Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pack your bags
I've read a lot of 'Biker' books and this is by far and away the best i've read. What makes it special is that it's an ordinary book written by an ordinary biker. The best advice i could give anyone, biker or non biker is read this book. Thanks to Dave I'm planning my own round Britain trip. Cheers, Dave, great book.
Published on 26 Jun 2011 by AndyT.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it seems.
Very disappointed with this book. I was expecting a travel book but instead the majority of this book is an autobiography covering his childhood, how he didn't get on with his neighbours, how many central heating systems he's fitted, holidays in America, his unsuccessful attempt at running his own business and how tough it was in the old days. All very well and good, but...
Published on 15 Dec 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it seems., 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pack Your Bags and Get Out! (Paperback)
Very disappointed with this book. I was expecting a travel book but instead the majority of this book is an autobiography covering his childhood, how he didn't get on with his neighbours, how many central heating systems he's fitted, holidays in America, his unsuccessful attempt at running his own business and how tough it was in the old days. All very well and good, but don't mask it as motorcycle travel book. What parts of the book did cover the journey were quite bland and I got the impression the trip was a rush to get home because of the appalling weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry - tedious!, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As much a biography of the author's early life as of the road trip. Hard going that would deter rather than encourage the would-be adventurer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Biker rides the coast (or some of it)., 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A rambling and opinionated account of a midlife crisis ride around the coast of England, Wales and Scotland. Also padded out with autobiographical details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars how to get round britain as quick as you can, 24 Sep 2011
really looked forward to this book. quickly started to skip through the 'back then' bits as it's always good to get a bit of author background but this added up to a second book on its own, one which i wouldn't have bought. the actual trip starting with the purchasing of the bike was really good, but quickly turned into a list of road numbers and towns which didn't describe very much. i know out on a bike in the rain isn't great but he really should have just gone home as it didn't sound great at all. the 'northern' part of the trip was totally pointless as in about two paragraphs he went from liverpool area to glasgow to john o'groats to home. i've been down the road from j o'g to aberdeen then onto edinburgh then south a few times and it is spectatular, even in the rain. we went dolphin spottin, which isn't hard as you can see them within about twenty metres from the shore sometimes, clay pidgeon shooting, castle visits etc.the ride up the west coast of scotland is breathtaking as well. i was waitin to see if he went to any of the places we had had been on the bikes but not one place was mentioned so very disappointing. overall too much him and not enough britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pack your bags, 26 Jun 2011
This review is from: Pack Your Bags and Get Out! (Paperback)
I've read a lot of 'Biker' books and this is by far and away the best i've read. What makes it special is that it's an ordinary book written by an ordinary biker. The best advice i could give anyone, biker or non biker is read this book. Thanks to Dave I'm planning my own round Britain trip. Cheers, Dave, great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!!!!, 15 Mar 2011
This review is from: Pack Your Bags and Get Out! (Paperback)
This book truly is a journey in more ways than one, Dave takes you through the rollercoaster ride of life as well as his momentous journey on his beloved VN. Once I started to read his story I didnt put the book down until I finished it!!! I found it a fabulous read and recommend it to anyone, especially those with an avid interest in motorbikes. It makes me want to pack my bike up and get out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good winter's read, 23 Feb 2011
By 
Driftwood (East Anglia UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pack Your Bags and Get Out! (Paperback)
Settle down down next to the fire on a cold winter's evening and read about Dave's exploits touring the coast of the UK on his new Kawasaki Cruiser.
This is two stories woven into one book...his trip to understand the world around him, and how it came about, relating to his personal fight to survive the modern world.
Humour, pathos, deep insight, and intrigue all feature in this 'hard-to-put-down' book. His love for his bike and for his wife, Liz., and the excitement at the chance to explore shine through each chapter.
This may not be a 'round-the-world-trip, but it is every bit as interesting, using as much courage to ride alone into the unknown, in all weathers.(And some of it sounded pretty dreadful)
Thoroughly recommended.
Driftwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two for One, 1 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pack Your Bags and Get Out! (Paperback)
You get two books in one with Pack Your Bags.

Dave has interweaved his challenging tour of the UK coasts with stories, anecdotes and memoirs of his past and sharing with the reader his two great loves of his life; the motorcycle and his wife Liz. So take your pick from which is your favourite.

The main thrust of the book is undoubtedly for bikers and the experiences of his great ride. He gives great detail into the places he stopped at, the things he saw and the kindness of the characters he met. If you're biking tastes incorporate plastic crotch rockets then this may not be your first choice as there are no knee sliders on the tarmac, but read the book anyway. Dave's enthusiasm for the Kawasaki Vulcan and it's reliability will have you hooked and turning the pages quickly.

If perhaps you're of slightly more mature years and remember the heyday of British motorcycles then you'll definitely enjoy the intimate detail that he shares with us in regard to his former rides as a youth. So many of the British marques get a mention, and Dave is forthright with his opinion of the engineering skills of our manufacturing base at the time, as well as those of the yellow peril that alas (but not surprisingly) overtook our motorcycle industry.

I really enjoyed the stories he told of his meagre upbringing in the 50's and 60's. His love with two wheels shone through on nearly every page, until it met it's match in the shape of a young Liz.

Dave recants the times they spent together, an early marriage and an even earlier child to support. He tells of the sub-standard houses, the fights with neighbours, the burglaries and arson of his business, and also of the illnesses he faced along the way.

Eeee, life was tough in those days!

A great and easy read for bikers and non-bikers. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 6 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good value for money read. I found the interspersing of his life story with all its trials and tribulations just as enjoyable as the journey its self. The parallels with myself, being a northerner and the same age within a year or two and growing up in the sixties making a living getting greasy added to the nostalgia, and the humour and odd expletive in the book served to lighten things up a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the road again, 25 Feb 2011
This review is from: Pack Your Bags and Get Out! (Paperback)
I might not be able to find the best words to relate the importance of this book as a social record of life from the sixties till now with the bonus of a good slab of real love wrapped around a couple fighting to better their lives together, a history of available British bikes and how their demise led to the onslaught of Japanese two wheeled beauties and one guys love of life which centres around the need to be "out there" on the road with the ability to express the sheer delights and downfalls of owning and riding motorbikes.
Bloody brilliant read from start to finish and having a personal love of bikes all my life and having also read the best accounts from other authors of that strange illness and addiction that surrounds the love of bikes I can say, buy it, read it, travel the road and life with Dave Clarke, smile, cry, and get under the skin of a biker, who is a biker in the best sense with an abounding love for his good partner who recognises that addiction and generously allows Dave to wander the roads with a smile, tent and a big mug of scalding tea, living the life and letting everyone know the culture of bike lovers everywhere.
Be careful though, you might find yourself peering through the window of your nearest motorbike dealer with some very good reasons why you should try it yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pack Your Bags and Get Out!
Pack Your Bags and Get Out! by David Clarke (Paperback - 29 Dec 2010)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews