Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Kwality", 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Turbulent Times: Liverpool FC's Search for Success (Paperback)
I bought this book on a recommendation - I am not a Liverpool fan, but I do have a passion for the beautiful game - and I struggled to put it aside once it arrived. Is there any scientific or empirical evidence to support the notion of "momentum" often espoused by the pick-a-cliche pundit? How do you value players and spot the next superstar before they become a mega-million marquee signing? How can clubs compete against those with rich, sugar-daddy owners? What use are "stats" and does the "Black Swan" exist? These are just some of the questions posed and discussed in this thoughtful, well researched, and well written collection. The mainstream "churnalists" that get paid handsomely for rehashing the same anecdote ridden, and wholly subjective nonsense that the footy fan is exposed on a daily basis are put to shame by these mostly part-time and unpaid (on this evidence it would be unfair to call them amateur) writers from a fan site. The Tomkins Times will have another subscriber very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read!!, 19 July 2013
This review is from: These Turbulent Times: Liverpool FC's Search for Success (Paperback)
This is a great book and a must read for all fans. The quality of the writing on The Tomkins Times website is excellent and this book captures some of the great work previously published on the site, as well as some fantastic new material.

I use to scour the web for the latest news but when I found The Tomkins Times website that changed. It is now my go to website, where I check in daily for great content, views, opinion and one of the best comments sections of any sports site I have visited.

Read the book, join the site. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy, 2 Aug 2013
This review is from: These Turbulent Times: Liverpool FC's Search for Success (Paperback)
A fantastic book and a must buy for any football fan not just those who follow the red half of merseyside.
Extremely well written, educational, tactically astute and entirely entertaining. This needs to be on your book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These Turbulent Times - Superb, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Jn Haydon "jnHaydon" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Turbulent Times: Liverpool FC's Search for Success (Paperback)
The TTT community really is first class... There are so many positive things to say about it, but I really haven't got a great deal of time, as I'm weighed down with a great deal on my plate, including criminal investigations taking place. But of course, this isn't the place for that; so please allow me to say a few words on how marvellous TTT really is.

There are SO MANY great writers on the site, I won't name them, but many of them are in this absolutely superb book. I very much look forward to further releases like it, and it wouldn't surprise me at all if there would be improvements, because that seems to be the way of things at The Tomkins Times.

Humour, first class scrutiny, debate and a real sense of football fan community, in fact, much more than a football community. These are the watchwords of The Tomkins Times.

It is a very rich experience, which reading the book gives a remarkable insight into. It is where any sane LFC fan could wish to be, when all the nonsense is kicked about all over the internet. It is very much also for any football fan, whatever colour, such are the perceptions and viewpoints revealed. I am supremely grateful to Paul Tomkins, knowing that his first class website is always there (at least right now); its like a rock in a sea of mud.

I am very grateful for such books and the excellent website. Long may it continue.

Best wishes and regards,
James
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best, 3 Sep 2013
By 
rockdoc (Bloomington, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: These Turbulent Times: Liverpool FC's Search for Success (Paperback)
The Tomkins Times has long been THE source for insightful commentary and reasoned discourse about Liverpool Football Club. Paul Tomkins, the founder, is a wonderful writer, and he has attracted a crew of good writers to join in the conversation. Sports media are filled with those who spout "common wisdom;" the readers of the Tomkins Times are given to looking beyond platitudes and cliches. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent information, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Turbulent Times: Liverpool FC's Search for Success (Paperback)
A very interesting book full of information a Christmas present for my husband who spent CHristmas with his nose in this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 15 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Turbulent Times: Liverpool FC's Search for Success (Paperback)
This book is a series of short articles rather than one piece of writing. My initial thought was to simply read those that grabbed my attention but that was not as easy as I thought and I think I ended up reading it from cover to cover. Not only good writing but interesting thought provoking subject material. A must read for anyone who want's to have a look 'under the bonnet' at Premiership football. Though I am a Liverpool fan I would suggest this would be a good read for any football team supporter as Liverpool tends to be the example in many cases rather than the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best LFC writer bar none., 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Turbulent Times: Liverpool FC's Search for Success (Paperback)
A compilation of top articles by the author and impressive submissions by subscribers since 2009 on all things Liverpool Football Club. A must for all Liverpool supporters, i'm not going to give anything away as I suggest you just buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very turbulent times for Liverpool Football Club, 18 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. C. M. Wood (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: These Turbulent Times: Liverpool FC's Search for Success (Paperback)
Paul Tomkins, a respected and well-known writer in Liverpool F.C. circles, began writing for the club's official website in 2005. This led to the birth four years later of The Tomkins Times, a subscription-based online forum or sounding-board for discussing and dissecting the club's business on and off the field which has continued to grow and flourish. Through the whole of this period Paul has put his name to a number of football books of interest to Liverpool's legions of supporters throughout the world, perhaps most notably "Above Us Only Sky" (2007) and "Dynasty: Fifty Years of Shankly's Liverpool" (2008).

The title of this latest book is appropriate. The times about which Paul Tomkins and others write were indeed turbulent and maybe still are. Incoming owner John William Henry realised that only too well when he declared that "this club should never again run up debts that threaten its existence". I think it is important to stress "Tomkins and others" as the authors because this isn't a one-man show by any means. Paul has collected around him a group of equally-accomplished writers and so "These Turbulent Times" consists of a series of articles written over the past four years by several individuals, all of whom share an interest in and/or passion for Liverpool Football Club but who also have quite different skills and methods of disseminating their opinions.

Perhaps the multi-authorship of this book is both a strength and a weakness ? When you get used to one person's style of writing, it can be tricky to switch without a break to someone else's style a few pages later especially if the next person's forte turns out to be a myriad of facts and figures, graphs and charts that are far from easy on the eye. Yes, it is easy to praise the meticulous research that has led to the construction of graphs about, for example, FFPR (Financial Fair Play Rules) or Transfer Price Index Predictions. But readers used to what I might call `basic prose' are likely to find the statistic-related articles pretty hard going.

Perhaps struggling through those chapters made me enjoy and look forward to the `basic prose' more, something Paul Tomkins himself is most proficient at ... the sort of articles which endeared him to visitors to the club's website for a long time and which helped to make his name so prominent in football circles. Nowhere is that more obvious than in a quite wonderful article originally written in 2012 called Rushian Roulette, a stirring account of the life and times of one Ian Rush. But there is some heavy stuff mixed up with the deeds of certain iconic players like Ian Rush and John Barnes. Hillsborough survivor Chris Rowland writes beautifully and emotively in "We Were The Victims; It Wasn't Our Fault"; and on the same theme Neil Dunkin's "A Doctor At Hillsborough" reveals that the doctor in question, a Glyn Phillips from Scotland, could finally confidently say despite numerous setbacks in trying to get at the truth : "I believe that Lord Taylor did a great job in deciding what was the root cause of the disaster".

So this is very much a mixed bag of different topics and in that respect it probably has something for everyone ... the statistician, the mathematician, the analyst, the businessman, the financier and the man in the street. Few will find every single chapter/article to their taste and some chapters will definitely need more brain cells to decipher than others. Paul Tomkins was privileged to have his finger on the pulse of Liverpool Football Club during a most difficult period in the club's existence. It was a pulse that nearly stopped completely and this diverse collection of articles neatly recalls the `medicine' that was required to keep that heart beating because ... from Martin McLaughlin's chapter "Football, Finance, Liverpool and the Top Six" that "80m wasted on sacking managers and a phantom stadium" was indeed "the mess which F.S.G. found the club in when they arrived". From this book we can be reassured that the mess is slowly being sorted out. Maybe soon these turbulent times will just be a nasty memory of the big, black hole into which the club nearly disappeared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

These Turbulent Times: Liverpool FC's Search for Success
These Turbulent Times: Liverpool FC's Search for Success by Paul Tomkins (Paperback - 15 July 2013)
8.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews