Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Thing
A few years back I wrote a novel called Early One Morning, based on the true story of a group of Grand Prix drivers who joined Special Operations Executive during WW2. At the time people asked me why I didn't just write a non-fiction book. Joe Saward's book is the answer. This is the work I couldn't have written and I am glad I didn't try (I'll stick to novels). Saward...
Published on 17 Feb 2007 by R T Ryan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid research with lot of information
Fascinating story, clearly narrated. However the great amount of details shown (it's not fiction, it's a solid research book) may be intimidating to anyone but the hardcore history buff.
Published on 8 Mar 2010 by Alessio Bragadini


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Thing, 17 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: The Grand Prix Saboteurs: The Grand Prix Drivers Who Became British Secret Agents During World War II (Paperback)
A few years back I wrote a novel called Early One Morning, based on the true story of a group of Grand Prix drivers who joined Special Operations Executive during WW2. At the time people asked me why I didn't just write a non-fiction book. Joe Saward's book is the answer. This is the work I couldn't have written and I am glad I didn't try (I'll stick to novels). Saward (whom I have never met or spoken to) has combined his formidable knowledge of GP racing together with a vast quantity of meticulous research and managed, with enviable deftness, to produce a thrilling and heartbreaking story. Anyone interested in the fascinating legend of the racing driver spies Benoist and Williams and Wimille, and in SOE in general, should buy this book. I take my peaked cap off to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'classic', 30 Jan 2007
This review is from: The Grand Prix Saboteurs: The Grand Prix Drivers Who Became British Secret Agents During World War II (Paperback)
The Grand Prix Saboteurs is a detailed, intricate story about the secret world of motor racing.

Despite its length, I was surprised at how easily the story flowed and how Joe Saward managed to combine so many different elements into a coherent whole.

A 'classic' in every sense of the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for 20th Century History and Motor Racing Fans, 16 Mar 2007
By 
Liz (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Grand Prix Saboteurs: The Grand Prix Drivers Who Became British Secret Agents During World War II (Paperback)
I first heard of the "characters" of this book in the mid 70's when I first started getting interested and going to GP races including Monaca won by Williams, and the Le Mans 24 Heures, where grandstands were named after Benoist and Wimille. A few weeks ago I found Robert Ryan's novel on the subject and was gripped and intrigued. Then I read about Joe Saward's book in the Telegraph and thought I'd better order it. Absolutely fascinating - I learned a lot about the French Resistance that I'd not previously known - or cared about - before. I'm glad I read these books this way round as fiction is always an easier read and whets the appetite for the sometimes unpalatable truth. The only trouble is, one of my favourite TV programmes, Hallo Hallo, is no longer funny ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story - shame about the lack of proof-reading, 24 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Grand Prix Saboteurs: The Grand Prix Drivers Who Became British Secret Agents During World War II (Paperback)
A great and fascinating story - it's just a shame that nobody bothered to proof-read it before going to print.
Errors such as duplicated, missing or incorrect words appear with frustrating frequency.
With such a detailed account of the complexities of war-time undercover operations, these errors are an unwanted and unnecessary diversion.

The good news is that a second edition has been released apparently correcting the printing errors and adding even more to the story.
Make sure you get the second edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Impressive, 19 July 2007
By 
John Richard "camban99" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grand Prix Saboteurs: The Grand Prix Drivers Who Became British Secret Agents During World War II (Paperback)
Representing eighteen years of thorough research which could not be verified until 2003 when certain war time documents were declassified, this is a fascinating piece of work and a glimpse into another murky backdrop of WW2. Saward is actually a professional motor racing journalist and author, his prose really comes to life when the story allows him back into his area of considerable expertise but he does a fine job of unpicking the strands of people and events which weave into this amazing account of intrigue in the face of oppression. There is a fictional version of this story, 'Early One Morning' by Robert Ryan which is a superb read in itself, all the more so because it is largely faithful to the facts uncovered by Saward though there is no acknowledgement of joint research, Ryan recommends Saward's book in his bibliography at the end of his novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rivetting read, 12 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Grand Prix Saboteurs: The Grand Prix Drivers Who Became British Secret Agents During World War II (Paperback)
A rivetting read backed with exhaustive and revealing research into the incredible lives of the early Grand Prix drivers in France who became resistance heroes in WW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars terrific SOE information, 20 Mar 2008
By 
reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Grand Prix Saboteurs: The Grand Prix Drivers Who Became British Secret Agents During World War II (Paperback)
I am not a huge fan of motor racing, but despite this I enjoyed the first chapters of the book which is mostly about the early lives and racing careers of the saboteurs. The author really brings the people to life and makes the reader care about them.
Once he starts writing about their SOE activities the book comes to life. He must have done an enormous amount of research, because, despite reading many, many books on the SOE, I found a lot of new information.
Excellently researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great story, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grand Prix Saboteurs: The Grand Prix Drivers Who Became British Secret Agents During World War II (Paperback)
I can recommend this item to every Formula one fan. Great story, well written. I would have wellcomed a bit more pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grand Prix Saboteurs: The Grand Prix Drivers Who Became British Secret Agents During World War II (Paperback)
Hugely interesting, either from the point of view of a Grand Prix enthusiast or as someone interested in the war this book gives a real sense of the people that were hugely motivated to make a difference, living life to the full.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grand Prix agents, 12 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Srp Young - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Grand Prix Saboteurs: The Grand Prix Drivers Who Became British Secret Agents During World War II (Paperback)
The author freely admits this work has taken many years to research and the staggering detail of not only early 20th century motor racing but the clandestine world of espionage in Paris and France bears this out a truly fascinating book that will work not only for fans of motor racing from the classic era also fans of a ripping wartime yarn will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa493ea0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews