Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for beginner's
I cannot belive how i managed before i bought this book now can't start a project without looking at the book first 100% good buy.
Published 15 months ago by Mr R Ruckoff Ronnie Ruckoff.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, shame about printing and delivery.
Would have been 5 stars if the drawing and photos had not disappeared into the binding! + I bought 2 books off this company, paid for 2 x post. Both book arrived together in a real flimsy plastic wrapper!
Published 4 months ago by scribblesalot


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for beginner's, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clock Repair, a Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
I cannot belive how i managed before i bought this book now can't start a project without looking at the book first 100% good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BOOK WHICH IS A MUST FOR A BEGINNER, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clock Repair, a Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
i found i could refer to this book for information while working on a clock 100% satisfied a must for all beginner's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great place to start., 24 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. M. Loughran "drwhobang" (edinburgh, scotland, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clock Repair, a Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
Great little book. Ideal for the beginner. Gives just the right amount of information without getting too technical. I have found this book very useful and it's a great place to start for the beginner, just the right amount of detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, shame about printing and delivery., 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clock Repair, a Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
Would have been 5 stars if the drawing and photos had not disappeared into the binding! + I bought 2 books off this company, paid for 2 x post. Both book arrived together in a real flimsy plastic wrapper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clock Repair, a Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
This is a very knowledgable book good copy for a paper back. Great beginnings guide well done good pictures inside book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!!!!!!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clock Repair, a Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
I purchased this book thinking it would be "an idiots guide" I was so wrong. The book is easy to follow and is best read with a clock in front of you, makes referencing easier. Only criticism is that you have to on occasion have to flick back or forth to relate text to pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand for a novice., 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clock Repair, a Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
Would recommend this to those people who want to have a simple understanding of how clocks work and how they are assembled..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for a biginner., 27 Sep 2013
By 
R. Sharma (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clock Repair, a Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
I have just received this book and having read half of the content, I can certainly say that this writer does a very good job of explaining how the different stages of clock repairing, for example, taking apart, cleaning, oiling, re-bushing, handling of main spring, setting of chime, re assembly etc is done, and in a very simple language. It really is a beginners guide as he says himself. I would have preferred a much more detailed introductory chapter on the clock parts with lots of photos and drawings. For example, he does not even mention the parts of a weight driven clocks. The introductory chapter is too short for a true beginner. A slightly expanded chapter on "tools and material" explaining how we could make simple tools and use them would have been even better. On the whole this is a very good book and unlike other books on clock making he addresses it to the non professional clock maker and he sees the need for them, if we are to rescue these clocks from ending in the dump site because we can not afford the services of a professional clock maker every two to three years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy clock repair, 27 July 2013
This review is from: Clock Repair, a Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
My mum had an old clock she'd had for years and as far as I can remember it hadn't ever worked.So I bought this book by Ian Beilby, took it apart and gave the 'movement' a clean as per his instructions, then put it together again and adjusted it and hey presto it worked!That was six months ago and it's been going ever since. I had never fixed a clock before and I couldn't have done it without Mr Beilby's excellent instructions. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and straightforward, 25 July 2013
This review is from: Clock Repair, a Beginner's Guide (Paperback)
I agree with the other reviewers. I came across this book six months ago and I still dip into it nearly every day. I don't know how I'd have managed without it. The guy that wrote it is a genius. Everything is so clear and straightforward and if there's anything you don't get first time there's loads of photographs and drawings backing up the text. If you want to get started fixing clocks this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clock Repair, a Beginner's Guide
Clock Repair, a Beginner's Guide by Ian Beilby (Paperback - 28 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: 9.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews