Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surpassed Expectations
I had low expectations of this book; I thought it would contain only platitudes about how referendums and the Internet are going to change politics.

In fact, the Plan surprised me by being well thought out, achievable and radically brilliant.

They recommend the transferral of Crown prerogative powers (such as declaring war and appointing ambassadors)...
Published on 8 May 2009 by E. Plant

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Political pamphlet
This is a well written book and explores some interesting political ideas. Only two stars because it is now out of date. It was written as a lead into the last general election as an alternative conservative manifesto.
What amazed me, I should have realised, how few powers are left to the national parliaments and how many are signed away to Europe. Of course MPs do...
Published 13 months ago by Edward M. Sedgwick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Full of ideas for rescuing the country from the brink, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ever since the war, the UK has been drifting down a gradually steepening slope towards economic and social instability. It accelerated alarmingly towards the brink during the later Labour years, when this book was written. The coalition is doing little to halt the slide. This book is very perceptive on analysing the problems (some presented rightly as quite alarming and astonishing), and, more significantly, full of selective and specific ideas on what should be done. Major issues are localism and the opposite trend of the EU. At every level of government the realities of power and responsibility are confused and fudged, leading to tough times for politicians (at least those not blindly enslaved to the failed systems in place) and a mixture of frustration and apathy for the electorate. The implementation of some of these ideas make sense to this reader as a way of restoring accountability and involvement. Sadly, there is still a long way to go for people to wake up to the facts. The general background of ignorance and prejudice against such a largely common sense approach means these plans are sadly unlikely to be tested in real life. Still, a recommended read, deserving recognition as a landmark to be taken seriously by all who are interested in politics and current affairs. It has remarkably weighty content in a compact and compelling format. I am by no means a politician, simply a concerned individual interested in following the news.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars why do you never hear real ideas on the BBC?, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well written, concise, and excellent ideas which you will not hear on the BBC. UK can be fixed ib time to take over from the US
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Europes future, 18 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a well written,well researched piece that gave a slightly depressing view of the future of Britain within Europe.

Because the book had been written for some time it had already become dated by recent events but certainly worth a read for any student of modern European history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book reordered, Britain reordered, 18 May 2010
By 
Roger Cruse (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Plan: Twelve months to renew Britain (Paperback)
With the general election result settled, I decided to find & re-read my copy of this book that I purchased last year. I wanted to tick off each element of The Plan as it became law, to see it being actioned in twelve months and then watch Britain transformed.

Couldn't find the book so reordered it. Easily worth the purchase price again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conservative District Councillor, 5 Jan 2009
By 
Mrs. P. A. Seward (Four Marks Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Plan: Twelve months to renew Britain (Paperback)
Has anybody got Cameron's address as I feel I must send a copy to him.
I think it is a brilliant, well researched and well written book.
It is common sense for the country and I just hope it comes to fruition.
I for one will be working for it.
Pat, Hampshire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars convincedtory, 11 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Plan: Twelve months to renew Britain (Paperback)
Excellent - if only the leadership can be persuaded to take these ideas on board
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Clear and Precise Vision - but a bit off the wall at times., 9 Oct 2009
By 
S. Stubbs (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Plan: Twelve months to renew Britain (Paperback)
This book gives a unique and different view of politics within the UK, and a prescription to address the issues as seen by the authors.

Most readers will enjoy the enthusiasm with which the authors tackle their subject - although of course not all will agree with either the analysis or the proposals.

Strangely enough, some of these issues have become mainstream thinking within the conservative party in recent days. A few more being adopted will enhance the status of the authors amongst the right wing.

At least it is refreshing to see some principles and not just fudges. Read it, enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Plan, Twelve months to RENEW BRITAIN, 18 May 2009
This review is from: The Plan: Twelve months to renew Britain (Paperback)
A great read, and so very relevent at this time. Some very interesting and thought provoking ideas. When do we start??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 May 2009
This review is from: The Plan: Twelve months to renew Britain (Paperback)
This is an excellent read and I would reccomend it to anyone who hates big government. Infact, I would reccomend it to anyone, it might change your mind. I agreed with almost everything in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chilling proto Tory manifesto?, 2 July 2009
This review is from: The Plan: Twelve months to renew Britain (Paperback)
A must read and readable book for anyone interested in the future of politics in this country and beyond. Some useful insights - but ultimately it is pulp non-fiction - populist and simplistic in its analysis. No mention of class. No mention of recent economic events. No mention of big business. No mention of electoral reform / fair voting systems

It seems it's underlying premise is strip government down to a rump and then allow multinationals to make as much money as possible whilst removing human rights, decent working conditions and any other remaining regulations on business. (It advocates repealing the Health and Safety Act for example).

But you need to read this - if only to understand the current Tory zeitgeist. Watch this space and make sure these sort of people do not get into positions of real power!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Plan: Twelve months to renew Britain
The Plan: Twelve months to renew Britain by Dan Hannan (Paperback - 9 Aug 2008)
9.20
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews