Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars7
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2006
I am not a teenager but as I have an interest in anorexia I decided to read this book.

It follows three years of Jasmine's life (as EDd people know, an ED does not come and go in a short period of time). She faces emotional bullying and as a result struggles to deal with life. She then falls into the trap of anorexia without really realising or understanding it.

There are some stunning scenes that had me at the edge of my seat unable to put the book down. It becomes apparent at the end of the novel what `the echo glass' actually stands for (there are various suggestions throughout which makes you think you've worked it out earlier but the real meaning comes later). Once Jasmine understands what the Echo Glass is the way is made clear for a possible step towards recovery. The book realistically deals with an eating disorder and as a result does not have the cliched `happy ending,' (as many are aware these certainly don't occur over night!) The hint of optimism and a possible way forward are apparent but we are never sure if Jasmine takes this route or not (though the ending is far from depressing as we feel Jasmine has a new understanding). What we do know is that she has learnt what it is inside her and that she has the support of true friends.

The book is not only realistic in its dealings with eating disorders and bullying but it gives insight into the way that EDd people think. The imagery throughout gives depth. It also deals with therapy in an interesting and thought-provoking way.

All in all I would recommend this book.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
I read this book within a week. I couldn't put it down. I felt transported back to my youth which was 20 years ago as it is written from a teenagers perspective. It explores the ups and downs of teenage life and how emotional trauma can lead to anorexia, affording the reader to better understand people with this condition and how it can be helped and not automatically misjudged.. Throughout the book you are constantly engaged with the characters. A good fictional but realistic book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2006
I like the unselfconscious flow and pace the author has carefully constructed to help support the story in this book. It reminds me of my own school life - even though that was more than 20 years ago now. It makes the whole book feel familiar and easy to read. It captures something of the momentum of school life - which keeps moving gently but ceaselessly on, whatever else may be happening in one's life. Life at school is about being thrown together with many individuals: some of whom one will inevitably never like.

The story of Jasmine is cleverly told by splicing journal entries that reveal some of the internal, personal conversations that we all have with first person narrative that take the reader through the daily experiences that build her life at home and at school.

It carefully depicts Jasmine's thoughts and experiences that lead towards her development of anorexia and tells the story from her perspective and her understanding. This is not the text of an outsider looking in. It is clearly written by someone who has a good understanding of what events and temperament may cause the symptoms of anorexia and as such should be considered a truly helpful read to anyone who is involved with the condition - both young and old - who are trying to understand it.

As a parent, I was touched at the scene where Morrall describes the events that lead Jas to consider taking pills in an attempt at suicide. One realises the strength of bond between parent and child, the huge emotions at play in teenagehood and also the very thin line between trying to do the right thing - trying to help - and the possibilities of getting parenting decisions horribly wrong and just making things worse. The whole scene left me feeling more than a little emotional at just how complex anorexia and its resolution may be.

It is appropriate that this book is written by a young author, not a much older person trying to portray teenage life. This perspective of understanding reveals much to its' potential audience. It is a credit to Morrall that she has been able to achieve this at such a young age. Ultimately though, this book is not just about understanding: it is about hope. The growing inclusion of Jasmine's interaction with a therapist is cleverly developed to produce a new, fresh and intriguing perspective.

There are about half a dozen occasions in the book where Morrall's writing relaxes somewhat from the structure that works so well to convey the momentum of school life. Perhaps she becomes more confident too - but it is clear to see from these small sections that she has both the creative ideas and the intellectual depth that promise some interesting and powerful writing in the future.

I am glad to have read this story and will follow the work of this author.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2010
This book was really good. I was impressed by the way Morrall really delves into the darkness that comes with an eating disorder; a really believable story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2006
This book tells the story of a young girl who faced with bullying at school and difficulties at home turns to dieting as a means of coping which quickly spirals into anorexia. Whilst the book gave a good insight into the thinking processes which accompany an eating disorder I felt it did very little to highlight the dangers. By the end of the book she was recovered which to young girls (at whom this book is aimed) could give the impression that anorexia is something that you can dabble with and stop at any time. This is a dangerous message as the reality is that eating disorders can last years and can destroy the suffers health and life.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2005
Perfect for teenagers or for adults. Really gives an insight into the complexities of eating disorders.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2009
Suggested as a good book for fifteen year olds worried about anorexia but written in a style and language only suitable for 12 years and below. Disappointing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.