Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from the footballing history factory, 23 Aug. 2012
By 
Dave (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Manchester - the City Years: Tracing the Story of Manchester City from the 1860s to the Modern Day (Hardcover)
Marks and Spencer do top quality food, Germans do everything efficiently and anything with 'Author: Gary James' on the cover just implies a top quality publication, and this book doesn't fail to meet the high expectations we've all come to expect from Gary.

Another superb book, quite simply a must-have on any bookshelf if you're a Man City fan, or simply interested in football history.

Thoroughly detailed as if his life depended on it, with the facts and details laid out in an easy to read manner, this book educates and entertains all in one.

In a time when books about Manchester City seem to be appearing in every bookshop shelf, you may wonder why this book should stand out above the plethora of other books and histories about Manchester City. I can only compare this book to a Willy Wonka chocolate bar sitting on a shelf surrounded by drab imitations from other chocolatiers. Whilst the Arthur Slugworths of the world are trying to imitate the master, the true genius simply churns out masterpiece after masterpiece. Indeed, you may wonder if Gary has an army of Oompa-Loompas in the background, feverishly researching on his behalf, because it is almost beyond the abilities of one single man to do this much research and be able to regurgitate it into such an easy form to read and still be amused and entertained.

The moment this book lands on your doorstep with a hefty thud (it contains half a million words, so it will indeed thud on your doormat) and you start looking through the pages within, you'll realise that this was one of the wisest purchases you will have ever made.

Take a bow Gary, and get those Oompa-Loompas started on whatever book you're going to grace us with next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 30 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Manchester - the City Years: Tracing the Story of Manchester City from the 1860s to the Modern Day (Hardcover)
I bought this book through a subscription service before it was printed,all organised by the author himself via bluemoon.

It really is an immense thorough book,there's a saying " if you're tired of London then you're tired of life" ,the same could apply to this fantastic book,if you ever get tired of reading this book you're tired of being a blue

Iv got several of Gary's previous books,all top notch,BUT this one is his best yet,a real "must have " for any blue,take my advice fellow blues,buy it before its out of print,you won't regret it.

Ctid and after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value - for collectors and readers alike, 5 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Manchester - the City Years: Tracing the Story of Manchester City from the 1860s to the Modern Day (Hardcover)
As a City fan I heard about this book through the Blue Moon forum and became a subscriber. I've had the book for a few weeks now and I love it. The attention to detail and the obvious meticulous research behind the text have produced an excellent piece of work. The book starts from the beginning and takes the reader through a journey from the clubs roots going right through to last seasons triumph - it's detailed but at the same time it's very readable (unlike a few other football reference books I could name). It's also a book that can be read from cover to cover or the reader can dip into any particular era - there's a lot of reading here. I also think the book is worth buying in hard cover because it is a book you can return to time and time again.
It's clear that for Gary James this was a labour of love but for anyone interested in football (not just MCFC) this is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for anyone serious about the club, 12 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Manchester - the City Years: Tracing the Story of Manchester City from the 1860s to the Modern Day (Hardcover)
The City Years is a worthy successor to the critically acclaimed (and sadly out of print) The Greatest City, having been significantly updated to reflect the incredible events of the last decade since the latter was first published in 2002.

It is immediately apparent just how in-depth and thorough a study the book is, weighing in at over 600 pages. The research is meticulous and exhaustive, chronicling every season in the club's history from the formation as St Mark's (West Gorton) in the late nineteenth century, through to the climactic end of the 2011/12 Premiership campaign.

The book immediately dispels the absurd notion, usually repeated ad nauseum by less educated fans of certain other clubs, that City "have no history". City, after all, were the first Mancunian club to win a major honour, lifting the F.A. Cup in 1904, four years before United's first trophy. This was 26 years before Arsenal won a major honour, and 51 years before Chelsea. I could also mention the fact that we won both the F.A. Cup and a European trophy before Liverpool managed the same feat, but hopefully you get the point.

As you would expect, all the key moments in the club's development are covered in great detail, including the name changes and moves to various stadiums, as well as scandals such as the 1906 F.A. investigation that saw practically the entire first team banned.

There are, of course, also many examples of the "typical City" tag that the club are still unable to shake off, such as winning the First Division title for the first time in 1937, only to be relegated the following season, despite scoring more goals than any other team in the division.

The book features over 100 in-depth interviews with supporters, managers, players, officials and every chairman of the club since 1972, and we get to discover the key motivating factors for Sheikh Mansour's takeover in 2008. It is also superbly illustrated, with a vast array of fascinating archive images.

Certain other recent publications about City feel like they have been rushed out in order to cash in on the club's current success, but that's certainly not an accusation that could be levelled at The City Years. The book is the result of 25 years of research, and the author's knowledge of the club and passion for it are obvious.

It is the definitive book about City, essential reading for anyone serious about the club, and is the standard by which all club histories should be judged. We are fortunate and privileged as City fans to have such a lovingly constructed account of our rich history. If you only purchase one book about the club then ensure it is this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 20 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Manchester - the City Years: Tracing the Story of Manchester City from the 1860s to the Modern Day (Hardcover)
Gary James is without a doubt City's foremost historian. The book is simply a masterpiece, meticulously researched and the author's love for the subject simply shines through.

Over 600 pages tells the history of City - yes City do have a history and as the back cover says "If anyone ever says City has 'no history' show them this book". All the major events good and bad are covered as are the countless players, administrators and even supporters who have helped to make City what they are today. Champions!

Gary can be rightly proud of his work, this is one of a number he has written on City's history and each one stands the test of time. A book fitting for the current Premier League Champions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Painstaking forensic analysis of MCFC, 30 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester - the City Years: Tracing the Story of Manchester City from the 1860s to the Modern Day (Hardcover)
This book, over 600 pages of small print, is an achievement that I have never seen equalled in any sports book I have ever read. The author has obviously got a deep love of the club and this is shown in his painstaking research and the depths into history that he has gone. The book was certainly not written in a hurry and the methodical attention to detail is apparent throughout. It is more than just a history of Manchester City FC - It is a history of the streets and people of Manchester and in particular the areas of that great city from which the League Champions grew. I cannot applaud this book enough. I am not finished reading it yet as I want to give it the same painstaking attention that the author obviously took in creating it. This account of Manchester City FC is a must this Christmas (or any time) for any fan of the blues. It is the single best sports book I have ever witnessed. Finally, for those of you that fear it may be a photographic journal of the club with small pockets of text, rest assured nothing could be further from the truth. This is 600+ pages of writing with some photos thrown in, mostly to help the reader recognise a place or a face. I give this 1 million and one out of one thousand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE definitive book on Manchester City FC, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester - the City Years: Tracing the Story of Manchester City from the 1860s to the Modern Day (Hardcover)
If you only own one book on Manchester City FC I would recommend this one because it is cram packed with so much detail and insight it'll blow you away. SUPERB! Here is a link to an online review.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hit the jackpot again, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester - the City Years: Tracing the Story of Manchester City from the 1860s to the Modern Day (Hardcover)
Gary James' research is beyond fantastic, he fully deserves all the accolades that come his way. Once again he has come up with a fantastic book about the greatest club of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History in your hands, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester - the City Years: Tracing the Story of Manchester City from the 1860s to the Modern Day (Hardcover)
My farther in law uncle used to play for man city in the 40's and you can never find anything about him in the books, but you could this one, my dad in law was so happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Manchester - the City Years: Tracing the Story of Manchester City from the 1860s to the Modern Day (Hardcover)
Gary James has done it again. Comprehensive account of everything man city. Very readable and enjoyable. Highly recommended, you won't be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews