Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An early classic of an ancient tradition.
Many seminal books of occultism include 'The Mystical Qabalah' in their recommended reading list. It gives a basic, but beautiful account. Highly recommended for beginners it has most of the traditional RHP (Right Hand Path) correspondences such as the angels, Hebrew God names and colour schemes. Unfortunately the paths are only explained in a very basic way: their...
Published on 13 May 2001 by adam@new-tech.fsnet.co.uk

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, terrible edition
This is a wonderful classic of hermetic qabalah, a must for anyone interested in magick. Dion Fortune was a great mystical and magickal writer and teacher, inspiring to this day. But this edition, published by the Fraternity Sanctum Regnum (FSR), is execrable, filled with typos and poor editing generally, with tiny characters. The only thing it's good for is scribbling...
Published on 21 Jan 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An early classic of an ancient tradition., 13 May 2001
By 
adam@new-tech.fsnet.co.uk (The Wescountry, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mystical Qabalah (Paperback)
Many seminal books of occultism include 'The Mystical Qabalah' in their recommended reading list. It gives a basic, but beautiful account. Highly recommended for beginners it has most of the traditional RHP (Right Hand Path) correspondences such as the angels, Hebrew God names and colour schemes. Unfortunately the paths are only explained in a very basic way: their order! This is certainly not due to any lack of professionalism on Fortune's part but because at the time when 'The Mystical Qabalah' was published the occult fraternity were unsure how much the public should be allowed to know. You will now understand the unswerving discretion Dion Fortune exercised. In my opinion it is her best book but that is no doubt resulting from my intellectual lop sidedness regarding Qabalah. In a few decades it will be recognised as an enduring classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, terrible edition, 21 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystical Qabalah (Perfect Paperback)
This is a wonderful classic of hermetic qabalah, a must for anyone interested in magick. Dion Fortune was a great mystical and magickal writer and teacher, inspiring to this day. But this edition, published by the Fraternity Sanctum Regnum (FSR), is execrable, filled with typos and poor editing generally, with tiny characters. The only thing it's good for is scribbling notes all over the margins, which Dion Fortune's thoughts certainly inspire me to do. My advice - get a decent edition of this book, although if this is all you can find (as was my case at the time), then better a poor edition than having to do without the book altogether.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating overview of the practical Qabalah system, 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mystical Qabalah (Paperback)
This book doesn't 'teach' you magic. Instead it offers the basis of a framework that can support every magical system you could find. Fortune's writing is dry at times but pithy. She is less 'politically correct' than might be found desirable particularly with regards to her notions of racial karma. In this case I think that she is dragging in the cultural mores of the 1930's rather than a qabalistic philosophy, but maybe not. Other than that, the book is awesome... it offers information and opportunities for understanding in equal measure... progressing round and around in a spiral of realisation. There are lots of other books on qabalah but this one is a beginner's classic and is worth reading for that alone. Her novels expound the ideas in this book so this is pretty much essential reading for anyone reading Fortune's fiction. The book deals primarily with the Tree of Life and moves on towards the end to deal with approaches to working with the Tree. I found that I had to read the book very slowly and make notes. The paragraphs are numbered and Fortune has a style of logical progression that I became adjusted to the more I read. I found it to be very worthwhile reading time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book for the non-beginner, 23 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mystical Qabalah (Paperback)
I found this book very helpful in the detailed descriptions of the spheres. It is too bad that the further book she planned with the information of the paths was never written, or at least published. In addition to the correspondences, there are very good comparisons the other spheres, and many examples which make the difficult concepts a bit easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystical Qabalah by Dion Fortune, 6 Mar 2011
This review is from: Mystical Qabalah (Paperback)
The Mystical Qabalah by Dion Fortune,
Really enjoying this book.It is a very practical, and theory based book, with a lot of condensed knowlege. Gives you a really good insite to learning to understand the Mysteries, and that of the Tree of life.
Gives an excellant foundation to be able to understand and study the Tree of life, and the Qabalah.
This is one many must read books from Dion Fortune, that once you start reading you will not want to stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to the Qabalah, 16 Oct 2007
By 
Juan Korkie (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mystical Qabalah (Paperback)
This is one of the first books I read on the qabalah, and one that I have returned to on more than one occasion. The book provides a brief introduction to the qabalah as the "Yoga of the west" and gives an overview of its origin. The remainder focusses on the ten sephiroth of the Tree of Life, and introduces the various associations in terms of the god names, images, numbers, symbols and meanings. It is an excellent starting point for contemplating the tree and understanding how the different sephiroth are connected, yet it is done in way that encourages flexible thinking. Fortune also introduces qliphoth which is very useful. The 32 paths are mentioned, but for a more detailed discussion of these there are other texts available. I recommend this book as an excellent introduction to the Tree of Life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Introduction to the Mystical Qabalah - A Review by Barry Van-Asten, 29 April 2012
By 
Mr. B. P. Van-asten (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First published in 1974, this little guide (only 63 pages) is part of the Aquarian Press `Paths to Inner Power' series of practical handbooks on the principles behind occult theory and practice. The book discusses abstract philosophical ideas and symbols concerning the Qabalah or the Tree of Life; its application in magic and its relevance to various spiritual forces. It is of particular interest to those wishing to create telesmatic images and for solo ritual work. Also included is `the Middle Pillar' and the `Banishing and Invoking Ritual'.
This is a basic guide for beginners and a stepping stone for those approaching the more advanced realms of the occult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic I still use almost daily., 27 Dec 2010
By 
Bokhara (Oklahoma City, OK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mystical Qabalah (Paperback)
Back in the 60's this was the first book I bought on QBL. Later I also bought Gareth Knight's two volume book as a companion. These many years later I still refer to these two books every week. When would be apprentices approach I tell them they need these two books as the stable foundation stones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mystical Qabalah (Paperback)
Great for reference but also, even re-reading a part I've read, I discover more in it. Often use in conjunction with other books on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great book ruined be the need for a good copy editor, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Anjelen (Aberdeen Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystical Qabalah (Paperback)
Having read this book before in my teenage years and being thoroughly impressed with Dion Fortune's lucid exposition of a rather complex cosmology / psychology I was absolutely appalled at what a disservice was done to this wonderful text by such sloppy editing (if there was any editorial process happening at all) in this edition. All I can say is shame, shame, shame. Perhaps the copyright could be given to Dion Fortune's own Society of the Inner Light. I am sure that they would do the text justice and truly honor the spirit of their founder by handling her most famous text in the respectful manner that it truly deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mystical Qabalah
The Mystical Qabalah by Dion Fortune (Perfect Paperback - 14 May 2008)
Used & New from: 4.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews