Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The clearest of the clear.....mind-blowing,quite literally!
Well I have been a seeker on and off for nearly 30 years now, and in the past few years have progressed onto Non dual/Advaita teachings.Thank goodness for this book is all that I can say!This is probably one of the clearest books available, pointing back time and again to the utterly obvious (as the author would put it) present.It hit me time and time again during my...
Published on 8 Jan 2007 by JC

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new in THIS book...
Honestly, I thought this book was going to be great, unfortunately it was the opposite. The book starts well and it says some interesting things, however nothing really new. If you have read J.Krishnamurti you'll find that many of the stuff said in this book was previously said by J.K itself, and more importantly in a far much more elegant way. I didn't give just one star...
Published on 13 Oct 2009 by Marquez Pablo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The clearest of the clear.....mind-blowing,quite literally!, 8 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Life Without a Centre: Awakening from the Dream of Separation (Paperback)
Well I have been a seeker on and off for nearly 30 years now, and in the past few years have progressed onto Non dual/Advaita teachings.Thank goodness for this book is all that I can say!This is probably one of the clearest books available, pointing back time and again to the utterly obvious (as the author would put it) present.It hit me time and time again during my reading of this book,how strongly I've been searching my entire 64 years for something special, and as the book says, ignoring the "utterly obvious" present.I love is that this book never preaches or pretends to have all the answers,and it feels so human and alive, it really resonates with aliveness and clarity, and it has been invaluable for me in letting go of some of those precious beliefs that one day I would be enlightened (after 64 years you'd have thought 'one day' would never come!).

All I can say is that this book left such clarity and, dare I say it, love and stillness. Whilst reading,the anxious,seeking mind simply melted away and there was such luminous clarity and presence.This is truly a special book, alhough of course, as the author says, its not really special at all.I reccommend "Life Without A Centre" highly, it is just what is needed here, and after years of seeking it couldnt have come out at a better time. As it says on the back:

"Freedom and enlightenment are to be found nowhere else but here"

Yes of course,right here, I am smiling to myself as I type this for seeking elsewhere for all those years! I cant give high enough praise to this book.Highly recommended, FIVE stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of the road...., 16 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Life Without a Centre: Awakening from the Dream of Separation (Paperback)
Astonishing book. What else is there to say?! This really is the 'end of the spiritual search'.... the 'Bottom Line' of spirituality! If you've read everything else on nonduality this is the one to kill the whole thing stone dead. WOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As clear as it gets, 26 April 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Without a Centre: Awakening from the Dream of Separation (Paperback)
Over and over again Jeff points out that already what you are is 'this', 'presence' and any idea of being an individual, having and past and future, having anything at all in fact that is personal, that could constitute a 'you' is just a thought!!! That idea of a 'you' is not doing seeking but is in fact the seeking itself!! So this idea, this 'you' can not give up the seeking anymore than it can do anything else. All apparently happens, to no-one and the 'you' that may or may not seem so solid, is that seeking, is that looking for something more, something that is not 'this' 'presence'.

There's a great quote at the start of this book that sums the whole thing up....
"The life I am trying to grasp
is the me that is trying to grasp it."

You'll love this book if there is a resonance with any of the following ... Nathan Gill, Tony Parsons, Leo Hartong, Unmani, sailor bob etc

This book is brilliant!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new in THIS book..., 13 Oct 2009
This review is from: Life Without a Centre: Awakening from the Dream of Separation (Paperback)
Honestly, I thought this book was going to be great, unfortunately it was the opposite. The book starts well and it says some interesting things, however nothing really new. If you have read J.Krishnamurti you'll find that many of the stuff said in this book was previously said by J.K itself, and more importantly in a far much more elegant way. I didn't give just one star because there are a few interesting ideas in this book, but eventually it turns into a meaningless word play. If you are looking for something clear and poweful you should get this book Total Freedom: The Essential Krishnamurti
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont Know what to say..........., 1 Jun 2009
This review is from: Life Without a Centre: Awakening from the Dream of Separation (Paperback)
Five hours after finishing this book I lay in bed and as I relaxed I began to smile and then gently laugh.....and the most liberating thing....I was laughing at 'myself'!!!

So, we are all searching for something more, something special....dare I say it....ENLIGHTENMENT.Yes, the ultimate state, free of ego, thought, mental discord. Many years we have all sought to become enlightened.....but this book asked one question that blew me away!! ...and the question..'WHO IS IT THAT IS SEEKING ENLIGHTENMENT??' When you contemplate this it will not take you long to confirm that it is your 'ego' / this 'false self' that is doing the seeking. But what does this mean?? This means that our ego is searching to free itself from ITSELF!!!!!!!!

Is it hell!!! No, this search for enlightenment is another genius game created by the ego-mind to keep it alive. Answer me this......is the ego EVER going to find a way to liberate itself from ITSELF!! - to do so would be its death....no? The ego searching to undo itself?? - I dont think so - its like 'a dog chasing its own tail!!!!' - its only going to go round and round in circles!

If you can grasp this book (through the 200 paradoxical statements that melt your head) it will have an impact that words cant describe. And if you dont get it - hold on to the book - pick it up and read it at another time - maybe you will get it then. After all, it is not to be understood by the mind, it can only be felt.

I would wish you all good luck in your 'search' but after reading this book I feel that I would only be 'taking the piss'

In summary, well worth a purchase. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the last book..., 7 Jan 2007
This review is from: Life Without a Centre: Awakening from the Dream of Separation (Paperback)
This book is the perfect one to end the apparent search...nothing to gain,nothing to get,just the constant reminding that this is all there is and that this present appearance can't be avoided and is perfect as it is...Jeff beautifully expresses what is beyond all paradoxes,all words,all concepts,all appearances...what can be said after that?...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!! liberating and refreshing stuff!, 31 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Life Without a Centre: Awakening from the Dream of Separation (Paperback)
I'm a first class self-confessed searcher. Self-help, self-development, religion, spirituality. Not now though, not after reading Life Without A Centre. Jeff's message is dynamic, let playful, poetic and....well...obvious (as he puts it). All I'm going to say is if you're ready then you'll read this. If not, it really doesn't matter, although it may mean you keep searching in vain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Dec 2008
This review is from: Life Without a Centre: Awakening from the Dream of Separation (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book explaining the simplicity - or not - of non-duality. Highly recommended, very readable, to the point and a perfect rendition of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars something out of nothing, 25 April 2007
This review is from: Life Without a Centre: Awakening from the Dream of Separation (Paperback)
This is not a bad book - but neither is it good, if only because it attempts the impossible (and should realise that) The problem with describing non-duality is that it unavoidably (if unintentionally) suggests there is something that might be done about it - even if that means doing nothing at all! The very naming of it, even when it claims to reject its own premise, invites intention. Putting words on paper breeds motives in both reader and writer, whether they like it or not. This book takes the line of so many other non-dual tomes: similar images, similar (non) concepts, all pretending to lead no-where (which is always "somewhere" when you write about it) If you must study the subject at all, try John Wheeler for a more refreshing angle. But, in the final analysis, beware of anyone who feels they have anything worthwhile to say on these matters. No real clarity ever emerged from description - however eloquent. After all, who in their right mind would want to write something about nothing! The only authentic response to "awakening" is to shut-up. All the answers are invented - so why bother with the questions?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resonates totally, 12 Aug 2009
This review is from: Life Without a Centre: Awakening from the Dream of Separation (Paperback)
A superb little piece of writing from Jeff Foster. I love the way that the author does not pretend to be a teacher or a guru, but delivers an earth-shatteringly challenging message with clarity and impersonal love and an underlying intelligence that is missing from many of my other 'spiritual books' - though actually I would not call this book 'spiritual' at all. It - to me - is the end of spirituality as I know it, and points to something much more real and grounded. Hints of Krishnamurti, Ken Wilber, Tony Parsons and Osho here, with a sprinkling of Zen and gnostic Christianity, but Jeff writes with an original voice mostly unencumbered by traditional spiritual language. Highly refreshing and, as one reviewer put it, 'a karate chop to the spiritual funny bone' - I would agree.

I know that this book is NOT for everyone - many will find it challenging to their 'spiritual seeker' identity, and I suppose that is to be expected. Others will simply not be ready for it, or will find it over-wordy. Others will say it is too simplistic, or naive even - but here lies the book's power: it is simple without being simplistic, refreshing without being naive, and inspiring without being a self-help book.

It does not reject or deny the human (relative) aspect of life like most radical advaita texts, but also does not indulge the 'poor me' stories like most self-help books and progressive path teachings. It does not reject duality, nor does it encourage dwelling in emptiness, but seems to straddle 'both' perspectives - until of course one sees (somehow!) that these perspectives are 'not two' - and it is all a great Dance of the One - and the individual is included in that embrace.

In summary, a book for those who are 'ready' to hear a radical message of absolute unconditional love, and let go, totally. I may have not been ready to hear this some years ago, but after something 'clicked' last year: this book now resonates completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life Without a Centre: Awakening from the Dream of Separation
Life Without a Centre: Awakening from the Dream of Separation by Jeff Foster (Paperback - 12 Dec 2006)
Used & New from: £13.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews