Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2010
Not a book for the faint hearted as the recipes are very complex but you can complete the dishes given time and patience, this book is a work of art and shows the chefs love of food and eye for detail.
I use this book as a teaching aid for future chefs and they have completed various dished to a very high standard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2010
at last a book for chefs not masterchef wannabes and posh house wives. good craftskills tips and skills well worth the investment if your in the trade.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Nice pictures and recipes by another egomaniac chef
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2008
Pure unadulterated "Gastro-Porn"!

A book to inspire, subtle combinations of flavours and textures, the beautiful presentation and stunning photography make this one of the most beautiful cook books I own. As a keen amateur there are many inspiration and ideas I can draw from the book but without a small army of chefs and the backup of a professional kitchen I would not expect to be able to exactly reproduce many of them at home. Rather this book gives ideas, presentations, flavour combinations and every single turn of the page reveals another stunning photograph each one making my mouth water as I imagine the aromas rising from the page. It is both a coffee table book of beautiful photography and a reference book of some 233 "basic" recipes used to build the dishes shown.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2008
There are not enough superlatives to do this fantastic book justice. When reading the book for the first time, you're amazed by not only the incredible recipes but also the fantastic photography that helps differentiate this book from any other recipe book I have seen to date. This book sits equally well on the coffee table as it does the kitchen worktop. Well done Alan & Mark.... excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2008
This is the most amazing cook book that I have ever read with the most amazing photography, showing what fantastic presentation looks like. I want to eat at Alan's restaurant again as soon as possible as the delicious dishes jump off the page and defnately say eat me.
I think what Alan has created is a truly aspirational book which all serious cooks should have as a very high bar to aim for.
I am looking forward to more books from the truly wonderful chef and author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2008
Alan Murchison's amazing recipes are photographed so beautifully I can imagine the flavours and aromas just by looking at the stunning images.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2008
great book but i would recommend buying it from donald russel butchers different cover but £35 including delivery great book if you liked essence
by david everitt matthias then you will love it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2008
just recieved this book.let me get the bad points out of the way first.the copy i recieved was not in the best condition(considering this has a price tag of fifty quid).the corners are out of shape and the inside of the back page is not in line with the hard cover so the book dosent close correctly.that said,the content is fantastic,a real work of art that pro chefs will really enjoy.i plan to steal ideas at once thanks alan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£20.40
£26.95

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)