Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Grub
What a splendid cookery book - the way it is written reminds me of times gone by when grandmothers/mothers/daughters use age old recipes handed down over the years. The receipes are easy to follow and it is like "Grand Ma" Dorothy Pearson is actually helping you through ... even the slightly ambitious receipes turn out a treat. I know what I'll be buying as Christmas...
Published on 28 Sept. 2009 by Jo & John

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Grand Ma's old anglo indian cookery book
Nice recipes....but should have been proof read. The biryani recipe omits the rice! and there are several more recipes in the book that omits ingredients....but then mentions them in the making of the dish!...lots of guess work and common sense needed, but once you figure it out the recipes are amazing.
Published on 29 Aug. 2011 by mary m


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Every Indian food lover should have one!, 29 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Grand Ma's Old Anglo-Indian Cookery Book (Paperback)
I bought this book unseen for my elderly Anglo-Indian Mum, purely from its review and title on Amazon. She absolutely loves it! She has found recipes for things from her early years that she never thought she would be able to try again. Pictures are great - recipes easy to follow. A unique and delightful book - highly recommended. I have bought copies for other members of the family and it is now going on the 'friend's birthdays' list. I very much hope that Dorothy will produce more books with more of her Grandma's long-lost Anglo-Indian recipes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Ma's Old Anglo- Indian Cookery Book, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Ma's Old Anglo-Indian Cookery Book (Paperback)
Has some really tasty recipes. Brought back lots of memories of my grandmothers cooking. Havenever seen a book on anglo- Indian cooking, well worth the buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get your taste buds popping!!!!, 15 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Grand Ma's Old Anglo-Indian Cookery Book (Paperback)
Bought this book after meeting Dorothy in Goa. She has a wonderful garden and grows lots of fruit and vegetables which I'm sure must inspire her to create her dishes. The recipes are great, easily followed and the results are always amazing, wonderful flavours and colours. I have only tried the vegetarian recipes, but I have cooked the meat/fish recipes for my family and they love them! Thank you Dorothy-when are you writing the next one?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Grand Ma's old anglo indian cookery book, 29 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Grand Ma's Old Anglo-Indian Cookery Book (Paperback)
Nice recipes....but should have been proof read. The biryani recipe omits the rice! and there are several more recipes in the book that omits ingredients....but then mentions them in the making of the dish!...lots of guess work and common sense needed, but once you figure it out the recipes are amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to Indian Cookery., 21 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Grand Ma's Old Anglo-Indian Cookery Book (Paperback)
Received this book in the summer and over the last few months have been working my way through the recipes. Found all of them to be well thought out and written. Very simple to follow and produce some fantastic dishes. Many thanks and looking forward to your next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dot, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Ma's Old Anglo-Indian Cookery Book (Paperback)
superb cook book ,lovely lady more than willing to advise and encourage to use recipies,if you get a chance to holiday in Candolim in Goa visit Dorothy,brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good one, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Ma's Old Anglo-Indian Cookery Book (Paperback)
Brought me the recipes from home. Would have preferred to get the original one by Mrs Dora Limond. Please see if this is possible as a reprint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pish Pash and Pepperwater Wow, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Ma's Old Anglo-Indian Cookery Book (Paperback)
The pepperwater is close to what my mother made if not quite the same, but then what is as good as what mum's make?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I was expecting, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Ma's Old Anglo-Indian Cookery Book (Paperback)
Not as good as I was expecting, but then I am Anglo-Indian and it didn't contain all that I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indian food from an Indian family..., 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Ma's Old Anglo-Indian Cookery Book (Paperback)
Another brilliant selection of family-sourced Indian recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Ma's Old Anglo-Indian Cookery Book
Grand Ma's Old Anglo-Indian Cookery Book by Dorothy Pearson (Paperback - 14 July 2009)
Used & New from: £10.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews