Customer Reviews


311 Reviews
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great companion to the Potter books
If you are a Harry Potter fan, this book is for you. It contains five wizard fairytales, and notes made by the Professor Albus Dumbledore. Like with Muggle fairytales, they contain moral messages and words of wisdom to the budding wizard. They are short and thoroughly enjoyable. The notes made by Dumbledore had me chuckling - what a great character! I loved how the books...
Published on 26 Feb 2009 by K. Leversuch

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short but entertaining
I am afraid I am on the fence with this one so will probably upset people who automatically think that because J K Rowling wrote this book it is perfect in every way. Well I would agree that she is indeed a fantastic author and what she has done for resurging peoples (children's especially) interest in reading is nothing short of incredible. However I do see this...
Published on 22 Dec 2008 by Pete A


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice tales, shame about the quality of the item, 23 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Collector's Edition (Offered Exclusively by Amazon) (Hardcover)
I enjoyed the Tales, but my enjoyment was tainted by the fact that after page 40 I was subconsciously proofreading the book as I went along. Given how much this edition costs, I would expect it to be thoroughly proofread prior to publication.

The finishing of the book was also dreadful, with several pages stuck together with glue - I am unable to prise them apart without damaging the pages, so haven't quite finished reading yet!

I'm in the process of penning a complaint to Amazon, as this is clearly not an acceptable standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Collector's Edition (Offered Exclusively by Amazon) (Hardcover)
lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 25 Feb 2009
By 
E. swart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Was expecting more from J K Rowling, and having read all the Harry Potter books assumed that it would be slightly better than it is. The stories themselves were boring and could see where they were going and 'Dumbledore's notes' while intresting did not portray the man in the harry potter series. any body who is fond of the series - would advise giving this one a skip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED the stories!, 14 Dec 2008
By 
Each story JK Rowling has its own unique personality. I loved the diversity of the stories and the point that they were putting across.

A great little collection to read to the children. Little being the best word to use. It would have been great to have a few more stories and a bigger book to keep us managing with the HP withdrawal symptoms!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fully disappointing, 15 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am utterly disappointed by this small book. The five tales are definitely simple, if not simple-minded, and far from what could be thought about and expected from modern tales, or even tales in the tradition of thousands of years of story telling in the whole humanity. The author avoided the plain rewriting of tales, except the last one, the story of the three brothers, that is obvious, but that's just the point I would like to make: apparently traditional tales, all over the world, contain some simple structural elements that seem to be universal in story telling, part of a universal creative mind, and J.L. Rowling misses that point completely because her tales seem to be out of line of anything at all. And I have to admit these tales have little logic. Babbitty Rabbitty is based on the fact that witches can't do anything against a bunch of dogs, and at the same time one old witch alone can evade both detection and then the dogs when finally detected. And I won't speak of the poor youngest brother who lived all his life under Death's invisibility cloak: he must not have taken a shower very often. The Warlock story is absolutely gross and even terrible in the etymological meaning: it definitely evokes terror, it definitely terrifies people, or maybe only horrifies them. It sounds like some old Christian martyrdom tale. And the worst and most irritating part is the fact that J.K. Rowling adds Dumbledore's commentary and notes after each tale, as if the modern audience could not think all by itself, as if we were looking for a pedagogical text-book. In other words, J.K. Rowling could have been better inspired.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne & University Versailles Saint Quentin en Yvelines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE TALES OF BEEDLE THE BARD, 2 Feb 2009
By 
Derrick W. Miller (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
GREAT FAST DELIVERY BUT THE BOOK WAS THINNER THAN I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE BUT FIRST CLASS SERVICE FROM AMAZON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pottering about, 1 Feb 2009
By 
C. Thompson (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a bit of a disapointment, much more for younger readers than the older ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Oct 2014
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beedle - the ballad, 21 Dec 2008
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Chorus:
Rowling is a genius
Long may her stories reign
If you're a Harry Potter fan
Join in this short refrain

"The Wizard and the Hopping Pot"
Tells of a wizard, whose
Propensity to muggle-hate
Soon made him sing the blues

"The Fountain of Fair Fortune" tells
Of witches and a knight
Who didn't need three coins at all
To set their wishes right

Chorus

Beware "The Warlock's Hairy Heart"
About a would-be twosome
His heart lies purely in the dark
(This story is quite gruesome)

Babbitty Rabbitty's cackling stump
Is really rather funny
A King who thinks he's oh so smart
Gets punk'd by an old bunny

Chorus

The Deathly Hallows told the tale
Of cloak and wand and stone
Of three brothers who dealt with Death
Their last days to postpone

Five stories linked to Potter-land
With footnotes and insights
By Rowling and her Dumbledore
Before she dimmed his lights

Chorus and fade

This collection of five (very) short stories is fleshed out with running commentary by Albus Dumbledore, and also includes a few footnotes and illustrations by the author. It also refers to another Potter companion book Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, which is often sold with Quidditch Through the Ages.

On its own, this book would simply be a collection of short stories for children (although, as mentioned before, one is rather grim) but with the juggernaut that HP has become standing solidly behind it, this one becomes a must-have collectible companion book for any avid fan.

Stories on their own: 4 stars
With surrounding aura: 5 stars

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Collector's Edition (Offered Exclusively by Amazon)
Used & New from: £119.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews