Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An equal blend of ingredients - informative, amusing preaching and crass. 80 JM points
You know you are dealing with a particular type of author when the inside page of the book jacket describes himself in the third person as a 'legend' and even more out there ' a colossus' ;not sure how tongue in cheek this is supposed to be. There is without doubt a large ego at play, underpinned by an equal mix of evangelism and soap boxing; the rant about caramel being...
Published 8 months ago by M. Mckeown

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mushed be some mistake Ed
An interesting collection of opinions, although rather heavy on esoterica that you and I will never see in a shop. I would have appreciated a bit more information about the distilleries and the main expressions that can actually be bought in shops. The opinions are his own, so no one can complain of an absence of modesty (in my humble opinion). However the book is either...
Published 7 months ago by Neil Carmichael


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars love whisky, love this book, 20 Jan 2014
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
I wish I could be Mr Murray...........there are so many whiskies but only one Taster. Excellent work. "Keeping the faith."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The must have Whisky Bible, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
I bought this book as a gift for a friend who enjoys sampling many different Whiskeys.
He was thrilled with this book and has had an enormous amount of pleasure reading the
information within and testing the recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ``Consumer`s guide to whisky``, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. I. B. G. Hackman (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
This is like buying a desk diary every year- if you are enthusiastic about whisky knowledge,-rather than simply getting legless, then Jim Murray`s publication is rather like a `Which` review.... it is always worth keeping up to date.While tastes differ and one may not always agree entirely with his opinions, he provides a superb standard for comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Extra Christmas Gift For A Whisky Fan, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
Spotted this little book and thought it a perfect Christmas gift for my Dad as he is a huge whisky fan. On opening he then proceeded to read it all afternoon so it must have been good !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift for a spirit connoisseur, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
This was well worth the price and wait! My fiance has already started picking out our next purchase for the liquor cabinet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Needs resizing, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
As usual Jim Murray's Bible has a wealth of information. I do however think that we may need to reconsider the size because the writing was impossibly small due to the amount of information. Something to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Received as gift, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
Doesnt take long to know how to read this book but very helpful in choosing weather or not to buy what can be a very expensive item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential annual purchase, 11 Jan 2014
By 
J. B. Stewart "Bruce Stewart" (West Lothian) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
This is now the fourth year that I have bought this annual publication as a Christmas treat to myself. It is really invaluable to the dedicated whisky lover as a guide to the current and most recent whisky releases available in retail outlets particularly as it is produced in a handy pocket sized format. However if I have a criticism of this latest edition it is in the coverage of the most recently released batches of Aberlour a'Bunadh. The 2013 edition covered selected releases up to Batch No. 41. Over the past year I have purchased a bottle each of the more recent Batch Nos. 42 and 45 I was looking forward to reading Jim Murray's expert assessment of them. Unfortunately the 2014 edition still only goes up to Batch No. 41. Maybe he hasn't tasted the latest releases and I will have to wait until the next edition to see if his views accord with my own of these particular whiskies. Slange var!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good manuel, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
Gave as a present; recipient delighted with it. Gave it because the recipient is knowledgeable about whisky and he is finding it very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended companion for the whisky lover, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
Updated version from 2013. Quite a few new entries but perhaps not as many as in previous years editions? Still a good buy and well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014
Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 by Jim Murray (Paperback - 7 Oct 2013)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews