Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2014
Rebecca Proberts volume is essential reading for anybody interested in Genealogy. It is comprehensive and surprisingly very readable. Helpful advice is provided for finding those missing marriages. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
This is a book all genealogists should have for reference to clarify the true English laws on Marriage. The writer refutes several earlier similar books which have replicated several historic errors made by an earlier writer, by not going to the original documents for the truth. Tired of seeing repeated errors the author of this book herein corrects them and clarifies English Marriage Law up to recent times. But the very latest changes in marriage Laws can be seen online.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
This book tackles a complex subject in a readable, clear and comprehensible way. Each chapter covers a defined area of marriage practices and the historical aspects of the development of the relevant laws are described fully. The summaries in tabular form are especially useful. I believe that it is essential reading for the amateur family historian and that professional genealogists will also use it as a reference manual.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I was fortunate to go to a talk by the author about this subject and she held my attention throughout. She has obviously done copious amounts of research and she came across as really enthusiastic about this area of law. Consequently, even if you are not currently researching your own ancestor's marriages, this book is a real insight to the social history of the subject and an easy enjoyable read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
Had all the information on marriages that you could need great for understanding marriages and the history of marriages in my tree
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
I saw this reviewed in one of the genealogy magazines, and thought that it sounded useful... and I was right!

Rebecca's writing style is good, it flows well and it was an enjoyable read. The information included in the book... invaluable! She looks at common misconceptions regarding marriages, and shows that many of them are indeed incorrect.

I particularly like the "key facts" box-outs which give an at-a-glance summary of what has been said.

I would recommend this to new genealogists and old (or should that be "more experienced"?!) - those of us who have been doing our research for a while easily allow misconceptions to influence our thinking and research (partly because of what other guides say!) - this book will get you thinking about the realities of the Who, What, Why, Where, When and How of marriage!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
Just what every Family Historian needs as a reference guide to the Marriage Laws that were around when their ancestors were alive. Not always easy to read but worth persevering.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Answers all of the questions I wanted to find out about, but also raised some new ones! Very clearly written with a rational for for many of the conclusions reached.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
An easy book to follow, which corrects several mistaken assumptions published elsewhere an contains useful material even for the experienced genealogist.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Very good explanation of the mariage law plus interesting lines for family tree history people to search.
Set out well
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)