Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting gem and good read
This was not my usual reading material, but quite liked the TV series and thought it worth a look - and cheap for the Kindle edition. I was pleasantly surprised. It was a nice read and excellent value for money. I particularly liked the second part which covers all the main actors and the writer (John Sullivan) which was full of lots of interesting snippets and background...
Published 24 months ago by Carl

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for casual fan, longtime fans will have heard it all before
Let me start by saying how easy this was to order on the Kindle. I looked it up on amazon.co.uk on my laptop, clicked order, turned on the kindle and it started downloading. Whole process took only a few minutes.

Now, on to the book. This is the first review I have written (usually because what I want to say has been said by everyone else), but in this case I...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting gem and good read, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was not my usual reading material, but quite liked the TV series and thought it worth a look - and cheap for the Kindle edition. I was pleasantly surprised. It was a nice read and excellent value for money. I particularly liked the second part which covers all the main actors and the writer (John Sullivan) which was full of lots of interesting snippets and background - this really brought the characters and actors to life for me. It was also quite interesting going through the 3rd part which looked at the different series - a nice walk down memory lane, and makes me want to revisit the old videos and DVDs. Clearly Steve Clark has done a thorough job at researching the series, actors and background - and has put it all together in an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for casual fan, longtime fans will have heard it all before, 27 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let me start by saying how easy this was to order on the Kindle. I looked it up on amazon.co.uk on my laptop, clicked order, turned on the kindle and it started downloading. Whole process took only a few minutes.

Now, on to the book. This is the first review I have written (usually because what I want to say has been said by everyone else), but in this case I feel my review could be useful.

Being a long time dedicated fan of the series, I was looking forward to reading this book. While its not bad, theres nothing groundbreaking here, it almost feels like a collection of sections from other books.

The first part of the books goes in depth into the life of John Sullivan prior to Only Fools, and although somewhat interesting, theres a long time before anything OFAH related is mentioned. It feels like your reading a biography of John Sullivan rather than a book on OFAH.

The next part of the book is all about each cast member, following this format:

- A brief history of the actor, from their beginnings to working on OFAH. Again, this is interesting, but as David Jason and others have worked on many things, alot of this story isn't really linked with OFAH. In the case of Buster Merryfield it reads like a brief life story, including a story of him nearly dying in the jungle while in the army. While interesting, the more I read, the more I forgot I was reading about OFAH, it really does feel like reading a biography.
- A few sentences on the actors favourate scene or episode. Literally only a few lines of text, with little in the way of explaination.
- A list of other work by the actor.

This is the for the 'main' characters (Boycie, Marline, Del, Rodney, Grandad, Uncle Albert, Trig etc.). Some of the minor characters are given 2 or 3 lines with very little substance.

One thing that really struck me was that in the section about Tessa Peake-Jones it mentions that she met Sullivan just before 'Dates', and that was her first appearance. Although a very minor point, its well known by longtime fans that she is in the first episode (with one line). It would have been interesting to read about that, and how it went from that to Sullivan casting her much later on in the show, or how she felt about it, but no, it starts with 'Dates' and never mentions it.

After each actor has been looked at, it moves onto each series. I was really looking forward to reading this, thinking it would give detailed info about each series, possible different story lines or some other info, but it reads literally like a episode by episode guide giving a brief plot discription and very little else. This carries out for every series. Very disappointed.

After that, theres a similar section on The Green Green Grass, and then Rock and Chips (the most interesting bit of the book for me, but still nothing you won't have already known).

After that, the book ends with an episode by episode stats page, with an episode synopsis that reads like a tv listing, for example, the episode guide for the first episode is:

"Episode 1: Big Brother

After flogging one legged turkets from the back of a three wheeled va, Del is confident he's onto a winner at last with Triggers consignment of Old English vinyl briefcases. At the same time his brother Rodney is thinking of abandoning the high flying world of trading for a real job.

Cast: Joyce the barmaid (Peta Bernard), Trigger (Roger Lloyd Pack)

First Broadcast: Tuesday September 8th 1981 at 8:30pm

Viewing Figures: 9.2 million

Duration: 30 Minutes

Music: None"

So, overall this book is a good read, and at a cheap price is worth getting, but a few glaring omissions and a few errors here and there give it an overall feeling of sadly being slightly somewhat of a cash-in on John Sullivans death (and the run up to Christmas)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 27 April 2012
An informative and in depth history of Only Fools and Horses; its cast and crew and how all the major components came together to create the show we all know and love today; this is a brilliant accompaniment to a brilliant sitcom and a must have for fans of Only Fools and great British sitcoms in general. Lovely Jubbly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a must read for me as I'm a fan of OFAH (I have the previous hardcover book written by this author) but would be equally interesting to those without much knowledge of the series. It was an interesting read with lots of snippets of information about how the show came about and how it was cast.

It's clear the author has done his research with access to the key figures of the production team and cast.

Overall, a great read that I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud............, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought this on the kindle edition, and couldn't put it down until I had finished reading it. Well written and full of interesting facts and lines from the best comedy series we will ever see on TV. Not much else you can say about it, other than you will regret it if you don't buy it. So funny, and you can still laugh out loud with reading it. Nothing in the last ten years has come anywhere near as funny as this show was, and having read it you will see why...............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a great read, really interesting it is a great insight into the crew and cast. you plonker Rodney! read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting book, Learned so much from it, Did find a couple of bits repetitive and most of the interviews quoted from other sources and not personal interviews but well worth the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luvvly Jubbly !!!!, 18 Jan 2013
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses: The Official Inside Story (Paperback)
As an avid Only Fools and Horses fan I was looking forward to reading this book and learning some new facts about the Trotters . It didn't disappoint ! From stories of the casting , the crew and the irreplaceable master of comedy John Sullivan the book is a very interesting read as Steve Clarke shares his knowledge of all things 'cushty' . It takes you from the story of their creation and the very sad passing of their creator . I couldn't put it down and I didn't want it to end .... A must buy !! You know it makes sense Rodney 😉😉😉 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes u feel part of the only fools and horses family, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good read u feel like us took the journey with them.also u feel grateful that they carry on making them as they had a few setbacks but like Del boy he who dares wins.... eventually. thanks for a lovely read, bonjour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must for all OFAH fans I would have preferred it if there had have been a bit more though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabd19354)

This product

Only Fools and Horses: The Official Inside Story
Only Fools and Horses: The Official Inside Story by Steve Clark (Paperback - 30 Aug 2011)
4.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews