Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Couture becomes Randy
By the time I finished reading this book I felt I could be on a first name basis with Randy Couture. Randy is open about all his family problems and his life in and out of the Octagon. From the time his father left to joining the army to "becoming the natural" in the UFC.

Randy is open about his opponents and friends in the UFC, he gives great insight into what...
Published 23 months ago by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars my review
I wasnt taken with this book, I absolutely admire Randy as a fighter,and his dogged determination to succeed at wrestling,but for me,there were to many facts ,figures,dates,times,years,places and not enough of Randys feelings and emotions. Maybe the book was too short and the author had to cram everything in. It seemed that Randy was living the life of Riley, to the...
Published on 16 Jun 2010 by J. A. Webster


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Couture becomes Randy, 1 Oct 2012
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
By the time I finished reading this book I felt I could be on a first name basis with Randy Couture. Randy is open about all his family problems and his life in and out of the Octagon. From the time his father left to joining the army to "becoming the natural" in the UFC.

Randy is open about his opponents and friends in the UFC, he gives great insight into what people can expect from life as a fighter, and how the UFC has changed from an almost outlaw organisation to the leading brand in MMA.

It was funny I always assumed that Randy did not cut weight during the time in the UFC. He does talk about how difficult it is to cut weight (when he joined the Light Heavy Weight division). Randy talks about his Legendary trilogy with Chuck, his fight against Tito, stopping Victor, and his comeback fight against Tim Silvia, I will admit I was one of those people jumping out of my seat when Randy hit that first overhand right. The book finishes with Randy's fight against Gonzaga. A great autobiography with detailed insight into MMA. The only book I liked more was Iceman: My Fighting Life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars randy couture autobiography, 3 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. Michelle Odonnell "wee mo" (greenock, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Becoming the Natural (Paperback)
its a fantastic book before i got it i didnt really know much about were randy couture came from and what his upbringing was like but after i had read the book i knew practically everything about him from when he was a boy to where he is now.
there is a lot of things in the book people didnt know about him and it makes you see what kind of person he is in and out of the ring.i couldnt put the book down and i had it read in 2 days, i really enjoyed it it was a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars my review, 16 Jun 2010
By 
J. A. Webster (Leicester,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming the Natural: My Life in and Out of the Cage (Paperback)
I wasnt taken with this book, I absolutely admire Randy as a fighter,and his dogged determination to succeed at wrestling,but for me,there were to many facts ,figures,dates,times,years,places and not enough of Randys feelings and emotions. Maybe the book was too short and the author had to cram everything in. It seemed that Randy was living the life of Riley, to the detriment of his "wives"and children. and that it was just a document of Randys life, with no real imput from Randy himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK BY THE GREATEST UFC STAR, 7 Nov 2009
This review is from: Becoming the Natural: My Life in and Out of the Cage (Paperback)
This book is a must have for all UFC and MMA fans! Couture is the most famous UFC fighter and a true legendary champion who probably has the widest appeal. I like Liddell too, but Couture is a step higher than the 'Iceman' in terms of popularity and brining the sport to a much wider audience. In the book he culminates on both his fighting career and personal life. He's also making a name in Hollywood by working with the likes of Stallone, which will no doubt elevate his profile profoundly, even none MMA fans are starting to recognise him. If you're a fan of MMA and UFC, then a book like this -which sets a benchmark for future similar tomes- is required reading and belongs on every UFC and MMA fans shelf!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Becoming the natural and becoming my hero, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming the Natural: My Life in and Out of the Cage (Paperback)
I am enjoying this book very much, a great insight into a great man. No matter how his life has panned out he still had managed to take positives and is a great role model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Natural, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming the Natural: My Life in and Out of the Cage (Paperback)
i did not actually read this book myself but given as a gift and the receipient thrilled, with the present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, legend!, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming the Natural: My Life in and Out of the Cage (Paperback)
Randy is captin America, he gives a really honest account of his life and fighting career. Hard to put down, really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming the Natural: My Life in and Out of the Cage (Paperback)
The book is inspiring and the more you read into it the more you will see how down to earth he is. I love how he came to the sport late and how he ironically hates confrontation. This guy has led an interesting life and is a understandable legend. If you love the sport or want to fight get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BECOMING A LEGEND, 7 Mar 2011
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Becoming the Natural: My Life in and Out of the Cage (Paperback)
Recently a boxing friend of mine made a remark that he doesn't know why Randy Couture is considered such a legend in the world of Mixed Martial Arts (MMA), he made this remark not long after former Boxing champion James Toney was totally dominated by Randy at UFC 118, maybe it was sour grapes, he claimed instead his record of 19 wins against 10 losses was not that great and if he had that type of record in boxing he wouldn't be considered a legend! So rather than try to argue with him that Randy's record much like fellow fighter BJ Penn isn't papered and that Randy only wants to fight the best fighters rather than notching up victories. So rather than try and explain that I decided the best thing would be for Randy Couture to tell my friend the story himself so I packed him off that day with a copy of this book which I have already read twice.

What a book it is, with many ups and downs not just in his fighting life but in his personal life too. Growing up without his dad around is dealt with early on in the book and Randy gives us the crazy story of how his dad left and how even though it was such a tragic moment in was in total awe of what his dad was able to do! Randy's time in the US army is covered as is his amateur wrestling career and interestingly enough his achievement in going to the Olympic games as an alternate and really what a let-down it is to be an alternate!

Really if Mixed Martial Arts was made for one man it was Randy Couture and thankfully when he saw a video tape of Don Frye who was one of Randy's teammates at Oklahoma state fight on then upstart fight promotion Ultimate Fighting Championship it triggered an interest, even though first contact between the two parties ended up with Randy becoming an Alternate again!! as UFC at the time weren't interested in any more wrestlers. Of course it wouldn't be long before Randy would get the call to compete. The UFC was a much different place back then compared to today it was also before Dana White and the Fertita Brothers took it over. There wasn't the money there is now so Randy still had his eyes on the 2000 Olympic Games. Randy describes what it was like back in the early days and how tough it was especially when they lost their Pay Per View contract as well as been banned in most states and not helped by Senator John McCain human cock fighting slur.

All his fights are covered including his trilogy with Chuck Liddell and his trilogy with Vitor Belfort, his famous fight with Tito Ortiz which will have you laughing as Randy describes the last round. His retirement is covered only to come back and shock the world. This is where there is a lot of similarities with BJ Penn who as UFC welterweight champion wanted to take the title and face the best around the world not just in the UFC, which is exactly what Randy wanted to do when he once again became UFC Heavyweight champion he longed to fight legendary Pride heavyweight Fedor Emelianenko this would lead to a long dispute between Randy and the UFC which is covered very well in the book, of course Randy would come back to fight Brock Lesnar in November 2008 which is where the book finishes.

His personal life is also very interesting as it deals with his relationships outside the Octagon including his 2 marriages, his family issues, his team mates and friends as well as opening his own gym Xtreme Couture. It also looks at his blossoming TV and Film career which since this book has been written has gone from strength to strength as he appeared in blockbuster movie The Expendables. Big praise must go to Randy to get Female Journalist Loretta Hunt to write this book with him as in a male dominated sport Loretta has held her own as one of the best journalist's in MMA today and has written for Sherdog.com which is the leading MMA site.

My friend returned the book some weeks later and admitted he was totally wrong about Randy and is now one of his biggest fans. This is an excellent well written book about one of only two fighters (bj penn being the other) to hold UFC titles in two different weight classes. The Natural, Captain America Randy Couture is a story that must be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 15 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Becoming the Natural: My Life in and Out of the Cage (Paperback)
Wow!!!!!What a book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. It is finally great to read about one of the most amazing fighters in the octagon. It is not a stroll in the park when you are in The Natural's shoes. I would definitely recommend this to everyone even if you are not a Mixed Martial Arts fan. It will open your eyes and give you a totally different perspective into the world of a top athlete and performer. A Must Buy and definitely a Must Read....You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Becoming the Natural: My Life in and Out of the Cage
Becoming the Natural: My Life in and Out of the Cage by Loretta Hunt (Paperback - 10 Nov 2009)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews