Customer Reviews


1,753 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,363)
4 star:
 (255)
3 star:
 (66)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


426 of 438 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and delicious
As a rule I don't read crime or thrillers. It's not that I haven't enjoyed some (I have) it's simply that there's so much out there and only so much time. And I tend to be drawn to other genres.
However, I heard about this début on Twitter and I had to give it a go. I am SO glad that I did. It's fantastic. Many readers have said what a page turner it is, and I...
Published on 7 Mar. 2011 by Laura Wilkinson

versus
155 of 170 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everyone seems to love it. I didn't.
This is the first novel by Elizabeth Haynes, and it's one that I can imagine some people will like a lot, others will struggle to finish, and yet others will just think 'meh'. The promotional blurb declares "This is an edgy and powerful first novel, utterly convincing in its portrayal of obsession, and a tour de force of suspense", but this is only partly true -...
Published on 10 April 2011 by OEJ


‹ Previous | 1144 145 146176 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read in a really, really long time. And I read a lot!, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow. Where to start...

Elizabeth Haynes, an author who is able to draw you in instantly and leave you on the edge of your seat for the duration of the story. This story I know will stay with me for a very long time.

This story is presented by Cathy during two separate eras. This works fantastically to engage the reader into how one may come to end up in an abusive, controlling relationship and how you may live one day at a time when there is nowhere to hide.

The story also portrays a believable account of how such traumas effect the mind. The mental ill health, ocd, ptsd is written sensitively and again believably. I at no point felt conned or cheated by the author.

If you're still wondering whether to purchase, get the sample, you'll be hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant, domestic violence from the inside, see how the victim thinks she will be viewed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very gripping story which just got more and more intense. A book I just could not put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Totally dreadful, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If I could give zero stars I would. I cannot remember when I read a book so badly written and with no redeeming features. The characters are one dimensional, the plot unbelievable (how incredibly convenient that a clinical psychologist happens to move into the flat above Catherine's,- the massively psychologically and physically damaged Catherine) and then falls in love with her. The descriptions of the abuse heaped upon Catherine are gratuitous and verging on pornographic, and do not add to our understanding of her present suffering. We could have understood that without sadistic detail piled upon sadistic detail. I do not object to violence in novels (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is brilliant because it is a clever and complex novel, with characters who are absorbing and interesting) but this book is predictable and without literary merit. What is really unfortunate is that it deals with a topic- the abuse of women- that deserves to have a much better book written about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Took me a few pages to get into the story ..., 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took me a few pages to get into the story , then I was hooked every page until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much hype not enough story, 20 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Darkest Corner (Paperback)
After reading all the 5 star reviews about this novel I decided to give it a go myself. The different time lines can be confusing at first but once you get the hang of it after a few chapters its easy to follow. It's basically the story of an abusive relationship and the way it affected Catherine. The author gives us an in depth view of PTSD & OCD.
Not sure I liked the style of the before and after. The before took far too long to build up to the climax and the after, although well descibed became quite boring at times and was a bit over-cooked.
The story all comes together in the last third of the book and then we are treated to a successive timeline by the author. The flashbacks stop at this point.
It all became a bit predictable and I stuggled to finish it.
In my opinion absolutely not worth the 5 stars that most readers seem to have given. Having said that I am very difficult to please so maybe I've been a bit too harsh with my rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Darkest Corner (Paperback)
I couldn't stop reading this until I reached the end of the book. Very gripping story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent product, arrived as predicted. Would definitely buy from this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!, 27 Oct. 2014
I've read and heard the word 'unputdownable' about this book so many times and its been on my to read list for a while. So glad I have finally read it and unputdownable is one of the best descriptions I could use.
The story flows well, the characters are completely believable the storyline horrifying and engaging in equal measures.
From the early days of Catherine and Lee's relationship to the conclusion of the story I was gripped, sharing her feelings all the way from her early attraction to Lee to the more recent daily anxieties and rituals.
There's so much more I want to say but I'd hate to ruin it for any new readers so I'll say just this.... read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 7 Nov. 2014
fantastic!
This is easily one of the better books I've read recently. Its well written and extremely difficult to put down,
The book follows the story of Cathy, but splits its self between 2 periods of time in her life, 2004 when she was in a relationship with Lee and follows the story of his mental and physical abuse. The story also sees Cathy 4 years later trying to come to terms with what has happened, and struggling to cope with life and moving on.
The book does a great job and showing how abusive relationships occur and how they can have long reaching consequence.

A very good read, and i will be defiantly looking at other books from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1144 145 146176 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into the Darkest Corner
Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes (Paperback - 14 Feb. 2011)
£6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews