Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful classic, 21 July 2011
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Four Hedges (Paperback)
This lovely and at times whimsical book will appeal to a wide range of people. Clare Leighton was a well-known woodcut artist and, when first published in the 1930s, her vigorous and very modern illustrations made this a best-seller. Today they have a charm which is still fresh.

The gentle text is a year in the garden, starting in April, and written throughout in the present tense. The trials and tribulations of creating a garden (Leighton says on the first page, "four years ago it was rough meadowland") are woven together with observations on the weather, wildlife and people.

A quiet contemplative book, ideal as a gift, worth having for the illustrations alone (many of the old copies have been razored for the woodcuts), and encouraging a thoughtful approach in the gardener. Most of the author's musings haven't dated at all; the ones that have bring us a faded period charm, not unlike watching David Suchet's "Poirot" on daytime television when you're nursing a cold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a lovely book, 20 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Hedges (Paperback)
We have an original of this book - a 1930's hardback with superb woodcut illustrations throughout (I think there are about 12 full page wood cuts, and numerous smaller ones). I am so glad it has been reprinted as I have now bought the new edition as a present for my mother and it has lost none of its appeal. I can highly recommend it to anyone interested in period illustration or gardening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quintessential English gardening, 22 Jan 2011
By 
Mrs. F. Green "lisagee" (buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Four Hedges (Paperback)
I was so pleased to find that this had been reprinted as second hand copies had become hard to get.
Beautifully written, especially for fellow gardeners battling with chalk in the Chilterns, timeless, and black and white illustrations that speak to the heart - bonfires and windblown orchards, individual flowersand garden corners: enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Hedges, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Four Hedges (Paperback)
A really lovely book. The woodcuts are beautiful as only Clare Leighton can make them and the interesting way the wook was written makes you want to get out and start your own 'Four Hedges'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Book from the time of Eric Gill, 3 April 2013
By 
E. Tombs "Owiseone" (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When England still had hedges with birds in and young ladies had time to be creative and very very talented. A very interesting and beautifully presented book. Not only is it full of gardening hints and tips, it is also beautifully written and takes you through the gardening year. It may be dated, but that ads another dimension to the attraction of this work, learning about what England was like, what nature was like in the 1930s. The illustrations are sublime. This is a book to treasure for ever and I am so glad I found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanted Garden, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clare Leighton and her husband established a garden from nothing during the 1930's. They clearly had the money to do so, with a resident gardener! She takes you through the months of the gardener's year, accompanying her text with wonderful woodcuts, for which she is rightly known. The book is a joy for anyone who enjoys gardening or woodcuts or both.
As a reproduction of the original, this is a well produced product which is in new condition. At the price of 2.20, why not buy it? I know that I will look at this book many times more than I look at others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great edition, 13 Sep 2013
This review is from: Four Hedges (Paperback)
This is a lovely edition. Nice to hold and read. I have leant to friends already. Like the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae884b10)

This product

Four Hedges
Four Hedges by Clare Leighton (Paperback - 14 May 2010)
9.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews