Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book For All With A CCFC Interest
Was local author Annis Abraham's Diary of The Soul Crew 2.

Books about hooligans don't naturally grab me and certainly they aren't the first ones I look out for. But this one proved to go beyond most of your average dross, and was able to actually hit the spot in terms of general interest for any city fan regardless of your views on Hooliganism...
Published on 27 May 2009 by R. Huish

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother
Bought this hoping it would be better than Soul Crew 1 but it's worse. It's not just the boring stories included but it seems to have been written by a seven-year-old. Took this on holiday but could not be bothered finishing it. 3/10. Must do better.
Published 15 months ago by GSTQ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book For All With A CCFC Interest, 27 May 2009
By 
R. Huish - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Diary Of The Soul Crew 2 (Paperback)
Was local author Annis Abraham's Diary of The Soul Crew 2.

Books about hooligans don't naturally grab me and certainly they aren't the first ones I look out for. But this one proved to go beyond most of your average dross, and was able to actually hit the spot in terms of general interest for any city fan regardless of your views on Hooliganism.

Comprising of several different accounts, from several different parties, some from rival clubs, it gives you an insight into that particular time in history. The message isn't glorifying, it's not encouraging, violence, but more just a journal by boys who will put their hands up and admit they may have been a bit naughty.

Now I don't know about you, well actually, I do know a lot of city fans will, like me, go mad for any book they can get their hands on that's CCFC related. This book is up there with any of them, in allowing you to feel the taste and tension of the times, a bit of escapism for a minute or two, while gathering a better understanding of the history and culture of CCFC, for better and worse.

Esteemed contributor, David Sugarman brings some light relief into proceedings, with his epic monologue. To be fair, his narrative brings some welcome juxtaposition to the book for the many fans reading who wouldn't be involved in the action. It's an equally interesting tale of a lad who like many flirted with the idea of joining in the banter, but eventually decided in the long run it wasn't for him, (or more like he wasn't for it).

The book isn't up there with Shakespeare, but I don't think Annis would ever claim it was. It's a book that delivers what you want when you get it. I'd advise anyone to buy a copy and let themselves get lost for a while in the scenes, from the safety of their own armchair!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an honest book, 23 Feb 2009
By 
M. Tobin "cardiff74" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Diary Of The Soul Crew 2 (Paperback)
I was quite excited about this book coming out because the author has tried to cover four different eras seventies, eighties, and nineties, and the present era. What I liked is that he got supporters from other firms to tell their stories about their days out when coming to support their team at Cardiff and the experiences they had. The author also takes credit for getting supporters to document their stories while watching City home and away even though they were not your average top boys but just loved the buzz of being around. My favourite chapter that tells this story is told by Dave Sugarman. Even though many might think it's just another football hooligan book the author has tried hard not to go down that road, I think he has successfully done so because a lot of the stories are varied honest and humorous that's why this makes for a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insightful read, 13 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Diary Of The Soul Crew 2 (Paperback)
I bought this book at it's recent launch in Cardiff.

It was a pleasure meeting the author, specially after enjoying his 1st two books (Shattered Dreams and Diary of the Real Soul Crew) especially as I had waited in anticipation for this, the next installment.

I wasn't to be disappointed and would recommend this to anyone of any club who enjoys the more unglamorous side to the modern game.

There are many unbiased views from many clubs and their supporters, including Barnsley, Millwall, Birmingham, Chelsea, West Brom and Plymouth it truly gives an insightful view.

Extremely reasonably priced as the content and quality are superb. A must for any football follower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Good Read......, 20 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Diary Of The Soul Crew 2 (Paperback)
Having read the first Soul Crew book I was eagerly waiting for this installment, which hasn't disappointed. I have read nearly all the books from this genre over the years and I will admit most are the same, with the author or his firm telling it from their viewpoint only. The difference with this one is lads from rival firms tell it as they saw it, not just from Cardiff's view. This to me makes it a stand out book.

This book is not just for Cardiff lads, it's for Leeds, Millwall, Chelsea, Plymouth, Man U, West Brom, Barnsley, anyone who has been to Ninian park in fact and can relate to the stories. It's good from a Cardiff fans point of view as we can see what you saw on a certain day.

Recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Telling it as it is, 18 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Diary Of The Soul Crew 2 (Paperback)
I bought this book just before my recent holiday and once I had started I couldn't put it down. The book is a lot different to other books on the subject telling it as it is and benefits with contributions from other clubs which allows them to put their point of view across. (what is it with Leeds don't they rate anyone!)

There is a lot of humour but also a lot of reflection and like everyone else peoples circumstances change as you get older and this is covered in the book as the chapters cover from the Man Utd game in 1974 to the recent derby game with Swansea.

A must for anyone that follows the beautiful game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a top read, 23 Feb 2009
By 
J. Smith "Smiffy" (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Diary Of The Soul Crew 2 (Paperback)
this book is a top read not just for cardiff lads but footie lads everywhere. Saints lad is just gutted coz no-ones ever gonna write anything tidy about southampton as they simply havent got, nor have they ever had a firm.

this book is a1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Welsh are always up for it., 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary Of The Soul Crew 2 (Paperback)
A good read,the author is a legend in Wales,not just Cardiff.Definitely one of the better hooligan books,some real battles desribed,and fun as well along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Read yet again!, 27 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. R. Griffiths (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Diary Of The Soul Crew 2 (Paperback)
There are approx 52 muscles in the human face, and you'll find yourself using all of them as you laugh wince and cry, reading accounts of the ups and downs of being a soccer firm member.

Following on from Diaries of the Soul Crew, This latest installment rights some misconceptions, and gives an impartial view of what was a turbulent period in British Football History.

This book is heavilly interlaced with contributions from what were the top boys in their days, and gives a wider picture of their exploits. It does not serve to glorify soccer violence, but merely tell it like it was.

The Author dosen't suffer fools gladly, and he certainly doesent promise what he cant deliver, as he serves up yet another MUST READ! taking you inside the mindset of Britains top soccer firms. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top read, 25 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: The Diary Of The Soul Crew 2 (Paperback)
Top read gives a honest opinions of what really happend from the 1970's to recent times, some top lads also written in it from Millwall Chelsea the Zulu's and Bristol City it also gives a honest review of what happpend between Newport and Cardiff, The Jacks may not like it tho because it gives the truth regarding the Swim away ha ha. So a top read and for only 9.99 you cant go wrong, the only negitive is - My Mrs went mad on me because when i had it i didnt speak to her for 3 days as i was to busy reading it ha ha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother, 6 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Diary Of The Soul Crew 2 (Paperback)
Bought this hoping it would be better than Soul Crew 1 but it's worse. It's not just the boring stories included but it seems to have been written by a seven-year-old. Took this on holiday but could not be bothered finishing it. 3/10. Must do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diary Of The Soul Crew 2
The Diary Of The Soul Crew 2 by Annis Abraham Jnr (Paperback - 28 Feb 2009)
£6.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews