Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty in Decay
A visually stunning book, full of rich inspiring images providing a really interesting insight into the ethos of urban exlorers. Most photographers probably started out by taking photos of derelict buildings and abandoned places (lets face it who hasnt got a few such images tucked away in some forgotten corner of their hard drive) but these are the images that most of us...
Published on 14 Mar 2012 by laurie

versus
39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book of HDR
I have spent a while viewing this book in my local Waterstones and at a friends who bought it, and was disapointed with the sheer amount of processing involved. There's a great set of locations there, some of which I have visited myself. It's such a shame the that atmosphere of these places is lost by tonemapping them to look like a still from a video game, especially...
Published on 1 Nov 2010 by Urbex0r


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty in Decay: Urbex: The Art of Urban Exploration (Hardcover)
Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing photographs, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty in Decay: Urbex: The Art of Urban Exploration (Hardcover)
Book arrived next day great service. Bought as a present with Beauty in Decay II but browse them before I gave them will probably put on my Christmas book list would really recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST AWESOME :-), 12 Jun 2011
This review is from: Beauty in Decay: Urbex: The Art of Urban Exploration (Hardcover)
I loved it, i have shown many people who have also loved it.
its a beautiful book that has inspired me.
Each picture is amazing in its own right but as a collection very thought provoking.
I did order the item just for the pictures but was pleasantly surprised that the written content was equally as good
I'am very pleased i bought it :-)

"TAKE ONLY PICTURES, LEAVE ONLY FOOT PRINTS"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally enter the "haunted house"?, 10 May 2011
This review is from: Beauty in Decay: Urbex: The Art of Urban Exploration (Hardcover)
This is one of those books that exerts a creepy fascination. As children, many of us experienced that fascination with the house falling apart in a pristine neighbourhood, complete with stories of dead occupants and hauntings; the desire to pluck up the courage to break into the house where the neighbourhood recluse died alone and see if the stories of it being a 1900 time warp were true...
Well, this book does just that. These people do go in, they do photograph what they see - and many of the photographs are utterly compelling.
My only quibbles are really down to personal taste - I'd prefer a layout where different places are categorised together (they are in some cases) and of course the frustration that you want to see MORE - why didn't they go down that corridor; open that door; peek in that window? But then that will always be the case with something that really grabs you.
An element I found interesting was the number of different ways the photographers "see" these places. Some are obviously a completely untouched, faithful rendering of the scene. Others choose to insert their fellow explorers, and their masked faces look as if they are alien beings from the future - which of course they often are when taken in historical context of the site itself. Others use effects, some very subtle, some creating an almost simulated effect; a real place becomes the nightmare setting of some futuristic computer game where you are the only survivor after the holocaust. Of course I have a preference, but even some of the photographs that are not to my tooth are still fascinating, because it's all about what the photographer is seeing when he sets up the initial shot.
You'll either love this, or you won't see the point. The author has inserted small essays, but hasn't fallen into the trap of pseudo post-modernism; you don't buy this kind of book for the text but it's not downright irritating. The photographs tell the stories - so, for those of you who either were too young and scared to go into the neighbourhood haunted house before it was destroyed, or for
those who did go in and have never forgotten, delve in - you'll love it.
I do have one major complaint. Why no chicken coops? Huh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master piece, 7 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty in Decay: Urbex: The Art of Urban Exploration (Hardcover)
This is a book u must buy if u like urban exploration... and even if you don't know what urban exploration is you will enjoy the amazing pictures inside
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty in Decay: Urbex: The Art of Urban Exploration (Hardcover)
Bought this as a gift to my dad who enjoys photography. Really fascinating array of locations featured and high quality print
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gr8 book, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty in Decay: Urbex: The Art of Urban Exploration (Hardcover)
Gr8 book with beautiful pics arrived quick. Good price and good quality product very helpful with my project for uni
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning..absolutely stunning!, 17 Aug 2010
This review is from: Beauty in Decay: Urbex: The Art of Urban Exploration (Hardcover)
I ordered this book having seen a feature in a national newspaper. It arrived at the weekend and I was absolutely gobsmacked by the pictures. They are atmospheric and visually stunning. If you like good photography - make sure you get a copy of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 2 Oct 2010
This review is from: Beauty in Decay: Urbex: The Art of Urban Exploration (Hardcover)
Great book.
The stunning photography and poetic text work well together. Good job there's people out there documenting this stuff. Bravo!
Bring on Vol II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty In Decay: Best Example of it's kind, 30 Sep 2010
This review is from: Beauty in Decay: Urbex: The Art of Urban Exploration (Hardcover)
This book is amazing!! It's the best example of it's kind.
It's written with passion and intelligence and the array of photographs are awe-inspiring! Each picture eerily conjures up a hundred questions or possible scenarios.
I would heartily recommend this book to any photography lover, urban explorer, researcher or adventurer!
I would love to see an exhibition of the pictures in this book in large format as im sure most of the incredible places featured are inaccessible or long gone by now.
In a nutshell: Superb, 10 out of 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beauty in Decay: Urbex: The Art of Urban Exploration
Beauty in Decay: Urbex: The Art of Urban Exploration by RomanyWG (Hardcover - 3 Aug 2010)
£16.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews