Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration to make your spirits soar
I got an inkling this book would be different when Dan Pearson was guest editor on Gardens Illustrated in January this year (2009). The result gave an insight into this deep thinker and the way he looks at the landscape.

I then was lucky enough to win a ticket to see him speak at the Hay Festival in May, which turned out to be a preview of this book. I've been...
Published on 7 Oct. 2009 by Wiltshire Bookworm

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for Dan Pearson fans
I'm a big fan of Dan Perason and this book is interesting as it tells you about his early life and family. Each chapter informs the reader about what he finds inspirational. The part which was missing for me is where he has incorporated these ideas into garden designs. I can admire many of the images but not see how to use them in my own garden.
Published on 11 Feb. 2010 by Sue H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration to make your spirits soar, 7 Oct. 2009
By 
Wiltshire Bookworm (Chippenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spirit: Garden Inspiration (Hardcover)
I got an inkling this book would be different when Dan Pearson was guest editor on Gardens Illustrated in January this year (2009). The result gave an insight into this deep thinker and the way he looks at the landscape.

I then was lucky enough to win a ticket to see him speak at the Hay Festival in May, which turned out to be a preview of this book. I've been eagerly awaiting its publication ever since.

It may look like a coffee table book, but it has much more depth than that. Yes, there's plenty of beautiful images, but it says much more about one of our most influential garden designers of today. For him, the creation of a garden is about finding a 'sense of place' and drawing inspiration from his travels around the world in order to do so. These are the special places that makes Dan pearson's heart sing.

This is not a manual about the mechanics of garden design. It's about looking and feeling and reading landscapes. Only by drawing on that can a designer deliver something beautiful that's right for it's context. It's something that's easy to say, but far harder to master.

Even if garden design's not your thing, this book has enough interest for both gardeners and nature lovers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, 29 Nov. 2013
Unlike any other gardening book I have come across, more of an ethos & philosophy than a practical hands on guide. An inspirational design resource with beautiful photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A special view of the world, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book and Dan Pearson capture something you could compare to "The Force" in nature. The right words just slip so elegantly off his tongue and what he says about the things that inspire him are inspiring in themselves.

It is nice to get an insight into how and where you can find your inspiration and how to interpret this in your particular design field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for Dan Pearson fans, 11 Feb. 2010
By 
Sue H "Sunshine Suzzy" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Spirit: Garden Inspiration (Hardcover)
I'm a big fan of Dan Perason and this book is interesting as it tells you about his early life and family. Each chapter informs the reader about what he finds inspirational. The part which was missing for me is where he has incorporated these ideas into garden designs. I can admire many of the images but not see how to use them in my own garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational reading, 10 Sept. 2010
By 
Sevillana (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit: Garden Inspiration (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a present for a friend who is starting a career in garden design. This book was a breath of fresh air, bringing the design process back to where it should start - inspiration. Dan Pearson is a very clever man and this book shows that. My only criticism was the font used. I think the presentation of the writing itself could have been better but the content was amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spirit: Garden Inspiration
Spirit: Garden Inspiration by Dan Pearson (Hardcover - 28 Sept. 2009)
Used & New from: £44.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews