Customer Reviews


10 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite authors..., 7 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: Bridge: What Should Have Happened (Hardcover)
Andrew Robson is a superb author and teacher of the game and this book is no exception to his very high standards. Hundreds of easy to follow examples are given to demonstrate all aspects of the modern game, starting with standard Acol bidding theory, and leading through to declarer play and strategies for the defence. The book is aimed at players at all levels of the game. The prose is easy enough for a beginner to follow and fully understand, an intermediate to refresh the basics and learn some of the more advanced parts of the game whilst an advanced player will be able to fill in some forgotten gaps, learn a few new tricks and keep abreast of the modern bidding style. My only criticism surrounds his unwillingness to clarify for beginners which style of "reverse" to use. The classical reverse, shows a hand with 16+ high card points, whereas, Andrew supports a modern style unlimited hand of 12+ points. Unfortunately, the style adopted (out of these two approaches) affects many other parts of the system, so the book would be difficult to use as the basis for a beginners teaching course. There are just too many holes left for the novice player to fill in for themselves, such that two players could read the same book but not end up playing the same system. Andrew also favours the modern style of opening 1NT with 12-14 pts and ANY 5332 shape - he may have even invented this advance in the game. He does this in a jigsaw like fit with the unlimited reverse, with the resulting advantage, that any opener who rebids their original suit must have 6 cards in the suit, thus making it easier to find those tricky to find 6-2, 8 card trump fits. I think it is now time for Andrew to come clean and once and for all define the reverse as unlimited and tell us how to cope with or avoid getting one level too high at the 3 level in match point pairs, and how he finds 5-3 major fits after opening ANY 5332 12-14 pt hand with 1NT. Thanks Andrew for another excellent book - though there are a few loose ends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Guru Speaks Again!, 6 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Bridge: What Should Have Happened (Hardcover)
All that one would expect. Clear examples given in order with concise tips to remember. An essential learning guide to Bridge for club as well as social players.
Don't hesitate, do as AR says and make those elusive tops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taking Bridge one step further, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge: What Should Have Happened (Hardcover)
If you think you're OK with the basics then this book is for you. Each page is complete in itself so when you have 5 minutes you can learn something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for intermediates, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge: What Should Have Happened (Hardcover)
Bought with The Times 'Common Mistakes and How to avoid them.' My bridge partner purchased it first so I decided to keep up. Thank goodness I did. Clearly explains ideas not taught in lessons - I'll be reading it time and time again. So easy to understand with clear declarer play to make contracts. Brilliant. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic book from Andrew Robson, 29 Mar. 2014
By 
P. D. Bond (Dereham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge: What Should Have Happened (Hardcover)
Everything from this author is 1st class. The book is superb. Brilliantly written and with excellent presentation of material. Cannot fault it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge: What Should Have Happened (Hardcover)
An excellent book, too clever for me! Arrived on time and in good condition, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for improvers, 21 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Bridge: What Should Have Happened (Hardcover)
Excellent book. I have given this to some of my pupils who also think it is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guidance made easy, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge: What Should Have Happened (Hardcover)
A quick and easy way to have good guidance on so many potential problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read a little - learn a lot, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge: What Should Have Happened (Hardcover)
Andrew Robson makes bridge easier to understand. I will never say that I have learnt how to play bridge - I will always be learner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Mar. 2015
By 
J. HILL (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge: What Should Have Happened (Hardcover)
should be good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bridge: What Should Have Happened
Bridge: What Should Have Happened by Andrew Robson (Hardcover - Jun. 2009)
Used & New from: £6.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews