Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2011
This book is great for me as a Hull FC supporter as I can relate to all of the stories that Lee talks about. Its amazing how these guys lived and played. People say they wouldn't live with the game these days, but I doubt today's players would never be able to live with the game before Super League.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
For all Rugby League fans, the photos alone will stir the nostalgia and remind us of fantastic times, the story - humorous, thought provoking, down to earth and most definitely human! Support this top bloke and read a fantastic basically very human story, ups downs and the strange ride that is life!
Whether you are into Rugby League or not a great read!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2011
This is the best sports book I have ever read. I read all 339 pages in a oner whilst flying home to DC from London. Tears of sadness (at his honesty) and laughter - ('keep em' out for as long as you can......Widnes scored after 30 seconds'). More Lee Crooks in the World of Sport please. Brilliant
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
What an excellent book this is, which is something that cannot always be said about books regarding Rugby League. Lee Crooks was a truly great player during his career and especially when he was with Hull FC - who I support. The stories that Lee writes about really bring him to life both on the playing field and with his up and down private life. A wonderful and easy read, you won't be able to put the book down once you've start reading it, indeed I cannot praise From Hull to Hell and Back enough. Buy a copy NOW and read and enjoy the life of one of the finest players of the past 30 years or so,

Great delivery service, as always, from Amazon.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Bought this for a fanatical Black and White and could not have done better. Anyone interested in the wonderful world of Rugby league would need this on their bookshelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
Purchased this for my Grandad. Really nice easy read, good sized font, not too small. Grandad was very pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
excellent book,a must for all rugby league fans.lee tells it as it was, great to hear what its like behind the scenes of hullfc ,cas and leeds rfl
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
Very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
If you're looking for a long relaxing bath or sitting on the toilet, this book glides by mercifully quickly. Lacking the edge of Barrie Macdermott's auto bio but thankfully deprived of the child like sense of humour of Sean Long's attempt, this reflection on Crooks' career isn't bad. Never a tough nut in a time when feared front rowers such as Broadhurst, Watkinson, Tamati, Sorensen, Boyd etc plyed their trade, Lee was suddenly shunted into the spotlight at an early age. This story vividly portrays his meteoric rise. It doesn't seem to flow as well as Lee Jackson's autobio, but it has some moments of interest. Overall this book has been undermarketed as not as many people as i would've expected were even aware Lee's book was out!When Stanley Gene's memoirs came out, every east stander at Craven Park knew about it, why the significant shortfall in advertising this one? Perhaps because it is an inferior piece of work, but still of interest to many airlie birds followers.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)