Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Be a Successful Therapist - A Review
Summary - Practical, Comprehensive, Amusing
As a registered Nurse and practising Aromatherapist, I thoroughly recommend this book for anyone thinking of setting themselves up in business as a professional therapist or simply with an interest in Complementary Therapies. The book covers all aspects of establishing a new business, from the first simple questions about...
Published on 19 Oct. 2003

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars not worth reading
very dated, not worth purchasing nowadays. Written before internet times
Published 10 months ago by Star Girl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Be a Successful Therapist - A Review, 19 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
Summary - Practical, Comprehensive, Amusing
As a registered Nurse and practising Aromatherapist, I thoroughly recommend this book for anyone thinking of setting themselves up in business as a professional therapist or simply with an interest in Complementary Therapies. The book covers all aspects of establishing a new business, from the first simple questions about the kind of practice you want to develop, through all the stages of establishing your business, including financial aspects, as well as dealing with undesirables.
The book is well written, practical, comprehensive and very amusing. I have read it three times and still dip in to it periodically. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars valuable reference book, 2 Oct. 2003
By 
HOW TO BECOME A SUCCESSFUL THERAPIST by Celia Johnson.
How to be a successful therapist provides the vital link between qualifying in ones chosen profession and employing that knowledge gainfully.
Celia’s valuable knowledge is gained from her years spent nursing as well as her time running her own business as a massage therapist. Her skeleton of sound advice gives those newly qualified something on which to hang their recently acquired skills.
Celia’s approach is clearly professional but not without humour, her book makes light reading while dealing with heavy subjects such as tax, insurance, advertising and nuisance telephone calls. Personal issues for the therapist are also covered e.g. structuring a working week if self-employed, working from home and working around other commitments, for instance the family.
HOW TO BE A SUCCESSFUL THERAPIST bridges the gap between knowing it all and being able to deal with it all and is therefore invaluable for both first time therapists and those who have been working for some time.
Patricia Broomfield.
Complementary therapist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Common Sense, 11 Aug. 2009
By 
L. Smyth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to be a Successful Therapist: A Guide to Starting and Running Your Own Complementary Therapy Business (Paperback)
I have recently embarked on a new career in holistic therapy and was recommended Celia Johnson's business course by a tutor. I enjoyed it so much I had to buy her book. Plain speaking, common sense, and down to earth advice on how to look after yourself and your business. It covers everything from charging fair prices to handling difficult clients, and helps you build up an idea of exactly the type of therapist you are aspiring to be. Money well spent, I don't think I will need any other books on this topic. I am now practicing successfully and the book is well thumbed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a useful book for aspiring and practising therapists, 8 May 2010
By 
Antonia Chitty "Author of Food and Your Speci... (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to be a Successful Therapist: A Guide to Starting and Running Your Own Complementary Therapy Business (Paperback)
How to be a Successful Therapist is a useful book for aspiring and practising therapists.

It starts by looking at you and your circumstances, to see if you are likely to make a successful therapist. It contains useful examples of how to work out when your business might make a profit, and addresses therapist-specific issues such as buying a couch.

A few weeks ago I reviewed Start and Run a Sucessful Beauty Salon. I would say that it covered business issues slightly better and its format was easier to read, but How to be a Successful Therapist offers a more holistic approach.

Importantly the book looks at looking after yourself and dealing with negative 'stuff' from clients. It has good suggestions about continuing professional development and maintaining good standards as a therapist.

Overall, well worth buying if you are a therapist or are considering therapy as a career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUCCESS, 21 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
THIS BOOK HELPED ME SO MUCH. IT CERTAINLY DOES TEACH YOU HOW TO BE A SUCCESSFUL THERAPIST. IT IS STRAIGHT FORWARD ADVICE FROM HER OWN EXPERIENCES. SHE ADDRESS EVERYTHING I WANTED TO KNOW AND MORE. DEFINATELY GIVE THIS BOOK A GO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful advice, 22 Oct. 2010
By 
D. G. Seddon "dikgth bucks" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to be a Successful Therapist: A Guide to Starting and Running Your Own Complementary Therapy Business (Paperback)
Some really useful advice and guidance for both new and established therapists. A good investment for your practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another little gem, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another classic book. I would recommend this book to anyone thinking about practising or anyone already practising as it reminds you of little things you may not have thought of. A good buy especially used via Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 16 Sept. 2010
This is such a great book, I could not put it down. It addresses so many issues that therapists face- everything from smelly clients to insurance. I would highly recommend this book to any therapist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to be a Successful Therapist: A Guide to Starting and Running Your Own Complementary Therapy Business (Paperback)
Interesting book. Lots of good hints and tips and advice. It was one of the books suggested by my Business Plan lecturer - but was not as useful for my course as I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 30 Jan. 2010
By 
J. E. Adamson (Hamilton, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent book, and was sent quickly and in good condition.
It is thought provoking and encouraging to any student training at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews