Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning
I got this for Christmas and devoured it in two days - it is a stunning book. As Richard Dunwoody has been out of the sport for 10 years there is little of the inside gossip that people often seek in autobiographies, but he more than makes up for it with his insights and opinions on the sport as an experienced insider who takes a step back to reflect on the highs and lows...
Published on 29 Dec 2009 by Marco Herbst

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars For the nerd
Only a NH person or someone who reads sportsmen's autobiographies [ ie me: a limited market] would buy this book, but it is readable
Published 2 months ago by Ms. Josephine Allan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Marco Herbst (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Method in My Madness: 10 Years Out of the Saddle (Hardcover)
I got this for Christmas and devoured it in two days - it is a stunning book. As Richard Dunwoody has been out of the sport for 10 years there is little of the inside gossip that people often seek in autobiographies, but he more than makes up for it with his insights and opinions on the sport as an experienced insider who takes a step back to reflect on the highs and lows of racing. His views on how the sport is run and some of the people within it are enthralling, so much more so as he looks at controversial subjects from all angles before delivering an often devastating verdict. Not everyone will agree with his thoughts but after reading this book no one can claim that he has not intelligently argued his case, or lacks the experience or knowledge to speak out.

Away from the specifics of horse racing there are two other great strengths - firstly the look at problems all sportspeople face when they retire. Dunwoody movingly describes losing the sense of self respect and self esteem that comes from high achievement at a young age. Again not everyone will be sympathetic to what could be described as golden worries but they are undoubtedly candidly explained, and undeniably heartfelt.

The other great strength is that you really feel you are inside his head, and never more so than in the astonishing account of his walk to South Pole, a terrifyingly vivid picture of despair followed by elation. They are an incredible few chapters.

I couldn't recommend this more highly - from the gripping opening chapter to the surprising twist in the conclusion it is unputdownable. Honest, depressing at times, hilarious at others, it is a courageous and beautifully written account of an often uncomfortable period in Dunwoody's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended., 10 April 2010
By 
M. McArdle (Kildare, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Method in My Madness: 10 Years Out of the Saddle (Hardcover)
Highly recommended. The book delivers on many levels, offering an honest insight into one man's journey through his new life and the highs and lows that come along the way. Expertly crafted, it is fast paced, yet reflective, witty, yet sincere and thouroughly engaging throughout. The book is a must read, not only for sports and racing fans but for anyone who understands that we need to change to survive and that the more you practice, the luckier you get.Method in My Madness: 10 Years Out of the Saddle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book by Richard Dunwoody, 2 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Method in My Madness: 10 Years Out of the Saddle (Hardcover)
A wonderful book by a brilliant and complicated hero. This book is not by A P McCoy as Amazon would have it, but by Richard Dunwoody with a short preview by his friend A P McCoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For the nerd, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Method in My Madness: 10 Years Out of the Saddle (Hardcover)
Only a NH person or someone who reads sportsmen's autobiographies [ ie me: a limited market] would buy this book, but it is readable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love horses, 12 July 2013
By 
Maurice Bird "Mozbird" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being interested in horses and a fan of Richard Dunwoody I thought the read would be interesting. I was not , it was great. Unlike the ebook The girl who wanted a horse, which was a great read this one is not fictional. It takes you inside the jockey's mind. I would recommend both to other who like horses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Method in My Madness: 10 Years Out of the Saddle (Hardcover)
well written, funny but sometimes sad, real farm life , great !!! I just read it for hours on end, could not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kindle book, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent a must for anyone interested in racing,throughly interesting couldn't put down,excellent value for money ,will read again so going to keep on my files
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Method in my Madness Richard Dunwoody, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real insight into the man. The determination is amazing and shows how one can overcome adversity. A compelling read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book showing life of a horse racing jockey after he is forced to give up his job, after injuries recieved riding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Method in my Madness book, 18 Dec 2012
By 
A. Knowles "horse lover" (The Cotswolds, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Method in My Madness: 10 Years Out of the Saddle (Hardcover)
An excellently written book about Richard Dunwoody's years out of the saddle. Vividly described with very rivetting story of his polar adventures. I would recommend this for all who like adventure stories as well as for horse racing enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Method in My Madness: 10 Years Out of the Saddle
Method in My Madness: 10 Years Out of the Saddle by Richard Dunwoody (Hardcover - 12 Nov 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews