Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hunt For Puerto Del Faglioli, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Hunt for Puerto Del Faglioli: A Motorcycle Adventure in Search of the Improbable (Paperback)
This has to be one of the most entertaining, evocative and uplifting works on the experience of long distance motorcycling that has been published for some time. The author takes us on an trip across Canada, down into the US (as well an aborted attempt to reach Alaska), through Mexico and into Central America. Along the way we are introduced to range of characters; some benevolent, others, such as the police officer in Arizona, confirm our worst stereotypes. Friendship and the camaraderie of fellow travellers are also shown alongside wonderful descriptions of landscape and the riders place in it. But its also a story of the authors motorcycle itself..his trusty 'Peggy'. In many ways it, alongside descriptions of landscape and the exploration of the authors own feelings and emotions, becomes a character; sometimes fickle but always honest.
For motorcyclists (including those who only 'dream' of such touring and adventure,) and, equally importantly those potential readers who have never ridden a motorcycle, this IS a highly recommended book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hunt for....., 1 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Hunt for Puerto Del Faglioli: A Motorcycle Adventure in Search of the Improbable (Paperback)
This is a genuinely good book. Honestly. This comes from someone who reads a lot of books, and who sets great store by clear, incisive writing. And from someone who until a recent conjunction of circumstances with which I won't bore you had no interest in motorbikes or the people who ride them. The sequence of events is compelling, the story-telling is entertaining, and the narrative builds to portray a picture of a kind and sensitive Irishman, genuinely fascinated by the scenes he is witnessing. It is a delightful mix of personal anecdote and political and social commentary, which leaves the reader with a clear understanding of the size of Wales relative to virtually everything. And if that's not a reason to buy it, I don't know what is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 15 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Hunt for Puerto Del Faglioli: A Motorcycle Adventure in Search of the Improbable (Paperback)
As someone who likes to read travel books I can be a bit fussy adn I'm sometimes disappointed, but definitely not with this great book by Paddy Tyson. He's extremely funny as he details with honesty his travels which go from Canada through to Central America heading towards the "mythical" Puerto Fagioli. His exploits with a bike that won't always behave itself are entertaining proof that you can probably take any bike anywhere in the world. His descriptions of the people he meets along the way are insightful and amusing, particularly enjoyable are the sections where he has joined up with other travellers. I'll be looking out for another title by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The hunt for Puerto Del Faglioli, 26 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Hunt for Puerto Del Faglioli: A Motorcycle Adventure in Search of the Improbable (Paperback)
I have read many, many travel books over the last few years from all the great names and I have to say that this book is up there with the best. I am not as good with words as the guys that write these books but this book is a must read for anyone who likes to read about adventure travel. It is very well written, full of anecdotes and local info on the places visited, but it is done with humour that will have you sniggering to yourself all the way through it. If you have never read a motorcycle travel book before then you could do a lot worse than to start with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like "Overlander Books" You'll just love this one!, 23 April 2012
This review is from: The Hunt for Puerto Del Faglioli: A Motorcycle Adventure in Search of the Improbable (Paperback)
I've just spent a very enjoyable 5 days reading Paddy's book as recommended by Sam (Manicom) at the NEC in November 2011. This has to be the best book I've read since Sam's quintet. Paddy has a fantastic way of combining useful local information with a whit which at times had me laughing out loud. I loved every page of it and would highly recommend you download it NOW! You will not be disappointed. When's the next one due Paddy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Adventures of Paddy Tyson, 4 April 2012
This review is from: The Hunt for Puerto Del Faglioli: A Motorcycle Adventure in Search of the Improbable (Paperback)
Here in Canada, readers of Motorcycle Mojo are familiar with the name Paddy Tyson. He is an Irish adventure rider who makes regular contributions to the monthly magazine about his trips near and far. His book, The Hunt for Puerto Del Faglioli, takes him through Canada, the US, Mexico and further south on his testy Italian motorcycle he has nicknamed Peggy.

Paddy's observations about Canada are fascinating. He finds amusement in the unusual and writes with wit and gentle sarcasm. The book is peppered with enough historical references and fun facts to make it interesting even to a non-rider.

He compares every land mass to the size of Wales and doesn't shrink at the onslaught of hairy spiders (Costa Rica) or unfamiliar food (almost everywhere). Through it all Tyson comes across as just a normal guy who loves to see new places, gets frustrated by wasted time and has a sense of humour about most of it. Peggy the bike is definitely a character here so it's really the two of them on the road (or the path, or the field) and the people they meet and ride with along the way.

If you're interested in the way people really live in these places - not the overwrought infomercial version or disaster/crisis footage we're always shown - and what it's like for a pasty Irishman to put himself in their midst, you'll enjoy this book. The trip is one I've never personally wanted to make but it was fun to live it vicariously through Tyson's eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Escape, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Hunt for Puerto Del Faglioli: A Motorcycle Adventure in Search of the Improbable (Paperback)
I must say I have read several of these type books ( around the world on a motorbike )and must say this one portrays the motorcyclist dream we all have inside of us to just get on a bike an just Go, Explore and Discover.Although most of us are strapped with kids and mortage,etc.
One can only admire the courage and carefree attitude this fella has to leave loved ones at home and wander the countryside of foriegn countries on a small scale no large sponsors or support vehilces,etc and share his experiences along the way, a truly inspirational book. I know it has stirred long held dreams of my own to travel to far of places.The humour is honest and simple,on a cold snowy nite in Canada it is an awfully good read, highly recomended !!
Enjoyed it so much I gave a 2nd copy to a friend as a Christmas gift,makes for some good chat over a pint, although we both agree....we would have liked more pictures.
Definite 10+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunt for Puerto Del Faglioli: A Motorcycle Adventure in Search of the Improbable
Used & New from: £9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews