Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably one of the best books about grapic design, ever.
This book is pretty much an indispensable piece of work for any creative person who runs, or aspires to run, their own design studio. There's a series of interviews with studio heads and sole practitioners from some great design firms which focus not on their work, but the history and culture of their studios. How they set up, how they get clients, how they run their...
Published on 15 Aug 2010 by M. O'Gara

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunate design
It pains me to say this, but although the book is beautiful it is a total pain in the arse to read. The typeface is very small, light, and printed in a fairly light grey.

The content itself is pretty good though. And the book is attractive if not very user friendly.
Published on 3 Jan 2012 by Luke Thompson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably one of the best books about grapic design, ever., 15 Aug 2010
By 
M. O'Gara - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Studio Culture: The secret life of the graphic design studio (Paperback)
This book is pretty much an indispensable piece of work for any creative person who runs, or aspires to run, their own design studio. There's a series of interviews with studio heads and sole practitioners from some great design firms which focus not on their work, but the history and culture of their studios. How they set up, how they get clients, how they run their studio, and their general approach to business.

Allied to the interviews, there are reproductions of work, photographs of the design studios, and a detailed section at the end going through what a design studio needs to set up, from equipment and furniture to archiving and billing systems. It's a fantastic book, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunate design, 3 Jan 2012
By 
Luke Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Studio Culture: The secret life of the graphic design studio (Paperback)
It pains me to say this, but although the book is beautiful it is a total pain in the arse to read. The typeface is very small, light, and printed in a fairly light grey.

The content itself is pretty good though. And the book is attractive if not very user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Culture: The secret life of the graphic design studio (Paperback)
Minus one star for small size of letters. Very small. Designer did not considered it. Or maybe he did because it is for young and starting their carers people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice interviews, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Culture: The secret life of the graphic design studio (Paperback)
Excellent book for designers who are runing (or wants to run) their own studio and want to have a look into different studios way of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight into the world of a designer, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Culture: The secret life of the graphic design studio (Paperback)
I bought this book to use as reference for an essay I was writing on achieving a work life balance as a graphic designer. I run my own studio so found it extremely interesting to read other designer's experiences, as well as finding lots of useful information for my essay. The only down side is the font and tiny point size makes it quite difficult to read. In fact the woman sitting next to me on the train, who was looking over my shoulder, commented on how difficult it looked to read! But don't be put off, this is a great book and for any designer setting up their own studio I'd highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into studio life, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Culture: The secret life of the graphic design studio (Paperback)
Love this book and couldn't put it down. With insights into studios such as Build which are really honest I was quite surprised how good it was (I should never doubt Adrian Shaughnessy - Most of his books are recommended reads!)

Recommended for any designer or people thinking of setting up a design studio - theres lots of great wee tips and facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational read, 10 May 2010
By 
P. Alderson (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Studio Culture: The secret life of the graphic design studio (Paperback)
A great book. Every studio you read about inspires you to make your own studio better. Every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Studio Culture by Adrian Shaughnessy, 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: Studio Culture: The secret life of the graphic design studio (Paperback)
I bought this as a present for my brother who's studying Graphic Design at University. He was ecstatic when he opened his birthday present, so I guess that's a good thing :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa78d4a80)

This product

Studio Culture: The secret life of the graphic design studio
Studio Culture: The secret life of the graphic design studio by Tony Brook (Paperback - 14 Sep 2009)
19.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews