Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest and Straight talking
An honest, no frills, warts and all straight talking review of his life in and out of football the book totally sums up the man. Southall holds nothing back and what comes through is his passion for the game and for doing the right things in life as is evidenced by the work he now carries out with troubled young people.

The book paints a vivid picture of...
Published 22 months ago by G. Waterman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Loved the man
I watched big Nev from when he first signed for Everton from Bury, saw him have the odd poor game then grow into the worlds greatest goalkeeper.

This book though a good insight into the man himself, leaves a little bit to be desired on the sporting autobiography front mainly because (and I think all sports fans want to know the nitty gritty) he didn't drink or...
Published 9 months ago by stewart airey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Binman Chronicles, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read, a lot of refernces to the matches and ther players that Southall played with during the 80's and 90's. A must read for an Evertonian who remembers the golden days of the 80's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The binman, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Neville tells it how it is straight down the line,the best keeper in the world at his peak .Loves Everton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific read !!, 28 May 2014
By 
A. Costigan "Popeye" (Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw the great Neville Southall throughout his iconic career with Everton and he was without doubt the best goalie in the world for about five years. The fact that he was never a drinker or a stereotypical footballer is a pleasure to read about in his own words, and his candid and sometimes blunt assessments of managers and players is enlightening. As an Evertonian, I would recommend this book to all who follow our great club. As a football can in general, I recommend this book to all football fans as it gives a fine insight into a superstar player in an age long before the obscene amounts of money now paid to also rans. If Big Nev were playing today, he would be priceless, and I found his book funny, poignant and educational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I expected from Neville Southall's autobiography., 25 April 2014
By 
Chris W. (Canterbury, Kent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All in all a fantastic read. Personally felt it was well written. A very interesting and illuminating account into the life (but almost exclusively footballing life) of a footballing great. Funny stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
legend of the game, surprising character and amazing playing career for everton, Wales and football in general. a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent biography. Far better than most other sports biographies, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good service
First time I had used Amazon to purchase anything at all and found this process very easy to do.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Present, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles (Hardcover)
I bought this for my Fiance, he hasn't put it down since Christmas day, he loves it.

Thanks very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bingaman Chronicles, 3 Jan 2014
By 
b rynn "b rynn" (St Helens, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found the book answered questions I had regarding a period of Everton 's history.
I would recommend that all budding football stars read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Neville Southall, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting read would recommend to all football fans who want to know what it was like before the silly money arrived in football. Also an interesting read because all levels of football are in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nevilles story, 18 Dec 2013
Story of a man who would have worth 10-15 millions in todays transfer market. Great story who was born in the right generation. Honest stor y of a great player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles
Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles by Neville Southall (Hardcover - 13 Aug 2012)
7.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews