Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest and Straight talking
An honest, no frills, warts and all straight talking review of his life in and out of football the book totally sums up the man. Southall holds nothing back and what comes through is his passion for the game and for doing the right things in life as is evidenced by the work he now carries out with troubled young people.

The book paints a vivid picture of...
Published 23 months ago by G. Waterman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Loved the man
I watched big Nev from when he first signed for Everton from Bury, saw him have the odd poor game then grow into the worlds greatest goalkeeper.

This book though a good insight into the man himself, leaves a little bit to be desired on the sporting autobiography front mainly because (and I think all sports fans want to know the nitty gritty) he didn't drink or...
Published 11 months ago by stewart airey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read about someone who was my goalkeeping hero when I played good insight into the mind set to be a world class goalkeeper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Loved the man, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched big Nev from when he first signed for Everton from Bury, saw him have the odd poor game then grow into the worlds greatest goalkeeper.

This book though a good insight into the man himself, leaves a little bit to be desired on the sporting autobiography front mainly because (and I think all sports fans want to know the nitty gritty) he didn't drink or hell raise makes it a a bit bland, although the memories from the mid eighties are superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best goalkeeper in the world of the last 40 years an evertonian and a humanist!
Thouroghly enjoyable read recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A life long Evertonian, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Because of the heading,it brought back memories of those games I attended. I always thought he was the best goalkeeper after Ted Sagar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Once he was king, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles (Hardcover)
Neville was my hero in the 80's. In spite of his mooching about and misery. His star waned once he retired, miserable, belligerent, took Dover down and piled on weight. I read this and Neville redeemed himself. Maybe not to 80's glory but this book definitely gave me respect for the man. Still far too arrogant, and unapologetic for being wrong than is comfortable. However he comes across as human. Knocks Grahame Sharp's autobiography into a cocked hat for Everton in the glory years. Far more engaging, far easier to read and my respect for the man increased. If not his likeability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUY, GREAT BOOK, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles (Hardcover)
This was a very interesting book about one of the best goal keepers ever, and remaining an ordinary person. It is a great read and obviously I dont want to give anything away, but, I dont think you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gives a good account of himself., 13 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Big Nev at his best was a true Goalie great. His story was a good read as he was always a bit of an enigma, tries to let you into his thoughts and does a good job. Charts his footbal journey which in the main is about his time at Everton. Dedicated professional only interested in defending his goal. Some good crack and a few laughs along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back of the Net!, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for a mad Evertonian

Not old enough to remeber big Nev but is entralled by thes tory of this world class keeper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simply the Best goalkeeper I have seen , I have seen them all from Eddie Hopkins , He was Before Gordon Banks for the younger readers , a read into a real Personality and Character , Honest and open ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Southall's autobiography, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A full, frank and honest assessment of an Everton great. Southall holds nothing back. He takes us through his Welsh roots throught to the glory days with Everton and Wales. The journey continues with the decline of Everton and his split with the club.

He holds nothing back in his opinion of why Everton declined.

This is a must, not just for Everton fans but for fans of all sports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles
Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles by Neville Southall (Hardcover - 13 Aug 2012)
7.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews