Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An equal blend of ingredients - informative, amusing preaching and crass. 80 JM points
You know you are dealing with a particular type of author when the inside page of the book jacket describes himself in the third person as a 'legend' and even more out there ' a colossus' ;not sure how tongue in cheek this is supposed to be. There is without doubt a large ego at play, underpinned by an equal mix of evangelism and soap boxing; the rant about caramel being...
Published 3 months ago by M. Mckeown

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mushed be some mistake Ed
An interesting collection of opinions, although rather heavy on esoterica that you and I will never see in a shop. I would have appreciated a bit more information about the distilleries and the main expressions that can actually be bought in shops. The opinions are his own, so no one can complain of an absence of modesty (in my humble opinion). However the book is either...
Published 2 months ago by Neil Carmichael


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mushed be some mistake Ed, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
An interesting collection of opinions, although rather heavy on esoterica that you and I will never see in a shop. I would have appreciated a bit more information about the distilleries and the main expressions that can actually be bought in shops. The opinions are his own, so no one can complain of an absence of modesty (in my humble opinion). However the book is either not edited, or was edited by someone after drinking a lot of whisky. The spelling and other mistakes are so glaring you get quite distracted. I suspect a lot of what has found its way into the notes was transcribed directly from the napkins it was written on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An equal blend of ingredients - informative, amusing preaching and crass. 80 JM points, 28 Dec 2013
By 
M. Mckeown "Squelcher" (Anywhere but here) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
You know you are dealing with a particular type of author when the inside page of the book jacket describes himself in the third person as a 'legend' and even more out there ' a colossus' ;not sure how tongue in cheek this is supposed to be. There is without doubt a large ego at play, underpinned by an equal mix of evangelism and soap boxing; the rant about caramel being a good example. If it shakes up the market for the greater good them so be it, but subtly is not being tendered in this tome.

Overall I think the reviews are very informative and one can form a very accurate picture in the mind of the whisky in question. I admire the forthright straight talking reviews and one can see from the get go that Mr Murray is not a shilly-shallier when it comes to speaking his mind and certainly is not going to pander to his arch nemesis the brand ambassador.

If you want opinionated you have come to the right place. His description of the Ardbeg Corryvreckan has inspired me to pick up a bottle in the very near future even though when I had a glass at Boisdale in London a few weeks ago I was underwhelmed; that Ladies & gentlemen is the power of the pen. One final point without sounding prudish. Is it really necessary to describe a whisky as 'the stuff of the most rampant hard-ons' ? Not sure which British national newspaper Wee Jimmy was a journalist for but with a potty mouth like that methinks it must be the gutter press. Being serious Jim, is that the best you can do for the Ardbeg Rollercoaster? 'Like making love to a beautiful woman' is a shade more adroit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Humble he ain't..., 13 Jan 2014
By 
S. R. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
It's a handy little book to keep in the pocket for sure. However, I find Jim Murray hard to like: humble he is not. And. I don't. Personally. Like. His writing style. Clunky, bombastic, didactic and pretentious at times. I also think his scores are a bit of a waste of time, it seems almost all the whiskies get between 80 and 95 points. They can't ALL be that good surely? I think the lowest score he gives is still about 60.

I don't think he's funny either - not in the way that Ian Buxton is funny. He tries though, with several crass and tasteless 'jokes', most notably: 'Virgin bourbon 15 years old - the kind of bourbon you want to be left in a room with'. Seriously...?

There are also some woeful typos: 'Achilles heal' (!) and even worse 'loan voice'... So, Jim Murray 2014 is an ok pocket reference book but not something I would recommend. He may think he's a great whisky writer and guru, but in my book he's nowhere near as good as the real heavyweights such as Charles Maclean, Michael Jackson, Dave Broom and Ian Buxton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The authority on all things 'whisky', 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
Jim's annual update is now a fixture on my shopping list. The continuing perception and humour of the author after tasing and re-tasting so much whisky, leaves me breathless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Whisky Bible, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
This was a present for the son-in-law of a friend of mine, and although it is very informative, the print size is so very small, which makes it difficult to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sponsor a Jolly, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Val G "Val G" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my husband, to replace a decade old Michael Jackson title, which is obviously now quite out of date. I prefer the style of the Jackson book, descriptions more entertaining, enlightening and less ascerbic. This book is filled with whiskies that you cannot find in a shop and exotic variations on same. For example, I purchased a standard 14 year old Clynelish and it is not listed - only exotic variations and editions are listed. Not very helpful.

I cannot believe that Murray finds so many flavours in a single dram - my hunch is that he doesn't, but likes to bluster on for it's own sake. After all, if one claims to be an expert, one has to appear to know/detect more than a mere mortal would. I also cannot believe that people buy this book every year - the whisky world cannot change that much in 12 months, and it must involve poring over Murray's every word to discover the changes anyway. Oh well, at least the royalties afforded by such fatuous loyalty allow the author to continue on his boozy circumnavigation of the whisky world.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Drivel, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
I returned it, it absolute drivel. I think his taste buds must have dried up years ago. Think he better stick with the Bells! i guess he only writes this book to blag free whisky samples..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Years of Help!!, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
All whiskies both young and not so young covered and the way to sample and enjoy them. Jim Murray's guide is excellent but do remember these are his thoughts so don't be put off by his not so good comments. I cannot recommend this book enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Whisky Bible, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
If its not in this book then I have not heard of it, I will never get to try all of these but it will be great fun trying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love whisky, love this book, 20 Jan 2014
This review is from: Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 (Paperback)
I wish I could be Mr Murray...........there are so many whiskies but only one Taster. Excellent work. "Keeping the faith."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbab55c48)

This product

Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014
Jim Murray's Whisky Bible 2014 by Jim Murray (Paperback - 7 Oct 2013)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews