Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good reference to IT in Retail Banking!
This book has been written with extensive contribution by numerous companies providing IT services and compelete banking solutions to the retail banking industry.

I particularly appreciated the thorough insight into different banking systems and platforms used by iFlex, Misys, Chordiant and Temenos who are also the biggest contributors to the books content...
Published on 9 May 2008 by K. Maroukian

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you only need UK specific information.
A pretty good summary, although I think it should really have been called '...in UK Retail Banking' as it is completely focussed on the UK perspective.

One complaint would be the quality of the printing. My copy had the spine printed upside down, the page numbers and headers aliened on the wrong side of the page (so that they are hidden in the cleft of the...
Published on 26 Jun. 2008 by Sosh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you only need UK specific information., 26 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Business Knowledge for It in Retail Banking: The Complete Handbook for IT Professionals (Bizle Professional Series) (Paperback)
A pretty good summary, although I think it should really have been called '...in UK Retail Banking' as it is completely focussed on the UK perspective.

One complaint would be the quality of the printing. My copy had the spine printed upside down, the page numbers and headers aliened on the wrong side of the page (so that they are hidden in the cleft of the pages), and some of the diagrams were very difficult to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good reference to IT in Retail Banking!, 9 May 2008
By 
K. Maroukian "Krikor Maroukian" (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Business Knowledge for It in Retail Banking: The Complete Handbook for IT Professionals (Bizle Professional Series) (Paperback)
This book has been written with extensive contribution by numerous companies providing IT services and compelete banking solutions to the retail banking industry.

I particularly appreciated the thorough insight into different banking systems and platforms used by iFlex, Misys, Chordiant and Temenos who are also the biggest contributors to the books content. Another interesting part was the depiction of the Account Management System but there should be more diagrams indicating the architecture of low-level banking systems. Core banking systems are well explained but again I do believe a more thorough explanation is necessary for the reader to understand every aspect of it.

The financial data provided is fascinating and quite informative and there is some useful linking of that information to IT system features.

I was in fact looking for a book that would have covered more on the aspects of how software installed within a bank's server communicates effectively with POS terminals to carry out credit/debit card transactions. However, that was not the case here. Although, I don't think there is a book out there that covers the subject in greater depth.

I would highly recommend the book to IT professionals and retail bank executives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Pointer at the Future of IT, 31 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Business Knowledge for It in Retail Banking: The Complete Handbook for IT Professionals (Bizle Professional Series) (Paperback)
A lot has been said in the press about the IT worker who's strictly focused on technology becoming a rarer bird as offshoring to India becomes the norm. This is one of the books that gives IT professionals a glimspe of the future of IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and Interesting, 18 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: Business Knowledge for It in Retail Banking: The Complete Handbook for IT Professionals (Bizle Professional Series) (Paperback)
As a final year student in Business Information Systems, I have been looking for a book that would help me to develop my knowledge and skills in IT in retail banking. This book is the most comprehensive and the only book on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Information, 20 Oct. 2007
By 
Kim Chu (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Business Knowledge for It in Retail Banking: The Complete Handbook for IT Professionals (Bizle Professional Series) (Paperback)
Exactly what I was looking for. There is no book out there, except for this one of course, that gives graduates of Information Technology an insight into retail banking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know, 22 Oct. 2007
By 
Adam Pike (Wiltshire , UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Business Knowledge for It in Retail Banking: The Complete Handbook for IT Professionals (Bizle Professional Series) (Paperback)
This book tell you all you need to know about IT in retail banking.The discusion on mainframe technologies used in retail banking is very insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excerpts from British Computer Soceity (BCS) Review, 12 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Business Knowledge for It in Retail Banking: The Complete Handbook for IT Professionals (Bizle Professional Series) (Paperback)
This one is superb and highly recommended reading. Even if you are not currently working or intending to work in the financial sector, the book has much to offer us both as IT professionals and as customers of the sector.
The book has sections on the most used methodologies, software suites and packages and describes the impact that regulation has had on the sector. Perhaps I shouldn't tell you, but there is also a section on money laundering and the steps that people go through to dry clean their cash.

Underpinning the regulations is the admonishment to KYC or know your customer. Up to now, I thought that a PEP was a form of investment overtaken by ISAs but this book tells me that it also stands for a politically exposed persons. This includes local and national government officials, members of the judiciary, senior members of the armed forces and people involved in government-owned corporations.

Bang up to date, the book discusses paperless, mobile and cashless banking and plots the trends and players in the field.

Worth buying to read and keep on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Covers the Banking Domain Very Well, 16 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Business Knowledge for It in Retail Banking: The Complete Handbook for IT Professionals (Bizle Professional Series) (Paperback)
An excellent introduction for an IT professional getting into Retail
Banking. It is an equally good reference for IT professionals in other areas
who need some domain knowledge of this industry vertical, which is one of
the biggest users of this technology.

The book reads well and is extremely comprehensive in its coverage. Alas, it is a bit too concise; it whets your appetite for more. For a young student in an IT course, probably the book needs to be twice in size - in terms of detail.

The coverage is extensive and contemporary. It covers the different areas of IT applications for Retail Banking for a modern bank in today's times. Two valuable additions would be additional chapters on IT nfrastructure / Remote Infrastructure Management and IT Enabled Services, both important, growing areas for managing IT in this domain.

The Bizle Professional Series covers the Banking and Financial Services
domain very well. I look forward to this series moving on to two more fast growing industry verticals, Organised Retail and Telecom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Business Knowledge for It in Retail Banking: The Complete Handbook for IT Professionals (Bizle Professional Series)
£49.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews