Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tries to do too much
This is the second book in Paul Brodel's hot air frying books, however where as the first one covered the "Tefal ActiFry" this one tries to cover all types of air fryers. Unfortunately as there are at least two different types of air fryers the "Tefal Actifry" with a rotating paddle and fixed temperature and the "Philips Air Fryer" with variable temperature and a basket...
Published on 2 Nov 2011 by Bob

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish
not value for money, small paperback, few recipies, hoped for some inspiration, but none given.

New product deserves more than this.
Published on 7 Dec 2012 by Mrs. Jacqueline Ditchfield


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tries to do too much, 2 Nov 2011
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Air Frying & More (Paperback)
This is the second book in Paul Brodel's hot air frying books, however where as the first one covered the "Tefal ActiFry" this one tries to cover all types of air fryers. Unfortunately as there are at least two different types of air fryers the "Tefal Actifry" with a rotating paddle and fixed temperature and the "Philips Air Fryer" with variable temperature and a basket rather like those in a deep fat fryer trying to produce recipes for both is a compromise which does not always work well.
He attempts to make this work by using a fixed temperature 170 C for all of the recipes but does not take account that one has a rotating paddle for example the "hot pineapple with chocolate" although delicious would prove difficult with the "Tefal Actifry" as the rotating paddle does not allow the raisins to stay in the pineapple but it would work fine with the "Philips Air Fryer".
This aside it is a useful book small at 67 pages with 8 starters, 14 main courses and 9 desserts. It is lavishly illustrated and all of the recipes are easy to prepare with only two needing any prior cooking before using the air fryer.
The recipes
Starters / Accompaniments
Bacon & Crouton Salad
Garlic Prawns
Wedges
Scallops wrapped in pancetta
Shredded duck for pancake rolls
Stuffed mushrooms
Thai green curry wings
Vegetable medley
Mains
Beef Stroganoff
Chicken a la king
Chicken stuffed with chorizo
Chicken with cashew nuts
Mango chicken
Mixed bean cassoulet
Oriental duck
Steak in black bean sauce
Sticky pork ribs
Stuffed chicken breast
Sweet chilli lamb
Tandoori lamb with mint & sour cream dip
Tandoori prawns
Tuna kebabs
Desserts
Berry compote with meringue
Boozy cherry pancakes
Date & banana with toffee sauce over brioche
Honey pears
Hot pineapple with chocolate
Peaches with almonds
Upside down apple crumble
Strawberry flan
Spun sugar (note does not use the air fryer)
In summary a good cookery book for air fryers but be careful if you are cooking one of the delicate items and have a "Tefal Actifry"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot Air Frying, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Air Frying & More (Paperback)
Purchased a Tefal Actifry and Paul Brodel Hot Air Frying and
more, we live in Spain and both purchases arrived on time, The
recipe book was a great addition to the one that came with
the fryer, and whats more I emailed Paul Brodel about one of
the recipes, and got a reply on the same day with a reply,
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. Jacqueline Ditchfield "Jackie" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Air Frying & More (Paperback)
not value for money, small paperback, few recipies, hoped for some inspiration, but none given.

New product deserves more than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting range of recipes but ..., 5 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Hot Air Frying & More (Paperback)
Just as with Paul's first book on Hot Air Frying, this book has been produced in rather a lack-lustre way, with inadequate attention paid to making it a quality product. It is plain that if any proof-reading was carried out then it was skimped! Too many spelling, grammar and punctuation errors. The standard is more akin to that of a pamphlet that to a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hot air frying, 22 Jan 2012
By 
L. Caton (Blackpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Air Frying & More (Paperback)
I made the mistake of not looking at reviews, or I would not have had it. I am trying to get virtually fat free recipes and thought that was what it would be. I do stir fry's in a wok!!!
Do not think it is value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cook Book, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Air Frying & More (Paperback)
"BOOK" this is more like a pamphlet, Only 67 pages in total, please don't waste your money buying this like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hot Air Frying & More, 4 Jan 2012
By 
jennyp19 (Scunthorpe, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Air Frying & More (Paperback)
I bought the Hot Air Frying & More - shouldn't have bothered - I bought this at the same time as the Hot Air Frying book WHICH WAS A USEFUL ADDITION to the Actifry.

Being new to the Actifry I wasn't sure how it worked so decided to buy both books together. You only need one of them. As I am unable to review more than one book in a range, I decided to review the Hot Air Frying & More, as it wasn't worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best buy i ever made, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Air Frying & More (Paperback)
this is one of the best buys i have ever made, it doesn't just cook chips to perfection but a whole lot of other wonderful low fat meals. wish i had discovered it a long time ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars shame....., 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Air Frying & More (Paperback)
great idea, i have a tefal actifry, was abit disapointed that some of the recipes are loaded with extra fat/cream etc....the ideas great but as health/hot air frying is supposed to be healthy these books arent the best if you want to 100% follow a recipe, great if you dont mind subsituting ingriedients if you are trying to eat healthily...if your looking for recipes to do in your actifry/health hot air fryer and you dont mind what you eat then these books will be ok for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Recipe book for hot air fryer, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Air Frying & More (Paperback)
I found the book very sparse and not very much in it , there was more in the book which accompanied the fryer so I returned this recipe book as I was not impressed with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Air Frying & More
Hot Air Frying & More by Paul Brodel (Paperback - 10 Jun 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews