Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
Herol retraces his steps from the events in his childhood, both happy and traumatic, which shaped the man he would become, to his progression as a boxer, first in the amateur ranks and then as a pro making his way towards a shot at the World Title. Herol also describes the end of his career and the aftermath.

The style is conversational and makes it easy to...
Published on 15 Nov 2011 by Northern Snowman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Private life lacking in good stuff
Does not seem all that exciting a personnel life in night clubs etc Herod as held back maybe out of being a gentleman
Published 3 months ago by charlie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 15 Nov 2011
Herol retraces his steps from the events in his childhood, both happy and traumatic, which shaped the man he would become, to his progression as a boxer, first in the amateur ranks and then as a pro making his way towards a shot at the World Title. Herol also describes the end of his career and the aftermath.

The style is conversational and makes it easy to read this book and also warm to Herol's character.

The anecdotes from his amateur career are illuminating and the events surrounding his professional career are often suprising.
Herol comes accross as a genuine and warm, and he does not try to minimise the errors he made in trusting people. He's also very open about the harsh events he had to overcome.

In turns insightful, moving, sad and hilarious, this book is captivating whether you are a boxing fan or not.

We met Herol at a book signing shortly after the book came out and he was very friendly with everyone, accessible, positive and warm, and yet also vulnerable, just his book suggests.

This autobiography is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bomber - behind the laughter, 11 Oct 2011
A truly amazing and heartfelt story. The journey of Bombers life and the highs and lows make this a must for all boxing fans. I will be putting it in a few stockings at Christmas..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bomber - Behind the Laughter, 16 Oct 2011
I've always been a "Bomber" fan and, having thoroughly enjoyed Stuart Wikin's book about Stanley Gene, I thought I'd give this a go. Very pleased I did. I like Wilkin's style and thoroughly enjoyed all the stuff you never get to hear about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bomber's Story, 27 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read it in 2 days. As boxing biographies go it's quite a personal one. He's very honest and it makes you consider all the previous stories you've read or have been told. You certainly feel for him and end up hoping he'll have a happy future away fron the ring. Lots of social history and very 1980's. Well worth the price. Read it with youtube handy and u can judge the fight descriptions for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 23 Oct 2011
Fantastic read. I am not a boxing fan, my son had bought it, but what a good read. Recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue, 17 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a fan of Herol's this is a great read. If you are not... it is a great read. How come there is not more on him? DVDs of his fights in regular shops, more TV interviews etc. Pioneered an impossible boxing style adopted successfully by his coach. As it says in the book with no Herol there would be no Johnny Nelson and Naseem Hamed (and many others). I suspect Herol doesn't realise just how popular he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bomber, 27 Feb 2012
Very good book. Excellent read. Good quality too. Quick delivery. Many thanks. Would recommend this to anyone interested in boxing or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for every sportsman and woman, 21 Oct 2011
This story was moving, interesting and at times tragic, it kept me thoroughly entertained from the start to finish....just like Herol's boxing.
Well done Herol and Karen
Love
Rory and Wendy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Herol 'Bomber' Graham, 15 April 2014
By 
M. PSALTIS - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written. As an avid boxing fan from the 80's, I found his autobiography very interesting. His personality and sense of humour come through. It is interesting to find out how he dealt with his hard times, what went through his mind when he dealt with his biggest challenges and his relationship with the Ingles and his stablemates.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book to understand a boxer who was quite unorthodox and realise why he was like that.
He has been through the mill but come out the other side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9295354)

This product

Bomber: Behind the Laughter
Bomber: Behind the Laughter by Stuart Wilkin (Paperback - 14 Oct 2011)
Used & New from: 8.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews