burial Index for England & Wales 3rd Edition, 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Burial Index (CD-ROM)
Very disappointed to discover that there are no records at all on the index for Bolton and very few for Northampton which are my main areas of interest, which is also the case for Herts & Warwicks. Why is this, am I just unlucky here?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
Cf Mrs C. Walsh "Carole66" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Burial Index (CD-ROM)
It seems to take quite a while to "get going" but is easy enough to follow. This type of product is very hit and miss as regards finding the entries you want and you have to accept that when you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars helpfull, 12 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. P. Davies (Wakefield,West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Burial Index (CD-ROM)
the most modern edition of National Burial Index. just put the name in, pick the county and/or then place where they lived and it gives you a list of your names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars National Burial Index review, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Burial Index (CD-ROM)
This NBI is such a help for my family research.

I use it nearly everyday to look for ancestors burials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Burial Index
National Burial Index by Federation of Family History Societies (CD-ROM - 31 Jan. 2010)
Used & New from: £20.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews