Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest books about music ever
Had this for a couple of weeks now and keep dipping in and out of it reading the hilarious stories of dopey customers trying to buy music before the internet, shazam etc. A great book for people who love music and record shops but also just a brilliant book about people in general. I'm definitely buying a few copies of this for Christmas presents!
Published 10 months ago by Otm Shank

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant Enough
A pleasant enough read. Some of the tales are as old as the hills but still stand re-telling. A good book for dipping in and out of. Glad to see its not just the customers who are wallys when it comes to music.
Published 11 months ago by Boswell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant Enough, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Boswell (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Strange Requests and Comic Tales from Record Shops (Paperback)
A pleasant enough read. Some of the tales are as old as the hills but still stand re-telling. A good book for dipping in and out of. Glad to see its not just the customers who are wallys when it comes to music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring really, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strange Requests and Comic Tales from Record Shops (Paperback)
Not really funny.......perhaps my expectations were too high? Surprisingly thin on content, more a stocking filler than a book to recommend..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet...., 25 April 2014
By 
J. MILLER "JohnM" (Farnham, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strange Requests and Comic Tales from Record Shops (Paperback)
A book for and by record shop guys. I'm an old record shop guy from the 70s myself - "High Fidelity" was quite accurate. I found this book a bit disappointing though as it's mostly pub-type 'guess what happened today in the shop' anecdotes. Some of it is pretty funny, it did make me smile but I won't be going back to it as much as I thought I would, or getting copies to give to my other ex-record shop colleagues. Retail/shop work is more or less the same whatever country or line of business you are in; you get knowledgeable customers, ignorant customers, time-wasters, nutcases, whoever decides to come in off the street. And ignorance and stupidity are only funny up to a point which this book never gets past. Pick up a cheap s/h copy if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Minor amusement from bargain bin anecdotes, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Patrick Neylan "Patrick Neylan" (Orpington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strange Requests and Comic Tales from Record Shops (Paperback)
It seemed like a good idea, possibly inspired by Jen Campbell's hilarious Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops. Problem is, most of the stories aren't very interesting or funny. Maybe that's why almost every anecdote - in fact almost every sentence - ends in a faintly desperate exclamation mark. It's really quite irritating! And unnecessary! Far too many of the stories are just banal accounts of customers getting the names of bands wrong! Someone asked for 'Ha-Ha' instead of 'A-Ha'! How funny is that?! Another thought that Coldplay were called Snowplay! ROFL!

Some of the stories could have been more interesting, but they seem to have been printed as they were received, and record shop owners aren't professional writers. But apart from adding the exclamation marks (surely they can't all have been written that way), the editors don't seem to have done anything to liven up the material.

Yawn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest books about music ever, 29 Aug 2013
This review is from: Strange Requests and Comic Tales from Record Shops (Paperback)
Had this for a couple of weeks now and keep dipping in and out of it reading the hilarious stories of dopey customers trying to buy music before the internet, shazam etc. A great book for people who love music and record shops but also just a brilliant book about people in general. I'm definitely buying a few copies of this for Christmas presents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 1 Aug 2013
What another great book from Graham Jones. This is such fun to read. Pick it up, read a story, put in down and you soon pick it up again. A non stop laughter. The stories are great and so well written. I loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strange Requests and Comic Tales from Record Shops
Strange Requests and Comic Tales from Record Shops by Graham Jones (Paperback - 29 July 2013)
6.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews