Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spanish Sizzler!
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, simply because it did not just focus entirely on football.
It tells us how various regions within Spain, such as the Basque Country, Andalucia, San Sebastian and Catalan all thrive for a spot in the limelight on, and off the pitch.
Of course, no Spanish history book could avoid the subject of the Civil War and the regime of Franco...
Published on 24 Jun 2002 by Mr. C. J. Davies

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Puzzled
Mr Ball kept me interested in all non Real-Barca related matter,he should have done his homework better on these two Giants of Spanish Football.There are a number of facts he got wrong and I ask him to look at the subjects from BOTH sides.The fact he also had called into account Jim Burns book "Barca"to add credence to his point also I felt was not necessary.I felt this...
Published on 1 Oct 2011 by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spanish Sizzler!, 24 Jun 2002
By 
Mr. C. J. Davies (Brynsiencyn, Anglesey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, simply because it did not just focus entirely on football.
It tells us how various regions within Spain, such as the Basque Country, Andalucia, San Sebastian and Catalan all thrive for a spot in the limelight on, and off the pitch.
Of course, no Spanish history book could avoid the subject of the Civil War and the regime of Franco that soon followed. How he got satisfaction seeing the great Real Madrid side of the 50s make a clean sweep on the European stage is also well covered.
A superb book with many interesting facts and trivia, and great references to Spanish greats such as Zamora, Di Stefano and Butragueno.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morbo!, 8 Aug 2006
There really is no shortage of excellent books on football in particular countries -- Brilliant Orange, Futebol, Tor, Calcio -- but Phil Ball's book on Spanish footballing culture is among the best.
From its star-studded league to the biggest derby in the world, Spain is not lacking in interesting stories to tell, and,thankfullly,Ball is a great storyteller who has crafted a wonderfully entertaining book. His insightful stories of, not only the Madrid-Barcelona rivalry, but also of the rivalries in Seville and the Basque country are erudite yet enjoyable to read. Brilliant, don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phil Ball scores with Morbo, 5 May 2006
By 
Morbo by Phil Ball is the fascinating story of Spanish football. Erudite yet easy to read, full of the quirky characters which inhabit the Spanish game. This book highlights the contradictions and misconceptions which inhabit the heart of the Spanish game and Spanish society. Essential reading for anyone with even the most remote interest in all and any things Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent, well-written football book.....miracle !, 5 Aug 2009
By 
J. Powell "Jimbo" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let's face it, football books are generally aimed at complete morons. The premise seems to be that if you're into football then you must be an ill-educated, lager-swilling idiot full of testosterone, itching for a fight, some alpha male gorilla who can't even handle words over three syllables. In reality, we know that's not exclusively true and a massive cross-section of society both watch and follow the game. The beautiful game is a passion for people of all faiths, intellects, colours, nationalities, and of varying economic status all over the world. This book is for a true lover of the game. Most people want to read only about their favourite club, but many of us just love to learn and immerse ourselves in football, whichever team or country is concerned, it's all football. This book is a treat for anyone who simply loves the game and can use their brain as well.

I'm a Barca fan, and a regular visitor to Barcelona to watch matches and I know a fair bit about the history of Catalonia and the club. But i was delighted to discover and learn a lot more of the intricate and complicated politics of many other clubs in Spain, far removed beyond the well-known rivalry of Barca v Real Madrid. I also enjoy history and politics, so this book was a treat. footy plus politics plus history...a truly fascinating combo. The story of the Rangers/Celtic old firm rivalry is but one of many similar highly-charged and politically motivated football rivalries in the world that go far beyond just having a favourite football team. Football in the UK (with the exception of the Old Firm) does not carry a political or social aspect or importance, and in some ways we're missing out on all the fun. This will be explained in the books chapters.

Football is often both unifying and divisive of loyalties to regional history, economics and nationality and this is especially true in Spain and Italy. Clubs are not just teams, they are a crucial part of regional and political identities, a focus and rallying point for a collective ideology or yearning for independence. Even the club colours are steeped in history and carry great significance. This is fully and entertainingly explained in the author's travels around Spain, looking at various clubs and their rivalries, gathering opinions and anecdotes of the complexity of Spanish football. I loved it, my only complaint would be that it was a little short and slightly anglocentric in its target audience, but that's a small criticism of what is one of the finest football books I've ever read. excellent stuff. If you like football, history and politics, buy it right now, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Puzzled, 1 Oct 2011
This review is from: Morbo: The Story of Spanish Football (Paperback)
Mr Ball kept me interested in all non Real-Barca related matter,he should have done his homework better on these two Giants of Spanish Football.There are a number of facts he got wrong and I ask him to look at the subjects from BOTH sides.The fact he also had called into account Jim Burns book "Barca"to add credence to his point also I felt was not necessary.I felt this was below him and he shouldn't have felt the urge to do so.I learnt alot about football in this Country through the pages which I hadn't read anywhere before.I look forward to the cross reference with other Authors on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT book, 18 July 2011
By 
Sara Glowacka (Szczecin, Poland) - See all my reviews
A MUST for any football fan! Especially for followers of Spanish League. Well written and full of interesting stories and facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Football & Politics, 31 Oct 2008
By 
1895 "1895" (Maynooth, Ireland) - See all my reviews
If you have any interest in Spanish football and the inescapable regionalism that comes with it, you must read this book.

The author gets under the skin of Spanish football and into the skin of Spanish life and history to tell an amazing story of a conundrum of a country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spanish football is unique, 12 Jan 2006
More than anywhere, spain and football go hand in hand. Throughout his deep, balanced and entertaining analysis, Phil Ball manages to paint a precise picture of the complex history of spanish football. A true journalist, he seeks information from the locals -taxi drivers, barmen,...-, he visits the cities, the stadiums, the fiestas and manages to deliver a fascinating portrait of iberian life. Definitely a good read, and recommended to all football enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Una historia facil de leer y gran contenido., 23 Nov 2001
By A Customer
En mi sincera opinión, el Sr. Ball, ha realizado un trabajo exquisito, lleno de contenido del cual no se había tratado tan bien en ningún otro libro escrito por un ciudadano del Noreste de Inglaterra, nacido en Canada y afincado en San Sebastián (España).
Una persona que ha tratado directamente y desde su partida de nacimiento una historia del futbol en España, de la cual más de uno se ha podido llevar alguna que otra sorpresa en cuanto a la verdadera historia o la historia que nos han contado.
Nos mete en las raices más profundas del mundo del futbol en españa desde su llegada, como llego y como se afincó. Quienes fueron los que hicieron que este deporte que mueve semejante cantidad de no solo aficionados, sino todo tipo de personas: sponsors, políticos, pueblos, ciudades, comunidades autonomás y un largo etc...
Desde aquí, quiero agradecer el trabajo realizado por el Sr. Phil Ball, que quedará en los anales del futbol no solo como un libro más, sino como una verdadera historia del futbol en España.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars spanish football, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morbo: The Story of Spanish Football (Paperback)
well written and well presented. Author really knows his stuff. Pity about his own personal decision not to include one of Spain's biggest clubs in the story of Spanish football. Otherwise a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morbo: The Story of Spanish Football
Morbo: The Story of Spanish Football by Phil Ball (Paperback - 22 Aug 2011)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews