Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest and Straight talking
An honest, no frills, warts and all straight talking review of his life in and out of football the book totally sums up the man. Southall holds nothing back and what comes through is his passion for the game and for doing the right things in life as is evidenced by the work he now carries out with troubled young people.

The book paints a vivid picture of...
Published 19 months ago by G. Waterman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Loved the man
I watched big Nev from when he first signed for Everton from Bury, saw him have the odd poor game then grow into the worlds greatest goalkeeper.

This book though a good insight into the man himself, leaves a little bit to be desired on the sporting autobiography front mainly because (and I think all sports fans want to know the nitty gritty) he didn't drink or...
Published 6 months ago by stewart airey


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest and Straight talking, 14 Sep 2012
An honest, no frills, warts and all straight talking review of his life in and out of football the book totally sums up the man. Southall holds nothing back and what comes through is his passion for the game and for doing the right things in life as is evidenced by the work he now carries out with troubled young people.

The book paints a vivid picture of football before the formation of the Premier League and how a talented youngster from a footballing backwater fought his way through all the barriers and obstacles placed before him and got to the top.

An invigorating and inspiring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big nev fan, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles (Hardcover)
let me start by sayin big nev is my goalkeepin hero so maybe i'm a bit biased.this book is not your usual 80's footballer tale of drink, woman and amusing anicdotes about puttin deep heatb in his teams jockstraps,theres no tales of boozy nights out,nevs teetotal but in his book nev shows us what made him tick,what drove him too be the best keeper in the world and the sacrafices he made to achive that.its an honest engaging story of his career and lets you get too known the real nevville southall dispelling a few myths on the way.you come away feeling you KNOW nev and understand his eccentricatis,hes just a normal guy with amazing talent doin what he loved,playin football,doin his best too be normal in the crazy world of football stardom.a great football book not just for everton fans,a must read for all goalkeepers and a wellcome change from most 80s football autobiographys.reading this made me an even bigger BIG NEV fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always been an Everton supporter. I have several other Books written by the Players and reading them all I feel that I
know them personally. Neville is a funny guy and I reading his Book I feel as if he is sitting next to me and talking to me about his life. G R E A T.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest account by an honest player, 9 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. B. A. French "bazzafrench" (Hampton Hill, Middx) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Growing up as a Watford fan in the 1980s, I remember Neville Southall as the chap who played in goal for our first ever top flight game and conceded one of the strangest goals I have ever seen when he caught the ball and stepped backwards over his own goal line. Other than that, I can’t remember him making too many mistakes as a ‘keeper. He half-heartedly argued his case to the linesman, but you could tell from his face he knew he messed up. He just misjudged the flight of the ball. It happens to the best.

My one abiding memory of him was in the same fixture a few years later. Watford striker collapsed in the box holding his head. The referee did absolutely nothing, but ‘Big Nev’ threw the ball out of play and gestured for the physio to come on. Nowadays it is the norm for this to happen, but it wasn’t in those days. Even as teenager, I saw it as terrifically honest sportsmanship. Watford were not as sporting and scored from the resulting throw-in!

Anyhow, my point is his story is written in a similar vein. Honest, to the point and not too whiny like some of the sport autobiographies I’ve read. The guy just liked playing football. Like so many loyal players, they are consigned to the scrapheap as soon as a manager deems them past their best. It is quite shocking really.

He lifts the lift on his half time ‘protest’ and why the Wales national team continued to fail at major tournaments, despite being able to field a world class goalie and in Ian Rush, the best finisher in the business.

It goes without saying that if you are a Welsh Evertonian, you’ll love this book, but anybody who loves football and respected what the ex-binman achieved in the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intresting read, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book as a true blue it was intresting to read the thoughts from a player at Everton for 16 years and seeing what it was like playing for Everton in their glory years and under mangers like Howard Kendall, Colin Harvey, Mike Walker and Joe Royal. It was also intresting to read about his early career before he ended up at Everton and what it was like playing for Wales and after his time at Everton. A great book for any true Evertonian. Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once a binman, still the best!, 18 Nov 2012
This review is from: Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles (Hardcover)
The Binman Chronicles is an excellent book about an extra-special goalkeeper. The opening chapters are particularly interesting and give a real insight into Southall's life before he made it as a professional footballer. A couple of the reviews I have read state that some of the stories from the Welshman's life are glossed over and lack detail. There's certainly something in this, but then, in order to chronicle all the incidents in Southall's fascinating life, co-author Corbett would have needed twice as many pages. Really well written; not as good as the goalie himself, but how could it be? Check out the special editions too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, Insightful, Honest, 28 Sep 2012
This review is from: Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles (Hardcover)
Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles
"The many faces of a football great - revealed for the first time." It is exactly these words at the back of the book, in combination with a hilarious and straight-talking radio interview, which tempted me into reading this book.

Southall, the legendary Everton and Wales Goalkeeper, has kept himself to himself after retirement. This is bucking the trend. In today's game, players seem to release autobiography's the minute they retire from the game or, worse still, before they've barely started and actually achieved anything. Southall has done something completely different: he gives a compelling insight into an utterly formidable career after achieving the many landmarks that has characterised his personal, footballing and post footballing career.

Whilst I may be an avid Everton fan, I am still as cautious as anyone in picking up a footballer's autobiography. So regularly they are boring, long-winded and purely a money making exercise. I feel this is very different for Southall: he is a man with a point to prove.

The Binman Chronicles outlines the quite extraordinary story of Southall's highly successful career as a Goalkeeper playing at the highest level of the national and international game. The young man from Llandudno (a small coastal town in Wales apparently) transforms from a binman waking up at 0430 to supplement his paltry income to the most formidable goalkeeper in the English game to a man dedicating his life to dealing with the disengaged youths in Kent. It should be clear that is by no means a normal football autobiography.

One of the real treats served up in this book is Southall's take on Everton's European hopes being cruelly taken away from them in 1985 (disappointingly, there is less insight on the Hillsborough Disaster). It really feels as if the words on the page are coming right from Southall's heart as he outlines the emotions and impact that infamous decision had on Everton's dramatic collapse as the country's top side. Southall goes on to give highly interesting and controversial reasons for the ban on English teams participating in European football.

The book ends with a different kind of insight: an insight into the world of negotiating with NEETs (young people Not in Education, Employment or Training). It is the way this book transforms seamlessly from the grit of professional football to the teaching of desperate young adults that give this autobiography an edge in the crowded football market. Whilst Southall is at times guilty of lapsing into giving details of too many games and goalscorers, this is nonetheless an excellent buy for those wanting an honest insight from a true footballing legend into what the game was like in the by-gone era of the 1980s and 90s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must for Evertonians, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great incite into one of the club's true legends. Straight talking, written in Big Nev's words. Particularly liked the bit when Nev was told his Everton Career was over by Howard Kendall who was stood in his dressing gown with his testicles hanging out. Well in Nev.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book by an absolute legend., 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a great read,one of the best football books out there,highly recommended,Southall speaks his mind as you would expect but also gives a lot of interesting insight on his unique views on the game and life in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Autobiographie of Neville Southall - The Bin Man Chronicles, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is so true to life, as a true Evertonian i can remember all the incidents. I attende some of the game described and all is true to life.

Stormyg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac20e6cc)

This product

Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles
Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles by Neville Southall (Hardcover - 13 Aug 2012)
17.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews