Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting but not entirely informative
As a guide to what shops are like, which ones are hot, the kind of price that they sell stuff for, and, more than anything else, a guide to all those little hidden away shops down back streets that you would never know about unless you'd passed them, this is an exciting book which makes me wish I was in London more often. It's appropriately targeted at both sexes, and...
Published on 20 May 2010 by Martin Turner

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less than Fabulous...
Lots of reviews of this, so I'll keep to some key points:

On the plus side, the book is easy to use - clear alphabetical format, logical layout with simple symbols and strong colours to define sections. Each shop review is readable, well-researched and informative, with the odd - often amateur - photograph either of a store window, the interiors or a...
Published on 25 May 2010 by Supertzar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less than Fabulous..., 25 May 2010
By 
Supertzar - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fashion Fabulous London: The Top 200 Hottest Fashion Shops in London (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lots of reviews of this, so I'll keep to some key points:

On the plus side, the book is easy to use - clear alphabetical format, logical layout with simple symbols and strong colours to define sections. Each shop review is readable, well-researched and informative, with the odd - often amateur - photograph either of a store window, the interiors or a catwalk.

On the downside, it's pretty pricey for an 'annual guidebook'. It'll date quickly - some of the shops featured have already closed down (eg Bamford & Sons), it has many references to specific clothes and prices that have long gone and events listed are from 2009. Annoyingly, it's full of typos (it's Philippe Starcke, not Philip Starck, Róisín, not Rosie, Murphy, Pied à, not de, Terre, Thom Yorke, not York, etc) and grammatical errors (it's when they mean its, apostrophes after acronyms, dates and plurals (trilby's anyone?).

Altogether an interesting idea, packed with great information, let down by poor execution and the march of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting but not entirely informative, 20 May 2010
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fashion Fabulous London: The Top 200 Hottest Fashion Shops in London (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a guide to what shops are like, which ones are hot, the kind of price that they sell stuff for, and, more than anything else, a guide to all those little hidden away shops down back streets that you would never know about unless you'd passed them, this is an exciting book which makes me wish I was in London more often. It's appropriately targeted at both sexes, and there's enough information alongside the ratings to answer most, but not all the questions you might have.

The key question that it doesn't really answer is: what do they actually sell? I suppose any sort of detail in terms of the kinds of styles you'll find is inevitably out of date quickly in the fast world of fashion. But I really felt browsing through this (and it is a book to browse through, not a cover-to-cover read) that I could have done with a little bit more instruction before setting off into the wilds of London on an exploration.

This is an annual guide, and I suspect that the hottest 200 fashion shops in London churns quite a lot over a year. Probably most fun if you don't go often to the capital, but are going to be spending a few days there in the near future.

If fashion is your buzz, this seems a pretty good book to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hidden gems, 20 May 2010
By 
kehs (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fashion Fabulous London: The Top 200 Hottest Fashion Shops in London (Paperback)
This book has shown me all the shops I have tried to find in London and failed. Mainly where the cool charity shops are. I'll be tucking this book in my travel bag on my next visit to the city. A handy book that all serious shoppers should take a peek at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, mediocre delivery, 11 May 2010
By 
Rachel "rachel337" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fashion Fabulous London: The Top 200 Hottest Fashion Shops in London (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Do you love to shop? Do you wish you had a bit more info about the best places to visit in London? then this fascinating concept for a little book, with some great plus points, might be for you.
* it breaks the shops down by price range, service, choice and wow factor.
* as a regular London shopper, I discovered some hidden gems
* there are some lovely photos and details like nearest tube station and restaurants in the vicinity
* there is a selection of helpful indexes, making it easy to find an entry
* there is a list of fashion courses and events for those really serious about the industry
* it is small enough to take with you on a day out

on the negative side though and the reason it isn't graded higher
* the book is badly written in parts and appears to be translated ineptly from another language at times
* the writing is tiny and therefore hard to read- probably as a result of being a large book decanted into a petite size
* a map would be useful and isn't included
* not all entries are created equal- some are missing location, some size info, some refer you to other entries that then fail to tell you any more...a bit slapdash
* although it is small, it is weirdly heavy and would weigh down a handbag

ultimately, I would say if it is super cheap on amazon, it is worth a punt but it isn't worth its cover price. Time Out London's annual shop guide does this better and for a similar price (although not smaller).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Fashion Fabulous London: The Top 200 Hottest Fashion Shops in London (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Not what I was expecting at all, in fact it is absolutely useless. Very, very limited information about "London" fashion shops which are mostly chain fashion stores which can be found in any city in the UK. Very few, tiny pictures with no information that anybody would not already know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very Good - could have been better, 19 May 2010
By 
Sunglasses - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fashion Fabulous London: The Top 200 Hottest Fashion Shops in London (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a good and useful guide but would have liked to have seen a bit more on the quirky / bespoke / unusual shops in London as often we just get facts that we already know. Missed a trick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not the definitive guide to fashion!, 18 April 2010
By 
RM/TM (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fashion Fabulous London: The Top 200 Hottest Fashion Shops in London (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love Vogue and In-style, scour vintage clothing and jewellery stores for one-of-a-kind gems, and have eagerly devoured books such as `The Independent London Store Guide'. So you can probably guess that I was initially quite excited to read of this new release by Tracy and Russell Rose. Sadly, though, I have to report being disappointed with `Fashion Fabulous London', which I feel is scant on information and badly written to boot.

For example, many of the 'reviews' consist only a single line and contain no information at all on the type of clothing that can be found, or the atmosphere or decor instore, see :- 'Camden Canal Market is a small market but nicely positioned along the Regents Canal'. 'Red Cross - this popular charity shop is virtually next door to Manolo Blahnik'. And why recomend cafes and restaurants for hungry shoppers if you're not going to give any information about the menu or style of food served in many of them?

Compounding this, there's also misinformation - for example 'Alfies' is portrayed as predominantly being a vintage clothing market - wheras, whilst there are indeed one or two fab clothing dealers to be found there, it's much better known as a major centre for mid-century furniture.

In places the grammar used is terrible - see this badly written entry about Browns:- 'This is the only shop in the Capital that I know that follows the antiquated tradition by certain sales assistants of scowling at customers who they don't resonate with. It's quite surprisingly as JB the owner, who we have met on a few occasions has always been entirely charming'.

The sections on high street chain stores seem entirely redundant - surely the thing about chains is that they are ubiquitous, and thus, most of us are already familiar with them. Why would we need a guide to 'Miss Selfridge' or 'Oasis' when we can pop into one a couple of miles down the road? There is some information on small, independant stores too, and I felt the guide would have been more successful if it could have focused predominantly on these. However, too little attention has been paid to the quirky, unusual and hard to find, and too much emphasis placed on mainstream, in my opinion. More pictures might have helped whet the appetite - the illustrations really are quite scant, which won't appeal to the fashion magazine generation used to pouring over the glossies.

On the positive side, there are more detailed reviews for some of the top designer stores like Alfred Dunhill and Stella McCartney (much more info given on store décor, and key pieces for sale this season). And I agree with the previous reviewer that it was nice to read an honest account of the poor service afforded in some of the shops in question, rather than the usual rhapsodising by fashion journalists who probably experience a level of fawning generally unavailable to 'joe public'. In fact comments on service are one of the books strongest points, with reference to the availability and helpfullness of the assistants in almost every review published. However there is also a fair amount of superfluous information proffered e.g conversations about home interior decor with shop assistants. And some of it is not just irrelavant but actually quite unpleasant - one fellow customer is referred to as having a 'helmet headed hairstyle' (Rigby and Peller), and another is described as 'huge'.

And that's the main problem with this book - some useful information lost in a sea of irrelevant padding; stilted writing that makes the whole thing read very badly. The authors claim that they put a huge amount of research into this guide, and it is clear that they do love fashion. But this book just doesn't do it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dedicated Follower of Overly Expensive Fashion, 26 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Fashion Fabulous London: The Top 200 Hottest Fashion Shops in London (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Being no Fashionista myself, it was up to my partner to help me evaluate `Fashion Fabulous London'. This is a `Rough Guide' style travelogue book that has over 200 quick reviews by authors Tracy and Russell Rose of the top fashion shops in London. Despite having the fashion sense of a colour-blind tramp I am still able to evaluate a book's writing style. Upon opening `Fashion Fabulous' I began to have issues. The text is quite small and the reviews themselves are often too brief to be of any use. The Roses popped into hundreds of fashion shops and from these brief respites were seemingly able to evaluate everything. The vague nature of the review and stilted style of the prose suggests that they could have done with more time in each shop.

My partner also noticed that the book leaned a little heavily towards the big names of London. In my opinion anyone can say that Armani are decent (if you can afford it), but what of the smaller stores on offer? There are quite a few in the book, but Central London dominates and vintage is not as heavily reviewed as it should be. The reviews of the high street shops are well natured, but are they really needed? Every Tom, Dick and Harrogate have an Oasis, not just London. Finally, there was a real issue with the final sections of the book that looked at elements such as fashion courses in London. My partner is an alumnus of such a University and the brief two sentence review of one of the most famous Fashion and Art Colleges in the world seems a waste of everyone's time.

With my basic fashion skill set even I realised that `Fashion Fabulous' is a book aimed at those people who have never set foot in the city. As an aid for a rich foreigner on holiday this book would be a decent guide to knowing the most expensive and posh shops. However, for the less well off, and locals, the book misses out in terms of breadth of shops and depth of review. Throw in some stilted writing and you feel that the Roses tried to copy the `Rough Guide' style far too rigidly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 26 April 2010
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fashion Fabulous London: The Top 200 Hottest Fashion Shops in London (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you want to know where to shop in London then this is your book - it appears to cover every possiblle area where you miht want to go shopping in the capital. The authors have clearly researched their topic and this book will appeal to those interested in fashion, but who are not sufficiently well informed to know the places to go for their fashion fix.

Let's be clear, it's not a perfect book, and given it's scope and range there's probably a mistake or two in there, as fashion is a very fickle business, but with the comprehensive contact details it's pretty easy to check ahead if you are making a special journey, so you'd easily find out if things had changed or weren't quite as you expected.

Well worth getting if you are a fashion junkie, and especially if you are unfamilar with London

(This review provided by my wife !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fashion best friend in your pocket, 17 April 2010
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fashion Fabulous London: The Top 200 Hottest Fashion Shops in London (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I used to have a work colleague who knew every fashion hot spot in London. She was amazing. She'd turn up designer outfits seen on the catwalks just days earlier, as she knew where to buy the samples for a few quid. She wore made-to-measure items as she knew which of the cheaper boutiques would do free alterations. Her jewellery was amazing, and she'd bat off any compliment with "This? Fiver down such-and-such market!"

Then she moved to a different office and I never saw her again. I sobbed and went back to Primark.

This book is the closest I'll ever get to that workmate. It's fabulous. It covers the chain stores, boutiques, markets, charity shops, the works. The reviews are fantastic, they're completely honest and open, and give you the good with the bad. The opening hours, contact details and sizes stocked information is worth the price of the book alone.

A London fashion best friend, and never have to listen to her boyfriend woes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fashion Fabulous London: The Top 200 Hottest Fashion Shops in London
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews