Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars45
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2011
Settle down down next to the fire on a cold winter's evening and read about Dave's exploits touring the coast of the UK on his new Kawasaki Cruiser.
This is two stories woven into one book...his trip to understand the world around him, and how it came about, relating to his personal fight to survive the modern world.
Humour, pathos, deep insight, and intrigue all feature in this 'hard-to-put-down' book. His love for his bike and for his wife, Liz., and the excitement at the chance to explore shine through each chapter.
This may not be a 'round-the-world-trip, but it is every bit as interesting, using as much courage to ride alone into the unknown, in all weathers.(And some of it sounded pretty dreadful)
Thoroughly recommended.
Driftwood.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
I really enjoyed this read as I felt it gave a perfect insight into the mind of a biker fanatic and family man who juggled to balance the two loves of his life, bikes and family, written with humour and honesty.

The book itself is full of his journey round the coast of Britain on his beloved Vulcan and the people he met on his route all carefully crafted into his words, but it is also a book about his life and love over the years.It is woven with interesting insights into life in the 50'sand 60's through to the modern era.

A real must read for anyone bike fanatic or someone who enjoys real life stories, not gossipy show business tat.

Have recommended to friends already!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
If you have wondered about heading out on your bike for more than just the usual Sunday ride then this book will help you to do that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
A book that puts you right along side the author on his travels and the ups and downs of his varied and full life. Good one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
This book truly is a journey in more ways than one, Dave takes you through the rollercoaster ride of life as well as his momentous journey on his beloved VN. Once I started to read his story I didnt put the book down until I finished it!!! I found it a fabulous read and recommend it to anyone, especially those with an avid interest in motorbikes. It makes me want to pack my bike up and get out!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
A pleasant bedtime read with interesting trips back to his early days, did seem to have a lot of bad weather though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
don't be fooled !! this book is about the writers life and nothing about bikes !!! very very disappointed indeed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Great read hard to put the book down I liked the way there in went from now to back in time to the good old days
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2011
I've read a lot of 'Biker' books and this is by far and away the best i've read. What makes it special is that it's an ordinary book written by an ordinary biker. The best advice i could give anyone, biker or non biker is read this book. Thanks to Dave I'm planning my own round Britain trip. Cheers, Dave, great book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
good light hearted read where ever he went the story was always one you did not want to put down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)