Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight!
I completed my IB last year, having gotten an A in my extended essay and a B for TOK (giving me all 3 points) largely due this guide. its short enough to be read in a day or two, but I found myself going back for advice every time I worked on the EE/TOK. If you are struggling to meet your EE deadlines, I would highly recommend this. Only drawbacks: slightly repetitive in...
Published on 8 Feb 2010 by S. Nanwani

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over priced Rip-off, exploiting anxious and desperate students.
I bought this book out of a desperate attempt to get some guidance on how to do my Extended Essay for the IB programme, hoping to get some good inspiration and perhaps some valuable guidelines and insights. However what I ended up with was an incredibly short book filled with obvious statements that anybody could find out by looking in the FREE guide offered by the IB...
Published 9 months ago by Kaj Björkhagen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight!, 8 Feb 2010
By 
S. Nanwani - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Three: The Ultimate Student's Guide to Acing the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge (Paperback)
I completed my IB last year, having gotten an A in my extended essay and a B for TOK (giving me all 3 points) largely due this guide. its short enough to be read in a day or two, but I found myself going back for advice every time I worked on the EE/TOK. If you are struggling to meet your EE deadlines, I would highly recommend this. Only drawbacks: slightly repetitive in some places, and doesn't really address the TOK curriculum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beats expectations, 20 April 2009
This review is from: Three: The Ultimate Student's Guide to Acing the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge (Paperback)
Having taught the TOK program for several years, I was skeptical about purchasing the book and the purpose it claimed to serve. Overall I must admit that it is a very well written guide that IB students should be encouraged to read. The advice is practical - so practical that teachers forget to mention it.

My only warning with regards to the TOK section is that this book is by no means a replacement for a ToK textbook. Although the tips in the book are unique, you will struggle unless you have some ToK material. The Extended Essay section on the other hand is basically all you need to read if you want to write a grade A Extended Essay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over priced Rip-off, exploiting anxious and desperate students., 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three: The Ultimate Student's Guide to Acing the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge (Paperback)
I bought this book out of a desperate attempt to get some guidance on how to do my Extended Essay for the IB programme, hoping to get some good inspiration and perhaps some valuable guidelines and insights. However what I ended up with was an incredibly short book filled with obvious statements that anybody could find out by looking in the FREE guide offered by the IB. The book "reveals" almost nothing already known by any IB student, except perhaps the idea of doing an EE in mathematics and to avoid language subjects (the mistake I ended up making personally).

I think this book is a clear example of an attempt to rip off desperate and gullible and naive students who are looking for a quick fix to their IB problems. This book should be at most 4-5 pounds. The fact that it costs what it does in outrageous. What is even more laughable is that I paid it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Aug 2010
This review is from: Three: The Ultimate Student's Guide to Acing the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge (Paperback)
This book is good. To the point. And perhaps is the key to maximising your 3 possible points. But I think it is a bit too expensive overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars informational but, 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: Three: The Ultimate Student's Guide to Acing the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge (Paperback)
I had read the reviews for this before i ordered it for my daughter. It has practical information but mostly information you must know already. The whole book takes about two hours to read. My daughter may refer back to it over the next year but it will not be an "essential" guide. The four stars are because it tells the story from someone who has recently completed the IB but I feel its over priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comments from an IB teacher, 1 July 2010
By 
Kenneth V. Muller (Antwerp-Ekeren, Belgium) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Three: The Ultimate Student's Guide to Acing the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge (Paperback)
Mr. Zouev's book is spot on and written in very student-friendly language. The advice and tips he provides are indeed helpful to students who wish to improve their chances of higher scores. Zouev makes tasks that so many students find daunting quite approachable, and therefore, equips them with confidence to tackle the tasks rather than to avoid them until the last minute. It is very cool that a successful high school graduate took the initiative to compile this very useful and practical guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit obvious, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three: The Ultimate Student's Guide to Acing the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge (Paperback)
I bought this for my daughter but she found it all a bit obvious. For other students who are less aware of the IB marking criteria it may be more useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Irvine, 9 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Three: The Ultimate Student's Guide to Acing the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge (Paperback)
I have never been a great student, and actually dropped out of school at the age of 18 because I found the IB Course to be too difficult. I worked as a janitor at Sasha's school until the age of 25, and happened upon his book one day. It was clear, concise and extremely well written, and gave me the courage to go back and get my IB qualifications. With the help of Sasha's book I scored very highly overall. I am now attending Harvard University, studying economics. All I have to say is, this man changed my life. He is my saviour, my saint, and not to mention he's sooooo super cute (he looks like a bear). I would give this book 'Three' thumbs up if I had three thumbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Zouev You Are My Idol, 20 April 2009
By 
Mr. P. McCloskey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Three: The Ultimate Student's Guide to Acing the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge (Paperback)
This book is the Bible of IB, after buying and reading it my teacher said I should be taking the class.

Incredibly helpful and written sooo well

Alexander please release some more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One out of three for three, 19 July 2009
By 
Dr. M. Farrington (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Three: The Ultimate Student's Guide to Acing the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge (Paperback)
Written by an IB pupil for IB pupils, this "guide" is a sensible attempt to pass on useful experience to other pupils. It is easy to read - takes about 40 minutes to read the whole thing - and makes good points about choice and discipline in these two core areas; exactly the sort of thing that teachers say to pupils. BUT, it is vastly overpriced and not good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three: The Ultimate Student's Guide to Acing the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews