Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Lightroom Reference, 16 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Adobe Lightroom 3 - The Missing FAQ - Real Answers to Real Questions asked by Lightroom Users (Paperback)
I first found out about the Lightroom Queen when I was researching Lightroom keyboard shortcuts for my book on Lightroom 2. Victoria Bampton provided the most up-to-date, complete lists of keyboard shortcuts available... and for free! I soon found out she was prepared to go much further. Since then, her two editions of Missing FAQ have provided Lightroom users an invaluable resource for solving problems and finding answers to important questions.

Victoria has a knack for identifying key sticking points in common Lightroom workflows; she knows where people get into trouble and offers expert advice that helps you get back on track. In her books, she addresses real problems and provides practical solutions. The format is easy to read and understand: the book is organized logically, by key topic, so you can quickly find exactly what you're looking for.

This new version for Lightroom 3 is more complete, yet also more concise, more comprehensive yet more polished, and was clearly produced with utmost care and concern for accuracy, timeliness and accessibility. The Missing FAQ is an essential addition to the library for anyone seeking to master Lightroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for anyone who wants to master Lightroom, 12 Aug 2010
This review is from: Adobe Lightroom 3 - The Missing FAQ - Real Answers to Real Questions asked by Lightroom Users (Paperback)
If you own Lightroom and want to use it seriously then you really, really need this book.

Lightroom isn't the easiest of products to learn, but when you understand it you can make your photography workflow and cataloguing sing. Then you'll not only be getting better results, you'll be getting them much, much quicker. This book is the key to unlocking that level of understanding.

It's an absolute goldmine (500 plus pages) of everything you need to know presented in a no-nonsense, easy to understand style by an author who's clearly an expert user and who knows the product inside out.

It's not a user guide or step-by-step instruction manual, though it does contain a lot of hints, tips and instructions on how to do things. Rather, it's a massive collection of FAQ style information that's been clearly and logically organised for use as a reference. Buy it. Read it through once or twice then keep it (or the e-book) as a reference and you'll wonder how you ever managed without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one I keep coming back to., 31 Oct 2010
This review is from: Adobe Lightroom 3 - The Missing FAQ - Real Answers to Real Questions asked by Lightroom Users (Paperback)
I wouldn't really recommend this book for somebody starting out in Lightroom who wants a step-bystep guide to what it does and how to get it to do it. There are other books that are excellent for that. But once you've learned the Lightroom basics you'll be wanting to do stuff that isn't covered so well in those books, or the online help. This is where The Missing FAQ comes into its own. All the dirty little secrets hidden within Lightroom are dragged out into the light of day, with clear instructions on how to force it to do what you want it to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer facts well referenced, 11 Aug 2010
This review is from: Adobe Lightroom 3 - The Missing FAQ - Real Answers to Real Questions asked by Lightroom Users (Paperback)
If you're already a Lightroom user, this book is still a great buy as a reference to dip into time and time again for things you never knew as well as for things you forgot. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden treasure, 11 April 2011
This review is from: Adobe Lightroom 3 - The Missing FAQ - Real Answers to Real Questions asked by Lightroom Users (Paperback)
Having used Lightroom for several years I already have a fair number of books on how to use it. I accidentally came across Victoria Bampton's book "Lightroom 3 the missing FAQ", and wondered if I could possibly need another one. The answer is YES. This book covers many topics that are not really dealt with in many other books about Lightroom, and in an entirely different, question and answer, fashion.
I bought the print copy from Amazon, and must admit to being initially slightly disappointed in its appearance, there being no colour pictures at all, unlike Scott Kelby's and Martin Evening's copiously illustrated books. However, I found that there is also a PDF copy available for download included in the price of the print copy, and this is in colour. The "e-book" is available as a separate entity, at a lower price, but I would recommend getting the print copy, and then downloading the PDF one as well. The print copy sits on my computer desk when I am using Lightroom.
In summary, this is a highly recommendable book, and will teach you things you did not know that you did not know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightroom Q & A, 28 Nov 2010
This review is from: Adobe Lightroom 3 - The Missing FAQ - Real Answers to Real Questions asked by Lightroom Users (Paperback)
Adobe Lightroom 3 - The Missing FAQ.

This is one of the most interesting books I have ever perused, not only for the specific subject matter but because of the questions which have not ocurred to me and which are nevertheless relevant, but because this principle should be applied to other software programmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you will need for Lightroom 3, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: Adobe Lightroom 3 - The Missing FAQ - Real Answers to Real Questions asked by Lightroom Users (Paperback)
This book is the best Lightroom guide out there in my opinion. A one stop shop and total must have for Lightroom fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yep, it's excellent, 14 Nov 2010
By 
D. Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Lightroom 3 - The Missing FAQ - Real Answers to Real Questions asked by Lightroom Users (Paperback)
Excellent book, well laid out and very informative and accessible.
Also very readable, an attribute I find to be very much the exception to the rule in this type of instruction book.
In summary, I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only Five stars because they dont do Six, 31 Oct 2010
By 
J. Hoskison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Lightroom 3 - The Missing FAQ - Real Answers to Real Questions asked by Lightroom Users (Paperback)
This is the book I was looking for - for far too long. All the others are too linear in their approach, if you know what I mean - do this then this and then something else. This on the other hand is the informational equivalent of an all you can eat buffet simply dip in dip out as you want, take as much or as litle away each time but inevitably coming away wiser.I got this book Friday and read it end to end over the weekend. I could not and did not want to put it down - unlike some of the other LR3 books I have tried to read lately. This is not a book for my bookshelf - this now lives in between my monitors in pride of place. Oh and the downloadable accompanying PDF - that lives on the desktop of my laptop for use anywhere. Thanks Victoria your not the LR Queen your the LR Gaurdian Angel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightroom 3- Missing FAQs, 19 May 2011
This review is from: Adobe Lightroom 3 - The Missing FAQ - Real Answers to Real Questions asked by Lightroom Users (Paperback)
I bought this book as a result of reading other Amazon reviews on Scott Kelby's book on Lightroom 3. One of the reviewers referred to this book as a 'must have' to go with Kelby's book. Scott Kelby's book teaches how to use Lightroom 3 exceptionally well, Victoria Bampton's book tells you what to do when things go wrong or are not addressed in Kelby's book.
I found Bampton's book to be the ideal companion to Kelby's book and purchased both. Any regrets? None at all, both are excellent writers who know their subject inside out and pass on their expertise with such ease that I, as a film raised photographer, know what they are talking about and learned accordingly. I highly recommend this book and would recommend also that it be bought with Kelby's book 'Lightroom 3'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa68daf90)

This product

Adobe Lightroom 3 - The Missing FAQ - Real Answers to Real Questions asked by Lightroom Users
25.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews