Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ways of Seeing
It's been five years since Jamie's collection 'Findings', so I looked forward to this with eager anticipation; nor was I disappointed. She dedicates this collection of pieces to "the island-goers", even though the settings include Bergen, Central Scotland, and a Pathology Lab at Ninewells Hospital in Dundee; happily islands such as Rona, St Kilda and Shetland also...
Published on 25 Mar. 2012 by Sentinel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars for all its best intentions, is a bland repetitive experiment
Sightlines, for all its best intentions, is a bland repetitive experiment. Despite an intention of naturalism, without romanticism as the critics insist, this collection of essays is neither a profound exploration of human experience, or fully devote poetry to the natural. Often the essays, rather than finding a sweet medium between the complexity of the 'man-made' and...
Published 9 months ago by om


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sightlines (Paperback)
This book made me want to travel to all the places mentioned. I will certainly read all Kathleen Jamie's essays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A calm place, 23 Jun. 2012
By 
elsie purdon "reads too much" (dorset uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sightlines (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When you read these essays it is like stepping into a different world. Because Kathleen Jamie is taking so much care, not only with her writing but in the way she is looking at everything she writes about.
I like knowing that there are places in the world less crowded, less crazy and frantic.
I like the sense of calm and peace that the essays evoked in me.
They are writings of the natural world and Kathleen Jamie's experiences of the Northern Isles and parts of Greenland and Scandinavia.
As well as the longer essays, I really enjoyed the short piece of writing on the Magpie Moth. Wondering whether or not she should have ever interfered by attempting to rescue a moth she sees in a small loch.
I like the way she considers the what if. In her essay on the Isle of Rona, Jamie and her friends "often we wondered what it would do to your mind if you were born here, and lived your whole life within this small compass. ......live in constant sight and sound of the sea"

I loved the writing. So clean, so precise. Not a wasted word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "they should have sent a poet" (Contact, 1997), 20 Jun. 2012
By 
bomble "bomble" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sightlines (Paperback)
Kathleen Jamie is a poet and, though I don't know her work, I am quite sure that the discipline of selecting 'le mot juste' - just the right word - contributes to her delightful style in this collection of reflections.

The themes of the book are natural history, remote corners of the Scottish isles and archeology threaded together by Jamie's personal history of exploring them. That is not say that this is an especially technical work - quite the opposite really (one error in the text talks of an aircraft weighing 40 000 tons when lbs were intended). But Jamie succeeds in doing what many specialists of the natural world fail to manage - namely capturing the spirit of things in well crafted accessible language. The book has that restrained enthusiasm of the best BBC documentaries (such as Coast and the David Attenborough gems) combined with a literary precision that reminds me of the romantic poets.

Overall it was a real pleasure to read but not quite memorable enough to merit all five available stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful pathology, 10 April 2012
By 
Deep Reader - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sightlines (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Kathleen Jamie likes bones, rocks, and other kinds of inners. She writes beautifully in this book, as she did in its predecessor volume, 'Findings'. Once I was into it I couldn't put it down. The chapter I liked least is 'Pathologies', not so much for its subject matter, which is about post mortem examination and biopsy, especially with regard to cancer. Again, it was not so much the subject matter, which has to be written of and read about, but its treatment as landscape metaphor. I felt this method was rather unworthy of its subject and, indeed, the rest of the book. That said, Kathleen Jamie she has a unique voice, and I do think the book will last. If the whole thing has an air of the pathological it is no barrier to fascination. At The Edge: Walking the Atlantic Coast of Ireland and Scotland (Non-Fiction) On the Atlantic Edge: A Geopoetics Project: Reprint (Non-Fiction)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profoundly good, 20 Sept. 2012
By 
Ms. V. Hoyle (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sightlines (Paperback)
This collection of essays takes you from a whaling museum in Norway, to the bird infested islands of the Outer Hebrides, to the icy clarity of the fjords. It's an extraordinary journey, even if all Kathleen Jamie did was describe it to you. Jamie does more than describe these environments, she digs under the skin of the place to something spiritual and profound in them. The prose is lovely, sharp and clean, and Jamie's voice is very distinctive.

I hadn't read the first volume of Jamie's nature essays, Findings, before this but I have since and some of her poetry too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superior Journalism, 24 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Sightlines (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I felt that this was a great book to dip into. It was very though provoking and managed to avoid the self indulgence that some collections of essays are prone to.

This book is always interesting and it really did get me thinking.

The photos were a slight disappointment though. Most of them aren't especially interesting and they are just not in high enough definition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sightlines (Paperback)
Wonderfully insightful and calming book. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She made me look at the natural world in a different way., 24 Dec. 2013
By 
Niki Collins-queen, Author "author" (Forsyth, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sightlines (Paperback)
The descriptions in Kathleen Jamie's amazing biography "Sightlines: A Conversation with the Natural World" are so vivid she made me see and feel as if I was with her. In her fourteen essays she "paints" what she sees with words so graphically I began to look at the natural world in a different way.
In the essay "Pathologies" Kathleen says she is troubled by our culture's shortened definition of 'nature' as it does not take into account the shape and form of the natural inner world of a healthy or diseased body. She asks what is nature exactly and where does it reside? When her elderly mother died of pneumonia she wondered about the bacteria and asked if "Death is nature's sad necessity?" She speaks of the many landscapes within - how every city dweller has carbon deposits in their lungs and how a human colon tube specimen examined microscopically looks pale yellow-brown and ribbed like a beach at low tide.
While counting rare Leach's fork-tailed petrels or watching the huge black fins of killer whales on the island of Rona she says the days expanded like a wing where time became clouds passing, a sudden squall or a shift in the wind.
Along with her experiences, observations and curiosity she also shares the history and archeology of the places she visits: the skeletons of ancient whales in the Whale Hall of Norway's Bergen Natural History Museum, watching the aurora borealis from a boat in Greenland, sailing and doing research on islands and traveling across her native Scotland among others places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sightlines (Paperback)
a nice follow up to the previous book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Sightlines (Paperback)
Love this author. Will re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sightlines
Sightlines by Kathleen Jamie (Paperback - 5 April 2012)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews