Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent account of a singing legend
A very thought provoking account of the life of one of the greatest singers that ever lived. 'The man who sang Blockbuster' tells the story of Brian Connolly, charasmatic lead singer and frontman with Sweet.
From his adoption as a baby, the launch to superstardom, his battle with drink, to his last sad days as he succumbed to illness.
Brian Manly's book is a...
Published on 22 July 2009 by A. Jordan

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What no proofreading????
As a huge fan of The Sweet, I was delighted to stumble upon this book on Amazon. The content is absorbing and the story of the formation and subsequent disintegration of the band keeps the reader's interest throughout.
However, there are spelling and/or grammatical errors on just about every single page from the introduction onwards. Steve Priest's name is spelt...
Published on 29 Mar. 2010 by J. O'DELL


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What no proofreading????, 29 Mar. 2010
By 
J. O'DELL "Mad Hatter" (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Man Who Sang Blockbuster (Paperback)
As a huge fan of The Sweet, I was delighted to stumble upon this book on Amazon. The content is absorbing and the story of the formation and subsequent disintegration of the band keeps the reader's interest throughout.
However, there are spelling and/or grammatical errors on just about every single page from the introduction onwards. Steve Priest's name is spelt Preist on the first page and that error sets a trend for the rest of the book. I wonder if the book was dictated and automatically typed by a computer? Clearly nobody checked it before it went to print, and the numerous mistakes start to irritate and ultimately distract the reader beyond belief, to the extent that one starts each new page waiting to spot the first error.
The carelessness with which the book has been put together is a real shame - how about a reprint without these issues???
The Man Who Sang Blockbuster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The man who wrote 'The Man Who sang Blockbuster', 8 April 2010
By 
G. Reed "gazzathegaz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Man Who Sang Blockbuster (Paperback)
This book is an expensive, though slight, 'turkey' of a book. I was so looking forward to reading it, as I adored the Sweet as a boy, and still do. It's very much a 'fanboy' book, badly written with no great attention to detail (as highlighted in a previous review - Steve 'Preist'? Come on....). Actually, not much detail at all; there was very little in this book that wasn't already in the public domain. That said, while certain contributors get a gratitude name check, there are no notes naming sources of the information contained in the book either.

The book is shallow and superficial, and unfortunately, the writer lets his obvious love of the band and especially the subject matter (Brian) cloud his views, and his writing.

The writer would appear to want to 'big up' Sweet, by roasting Queen, a group I also liked. Comparing the two and trying to make an unconvincing case with little to back up or support the view that Sweet were bigger or better, doesn't cut it. The facts don't support that. For the most part Queen were the bigger and more successful group; they lasted longer than Sweet, sold more product, had more hits, and had more hit albums. 'Bigger in Germany', or Scandinavia, with no disrespect to either country and their Sweet fans, doesn't convince anyone.

Where was the view of Connolly's early life? Is no one from his adopted family available to interview? Were they even contacted? Did he have no friends that he grew up with who could be traced? His whole early life is almost totally ignored. The lack of serious research into areas such as this screams out to the reader 'No info on this and can't be bothered to delve further'.

Discussing the end of Brian Connoly's life, specifically, the documentary 'Don't Leave Me This Way', the writer gets very personal with everyone from the show editor (why was the editing dire? By what measure?), producer and director being name checked and damned. Were they contacted? What was their view of Brian? I saw the doc when it went out, and again recently. It was sad to see Brian still clinging on to his dream, when all around him could see it was unlikely his 'comeback' was ever going to happen. His voice was shattered, his body was ravaged, but Brian agreed to participate; it was his choice. I learned more from the documentary about one of my 'heroes' than from this book. It was hard, but it wasn't badly put together.... unlike 'The Man Who sang Blockbuster'.

There is a good book to be written about Brian Connolly and the Sweet. This book isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a wasted opportunity., 6 Feb. 2011
By 
D. C. Macleod (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Man Who Sang Blockbuster (Paperback)
When an author gives his own book a 5-star review, you know you're in trouble.

I loved Slade and The Sweet - they began my musical education. Should a biography of the band or individual members be written? Of course. Sadly, such is the fickle nature of fame, a major publisher would probably pass. So, we're left with a vanity or self-published work. Nothing wrong with that - but why ruin it by not bothering to correct the manuscript?

'Harefield' or 'Harefiled'? You'll get both on the same page. Is Pat Benatar's surname 'Benetar' or 'Benatar'? Both versions are within one paragraph. Why, every time the band Mud is mentioned, is the entire name capitalised? It's BASS guitar, not 'base'; Steve wore his best suit not 'suite', Brian would lose it all, not 'loose' it all and I'm sure Brian changed his name by deed poll, not 'pole'!

Why do I know the author wrote his own review? Because it contains similar mistakes to ones found in his book - "Lacks a bit in the BEGGINING on Brian Connolly's childhood" [Ouch!]
"He tells Brian and all the bands story..." [No, the `band's' story. Mr. Manly has a major dislike for the apostrophe].
"he did his best to carry on and sing while very un well." [No, 'unwell', just as, in the book, you should have walked downstairs to see your hero, not 'down stairs'; whatever not 'what ever'].

'Spellcheck' would have picked up most of these. If you're going to self-publish, you'd hope you'd make a supreme effort to proof and copy-edit more meticulously than most.

I really wanted to like this book and applaud Mr. Manly for doing it but my enjoyment was spoiled by silly errors which really could and should have been picked up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent account of a singing legend, 22 July 2009
By 
This review is from: The Man Who Sang Blockbuster (Paperback)
A very thought provoking account of the life of one of the greatest singers that ever lived. 'The man who sang Blockbuster' tells the story of Brian Connolly, charasmatic lead singer and frontman with Sweet.
From his adoption as a baby, the launch to superstardom, his battle with drink, to his last sad days as he succumbed to illness.
Brian Manly's book is a must for any Sweet fan.
The book is very well written, and flows seamlessly from chapter to chapter encompassing the many trials and tribulations of being a top rock star constantly in the spotlight. Brian also tells of a chance meeting with the singer in his later years that had a very unexpected twist that almost left his illusions shattered.
This is a great book, not everyone will agree with some of the opinions, but nevertheless, I very much enjoyed it. This should be a very worthy addition to any rock fans' library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Man Who Sang Blockbuster, 24 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Man Who Sang Blockbuster (Paperback)
The book was very interesting, as I am a big fan of BC. However, my enjoyment was a bit spoiled by the standard of writing, i.e., too many spelling and grammar mistakes. I am wondering if I got a copy of the first draft?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 2 Jan. 2011
By 
R. Slee (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Man Who Sang Blockbuster (Paperback)
This clearly a labour of love. Brian is a passionate fan and although this sometimes gets in the way of analysis, this is a good read for any fan of Sweet or the Glam era. There is valid criticism of the group and individuals - rightly and refreshingly so - and he does appear to have made attempts to get the story. I know much about the Sweet and Brian C - but found many further revelations here. Yes, the writing lacks a professional sheen at times and there are many spelling errors etc, but it does not detract from the warmth and passion of the story - we are lucky to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice one - or should I say, sweet!, 13 Aug. 2009
By 
Tracy Davis (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Man Who Sang Blockbuster (Paperback)
Sweet not only is the name of the Glam Rock band Brian Connolly fronted, but is, in my opinion, a really good description of this excellent book. I say this because it is full of good humour and kindliness. It is a truly empathic, frank and honest account of Connolly's colourful life as seen by the author. The fact that you get Manly's personal memories plus explanations in amongst it all, makes The Man Who Sang Blockbuster quite unique. As a 'therapist in the making', I also learned a lot about addiction and drive from reading this too. At the end of the day, this book is about a man who packed a lot into his relatively short life and that in itself is perhaps something to be mindful of... I would recommend this to anyone interested in real life stories - not just Sweet fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sweet Book, 21 July 2009
This review is from: The Man Who Sang Blockbuster (Paperback)
I thought the book was beautifully done. Lacks a bit in the beggining on Brian Connolly's childhood but as the author says, that was more than 60 years ago.It tells the Sweet story very well and then when it all goes wrong the author is not blaming too many people , he looks to give reasons and explanations. He tells Brian and all the bands story in a way that makes you want to read more . At the end is sad but this book is noble to Brian Connolly and says that he did his best to carry on and sing while very un well and old. Sweet fans must see this book. It is very good. Thank you Mr Manly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In memory of Brian Connolly, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Sang Blockbuster (Paperback)
I could hardly take off this book and guess you'd too if you would like to find out story of Sweet and their charming lead singer of sad destiny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man Who Sang Blockbuster, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Sang Blockbuster (Paperback)
A good and honest account of this man. I enjoyed reading it. A great singing voice that was cut short before his time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man Who Sang Blockbuster
The Man Who Sang Blockbuster by Brian Thomas Manly (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2009)
Used & New from: £36.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews