Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read It in One Go
I am not normally sufficiently gripped by a book to read it in one go. The last book I just couldn't put down was 'First Into Action' by Duncan Falconer. And Bad Company now joins this rather exclusive club. The author recounts the incident which gave rise to her fame as the first British female soldier to engage and kill a Taliban fighter. But she doesn't dwell on it...
Published on 7 Feb 2012 by ECF

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars combat medic
It was an ok read, I accept Ms Taylor had a hard time in Afgan and that she did a very good job , however " I " found the book a little flat ,but that is just my opinion .
Published 10 months ago by Mr. C. G. Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read It in One Go, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Bad Company: Face to Face with the Taliban (Paperback)
I am not normally sufficiently gripped by a book to read it in one go. The last book I just couldn't put down was 'First Into Action' by Duncan Falconer. And Bad Company now joins this rather exclusive club. The author recounts the incident which gave rise to her fame as the first British female soldier to engage and kill a Taliban fighter. But she doesn't dwell on it and instead tells the story of Bravo Company during its 7 week extended stay at an isolated outpost in Helmand Province, Afghanistan. At times sad, at times funny, the story really brings home to the reader what it is like to live in the utterly austere conditions of a forward operating base, facing the very real risk of death, day in, day out. It is also a very fine tribute to the often unsung work of the frontline combat medics and should be required reading for any young man or woman embarking on a career in the Medical Corps. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Mar 2012
This review is from: Bad Company: Face to Face with the Taliban (Paperback)
This book is a truely awe-inspiring account of a SNCO and Medical Section, under fire and in constant danger!

Most civilians have no idea what our troops actually do. This book gives a realtime account of the daily struggle of battle and conditions that our troops have to put up with, having minimal equipment and support to hand. Getting into the head of a female sergeant, in a predominantly male environment. Its witty, funny, tragic and sad.

One of the best written books of modern warfare. You will not be dissapointed, and I assure you will be unable to put this book down! Im looking forward to the next installment from this writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding read!, 22 Feb 2012
This review is from: Bad Company: Face to Face with the Taliban (Paperback)
The author, a Sgt in the Royal Army Medical Corps, spent 2 tours in Afghanistan one tour with the para's in 2006 and a tour attached to the 5 Royal Regiment of Scotland(Argyle and Sutherland Highlanders) From start to finish this is a gripping read of her time with 5 RRS. There are no false heroics, no contrived melodrama, this is front line soldering of the very highest order. Sgt Taylor commanded a medical section attached to B Company of 5 RRS and her description of life in a front line base surrounded by a ruthless and active enemy is compelling. She describes every day life for the modern front line British soldier, of whatever gender!, and it is all the more telling because of her matter of fact style of writing.

She descibes the highs(few) and lows(many) of her time attached to B company. The good times and the bad, the reaction to casualties, of whatever nationality, and the way in which they are treated.What shines throughout the book is the character and humour of the British soldier in adversity. Oh that our politicians could read this book and ask themselves, 'What do the British Forces do to make such men and women as these, that the rest of society cannot seem able to do'

As an ex soldier I could identify with many of the tales that she tells. Sgt Taylor is a highly proficient and profesional SNCO and stands her place well in the line up of the British Army's backbone, the SNCO's. I have read most of the books about Afghanistan and this one really stands out as being in a class of its own. A highly recommended read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT READ!, 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: Bad Company: Face to Face with the Taliban (Paperback)
Just this minute finished it with tears in my eyes. What a brilliant read, started last night and couldn't put it down till I fell asleep. Sat down a couple of hours ago and read the rest straight through. Have never done that before. Brilliant writing, great structure, amusing, enlightening, thrilling, eye-opening and extremely touching.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: Bad Company: Face to Face with the Taliban (Paperback)
Excellent book, makes you feel truly humble when you realise what these young men and women are going through, every day if they are in a forward base. Also reinforces ones opinion of our pathetic, duplicitous politicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story about good Friends. Crap editing mind..., 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Company: Face to Face with the Taliban (Paperback)
I served with Channy in 19 SQN from 06 to 09; I was on this tour with her but in a different part of the province. What really strikes me is the lack of bravado; it is a very genuine story which sounds like she is telling it. I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to read about life in Helmand, and just how basic living can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About Time, 29 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Company: Face to Face with the Taliban (Paperback)
Was great to finally read a book with the insight from a female soldier. I am not a massive book worm but I couldnt put it down I wanted to find out more. So many parts I could relate too from her story from her back ground and also the bonds you form in the military. Thanks Mate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Company, 17 April 2012
By 
R. Robertson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Company: Face to Face with the Taliban (Paperback)
Very enjoyable and informative book, which I enjoyed very much. gave a great insight in to what is going on and the dangers faced by the Armed Forces.I would reccommend this to everyone who cares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, 28 Nov 2012
By 
bookbug (Nr Corby, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Company: Face to Face with the Taliban (Paperback)
This tale is enlightening in every way.Modern warfare seen through the eyes of a female medical sergeant. It concentrates on the close knit world of a forward base in Afghanistan and gives a flavour of what conditions are like there. Much has been said in previous reviews that I agree with. In have two reservations. Sadly, sergeant Chantelle has now left the Army - what a loss! Secondly the proof reading by the production of this book caused me some problems where errors and omissions resulted in confusion. They could have done better in support of such a worthwhile person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B-R, 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: Bad Company: Face to Face with the Taliban (Paperback)
Only 5 stars will do for this outstanding book. Well written and a fantastic read, what an amazing lady. This book is a must read. It is refreshing for a woman to write such a book. One word ENJOY !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Company: Face to Face with the Taliban
Bad Company: Face to Face with the Taliban by DRA Books (Paperback - 17 Nov 2011)
Used & New from: £0.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews