Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fitting conclusion to the trilogy.
If you enjoyed the first 2 books in the series, Heavy Duty Trouble equals or surpasses them. A lot more twists & turns in the almost ridiculously complex world of biker politics, written well enough to suspend disbelief. Cant really discuss the "Up in the air" ending without ruining it for others, suffice to say I thought it was perfect, but I can understand some...
Published on 11 Dec. 2012 by Philip Goddard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the 2nd one
Have to say I was very negative about book 2. This was much better as was book 1. My 1 complaint is that he maintains that 1% patch wearing bikers are treated with respect throughout but he does make all of the ones in his books involved in the importation and distribution of huge amounts of cocaine, oh yes and all the key charterers are murderers. They are good stories...
Published 9 months ago by A Bro


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fitting conclusion to the trilogy., 11 Dec. 2012
By 
Philip Goddard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Duty Trouble: Book Three in The Brethren Trilogy (Paperback)
If you enjoyed the first 2 books in the series, Heavy Duty Trouble equals or surpasses them. A lot more twists & turns in the almost ridiculously complex world of biker politics, written well enough to suspend disbelief. Cant really discuss the "Up in the air" ending without ruining it for others, suffice to say I thought it was perfect, but I can understand some readers feeling a little disapointed - its not a traditional Hollywood style cleanly tied up conclusion.
One indicator of a good book is how hard it is to put down - I found my curiosity as to what happens next forced me to read the whole thing in one sitting - a pretty high compliment to this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great ending for a great story, 2 Dec. 2012
Most authors favor one style or another. One uses wit to show his style while another uses drama. Some write first person and others use third person. Iain Parke chose first person with a twist.

In his first publication He's a reporter writing the story of a senior member of a motorcycle club sentenced to life for murder. Sounds innocent enough, until Damage calls him back for an in depth look at his life within the "Brethren MC." In "Heavy Duty People" Damage gets shanked.

With "Heavy Duty Attitude" Wibble, the man that stepped up to fill Damages' shoes calls and brings the surprised Iain back. He needs him to do a favor. Let the games begin.

In "Heavy Duty Trouble" Wibble, Bung, and Iain set out on a mission. A mission to save the Brotherhood from changing into nothing more than a street gang.

The way Iain Parke uses the pose of a reporter covering a story adds the depth of a character that is often confused and angry with the bikers yet shows his respect and loyalty at the same time.

Iain writes this story as if He's already been there, done that. This trilogy flows from one book to the next as a simple continuance of the same story; A story without an ending. Given the disclaimers and the court transcripts, one must ask the question; is it fact, or it is simply an explosive tale of intrigue and deception? You decide!

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant finale to a brilliant trilogy., 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant finale to a brilliant trilogy.

Iain Parke is a fantastic talent. His story telling is clever and draws you in.
Attention to detail is just one of this author's talents. You not only get a great story but a little education too.

When we left off in Heavy Duty Attitude, Iain had gone into hiding after having a right ordeal at the hands of Wibble and The Brethren. We rejoin Iain safely hidden away in Ireland with a new girlfriend. He should be safe here as the Irish MC's have no affiliation to the Brethren, Rebels or any of the other large gangs. He's OK here, it's a nice quiet life ...... or so he thought.

He knew they would catch up with him one day but not so soon. As he returns to his hideaway cottage he finds the larger than life Bung sitting in his kitchen with his girlfriend and a local Irish biker. .

Not the final execution he was expecting but Bung has come with a summons from Wibble.

Get ready to get back on the white knuckle ride of the previous Heavy Duty novels as Iain returns to the deadly world of the Outlaw MC's. With a new secret identity he goes under cover to broker a deal with warring factions, gets caught up in a deadly fire fight with rival Biker gangs and tries to find out exactly who did kill Danger.... and where is the large fortune that Danger made before he was killed.

You thought Iain had it tough in "Attitude" but now he really is in "Trouble".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pacy thriller, 9 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Heavy Duty Trouble: Book Three in The Brethren Trilogy (Paperback)
This is the third in a trilogy by Iain Parke, and the real question when you've read it is 'Can we have more please?'

It's not just a really good biker story, it's a really good story, with the characters grabbing your attention, and the plot driving everything forward at an ever increasing pace. I have really enjoyed reading all three books and am hoping there'll be something new soon. I have also read another one he's written called The Liquidator - not a biker story, but definitely an intrigue, and I thought that one was really good as well.

So in short I'm a fan, and I recommend the books to anyone who enjoys thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the 2nd one, 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Duty Trouble: Book Three in The Brethren Trilogy (Paperback)
Have to say I was very negative about book 2. This was much better as was book 1. My 1 complaint is that he maintains that 1% patch wearing bikers are treated with respect throughout but he does make all of the ones in his books involved in the importation and distribution of huge amounts of cocaine, oh yes and all the key charterers are murderers. They are good stories though a bit far fetched with bikers blowing up members of their own club and generally taking over the world. Its just he wants to have it both ways ie bikers are ok as well as being the mafia. Worth a read especially the first book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read!!, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished this last book of the Brethren Trilogy and all I can say is wow! Would rate this author right up there with the big boys such as Mario Puzo on the complexities of his characters and storylines. I'd never heard of this author before and purchased on a whim and very glad I did. Well done Mr Parke, keep em coming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't put it down interesting plot good fun read plausible plot and some great twists trying to work out what's going to happen is what made it enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read and end, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All three books in trilogy were good
Ending is also well thought out and I like the way a court case is used as a narrative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totally addictive, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldnt put it down, want to hear lots more from the brethren. Please write more of these amazing books for the brethren addicts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
Peter Daly (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read, keeps you hooked,take it as fiction and enjoy it is all the more enjoyable, keeps you curious throughout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heavy Duty Trouble: Book Three in The Brethren Trilogy
Heavy Duty Trouble: Book Three in The Brethren Trilogy by Mr Iain Parke (Paperback - 21 Oct. 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews