Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read.
I loved this book I will read it again it is evocative and gritty. Some reviews ive seen are so unfair and probably posted by people that have no idea how to interpret this story of a man's love of motorcycles and the ups and downs of life. It is two books in one as it switches between his trip around britain and how his life spanned out from early childhood to present...
Published 13 months ago by stephen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it seems.
Very disappointed with this book. I was expecting a travel book but instead the majority of this book is an autobiography covering his childhood, how he didn't get on with his neighbours, how many central heating systems he's fitted, holidays in America, his unsuccessful attempt at running his own business and how tough it was in the old days. All very well and good, but...
Published on 15 Dec. 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it seems., 15 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pack Your Bags and Get Out! (Paperback)
Very disappointed with this book. I was expecting a travel book but instead the majority of this book is an autobiography covering his childhood, how he didn't get on with his neighbours, how many central heating systems he's fitted, holidays in America, his unsuccessful attempt at running his own business and how tough it was in the old days. All very well and good, but don't mask it as motorcycle travel book. What parts of the book did cover the journey were quite bland and I got the impression the trip was a rush to get home because of the appalling weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars how to get round britain as quick as you can, 24 Sept. 2011
really looked forward to this book. quickly started to skip through the 'back then' bits as it's always good to get a bit of author background but this added up to a second book on its own, one which i wouldn't have bought. the actual trip starting with the purchasing of the bike was really good, but quickly turned into a list of road numbers and towns which didn't describe very much. i know out on a bike in the rain isn't great but he really should have just gone home as it didn't sound great at all. the 'northern' part of the trip was totally pointless as in about two paragraphs he went from liverpool area to glasgow to john o'groats to home. i've been down the road from j o'g to aberdeen then onto edinburgh then south a few times and it is spectatular, even in the rain. we went dolphin spottin, which isn't hard as you can see them within about twenty metres from the shore sometimes, clay pidgeon shooting, castle visits etc.the ride up the west coast of scotland is breathtaking as well. i was waitin to see if he went to any of the places we had had been on the bikes but not one place was mentioned so very disappointing. overall too much him and not enough britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I didn't quite pack my bags., 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this while suffering a sleepless night. I'm a biker born and bred so I'm always looking for something new to read concerning two wheels. I found the writing style confusing as it constantly hopped between the present (as written) and the authors past.

I enjoyed it but I found the constant past referrals took all the steam out of the narration of his journey.This required a brain re-jig every few paragraphs. In hindsight this needs to be two books, one about his formative years and one solely dedicated to his round Britain trip. His passion for his machine (not my choice for a trip like that, but each to their own)is obvious. Get a good bike and as the miles pile on it becomes inexplicably bonded to every fiber of your being. Some bikers never feel it, others couldn't bare not to feel that way. I yearned for more detail about the trip, the sounds,sights,feelings and when it was looking promising the detail ended. For me, although I was with Dave every mile, page after page, I just didn't feel as if I had taken the trip with him, and that ultimately is the books weakest point. Its a great effort but I didn't feel the urge to do a trip of my own.

I really hope Dave does another trip. Now we have his life history out of the way he can concentrate on more detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Biker rides the coast (or some of it)., 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A rambling and opinionated account of a midlife crisis ride around the coast of England, Wales and Scotland. Also padded out with autobiographical details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry - tedious!, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As much a biography of the author's early life as of the road trip. Hard going that would deter rather than encourage the would-be adventurer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read., 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pack Your Bags and Get Out! (Paperback)
I loved this book I will read it again it is evocative and gritty. Some reviews ive seen are so unfair and probably posted by people that have no idea how to interpret this story of a man's love of motorcycles and the ups and downs of life. It is two books in one as it switches between his trip around britain and how his life spanned out from early childhood to present. If you love and have lived with motorcycles as I have and still do, and have also lived through tough times you will understand, be fascinated, intrigued and inspired by his story. This book appeals to real people whos dream is not necessarily riding around the world but to ride around beautiful Britain. Hopefully when its not raining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the road again, 25 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Pack Your Bags and Get Out! (Paperback)
I might not be able to find the best words to relate the importance of this book as a social record of life from the sixties till now with the bonus of a good slab of real love wrapped around a couple fighting to better their lives together, a history of available British bikes and how their demise led to the onslaught of Japanese two wheeled beauties and one guys love of life which centres around the need to be "out there" on the road with the ability to express the sheer delights and downfalls of owning and riding motorbikes.
Bloody brilliant read from start to finish and having a personal love of bikes all my life and having also read the best accounts from other authors of that strange illness and addiction that surrounds the love of bikes I can say, buy it, read it, travel the road and life with Dave Clarke, smile, cry, and get under the skin of a biker, who is a biker in the best sense with an abounding love for his good partner who recognises that addiction and generously allows Dave to wander the roads with a smile, tent and a big mug of scalding tea, living the life and letting everyone know the culture of bike lovers everywhere.
Be careful though, you might find yourself peering through the window of your nearest motorbike dealer with some very good reasons why you should try it yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BORING, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pack Your Bags and Get Out! (Paperback)
This is possibly the worst book on motorcycling I have ever come across, other than an ego trip I can not see why it was published.
Do not waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars entertains but not exciting, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The writer is full of mementos about life and travel. Some I recognised and responded to.
However, as a sort I of life diary it shows what made the author what he was and the events leading up to a decision. For me it was not so much a travelogue but a collection of life experiences.
Nice bit of memory as I wouldn't remember exact prices and menus for the places I have visited.
Well written but by the end I got bored of all his life problems and would have liked more of the travel experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More of an autobiography than a travel story. The trip round the UK is a bit of a rushed trip although with plenty of interesting facts about the various places he traveled through. The tale of the journey is alternated with the author's rather interesting life story which many people of a certain age and who grew up in similar circumstances will identify with. Very well written and at times very poignant reminders of the trials, tribulations and even rewards of living through our age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pack Your Bags and Get Out!
Pack Your Bags and Get Out! by David Clarke (Paperback - 29 Dec. 2010)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews