Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A journey into the English countryside, 20 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Flower Shop: A Year in the Life of an English Country Flower Shop (Hardcover)
This exquisitely photographed book takes you on a journey into the English countryside by way of sharing a year in the life of an English Country Flower shop, set deep in the heart of Wiltshire. Through her beautiful photography Sally captures the flowers and how they are used by people to mark significant moments in their lives, not only births, marriages and deaths, but the 'I bought you these, just because.....'moments too. The accompanying anecdotes in the text enable a glimpse into people's lives and the combination of this and the photography makes you feel part of the world she depicts and, if you're like me, want to be part of it too! There are even tips dotted about the book on how to look after your own flowers. I was given the book as a gift and I can think of no better present for someone who loves England, flowers and is interested in people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift ..., 20 Sep 2007
By 
Mrs. A. M. Hughes (Surrey, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Flower Shop: A Year in the Life of an English Country Flower Shop (Hardcover)
Open this book and have your faith in our beautiful country restored!!! Forget self-help and therapy-based books, step inside Sally's book with its fabulous photography and soothing words and you will be transported to a calmer place. It made me think of the many positive things happening in this busy life we all lead and the many acts of kindness and thoughtfulness which occur every day, up and down the country - a wonderful polarisation of the negative which worms its way into daily life.

A great present for someone who needs to just 'sit' and reflect!! Plus some great ideas and tips.

STOP PRESS!! Have just received the 'Christmas' version - taking the reader through the 12 days of Christmas - another absolutely beautiful book. Look no further for a present for someone who appreciates flowers and all things related. Gorgeous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, Beautiful Book, 7 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flower Shop: A Year in the Life of an English Country Flower Shop (Hardcover)
This is such a beautifully written book which, at times, brought a tear to my eye with its emotion.

Sally truly makes you feel as if you are in the shop, watching the hustle & bustle go by.

As a 1st year floristry student, I loved it - But I would recommend this to anyone who loves flowers.

Lovely photos & stories, plus the odd floristry tip.

Food for the soul indeed, I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Buy, 4 Jan 2010
By 
S. M. Creedon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Flower Shop: A Year in the Life of an English Country Flower Shop (Hardcover)
I purchased these books as gifts for friends who are interested in flowers and their gardens. It is a lovely gift for people who love flowers but also for anyone who wants to know what it is like to live in a typical country village. The book is not only an interesting read but also has useful snippets of information about keeping flowers fresh and what flowers and foliage to use for different arrangements. The phtographs are beautiful. Even if flowers are not your thing, it is a lovely book just to leave on the coffee table and pick up and browse through from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A window into a world of peaceful beauty and simplicitiy, 6 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Flower Shop: A Year in the Life of an English Country Flower Shop (Hardcover)
"The Flower Shop" by Sally Page is more than just an indulgent and luxurious coffee table book.

Each page is a personal invitation for you to taste every detail, from the momentous to the mudane, of the lives of people who pass through the charming Wiltshire village of Tisbury and stop at "Ted Martin: Flowers & China". The moment you pick up and open Sally's book, you feel like you have opened the door, walked into her shop and have been one of her treasured customers or friends for years.

The quality of the photography is stunning. It makes "Homes & Gardens" or "Gardens Illustrated" look like seed catalogues by comparison.

But this book is more than just a delight to the senses or a feast for the gardener's or flower-lover's eyes. The subject matter is the beauty of life itself - in all it's familiar and surprising floral, human and rural forms.

With each chapter you are taken through the seasons of the year one month at a time, savouring the flowers, colours and people from that time of year in all their natural beauty.

But what makes this book really special is that this "year in the life of an English country flower shop" is illustrated not only by the camera but also by amusing and touching stories of the flower shop customers' lives, garnished with eclectic quotations from the likes of AA Milne, Robert Burns and Vita Sackville-West.

Like it's subject matter, this book is a perfect gift for any occasion and a lot cheaper than a bunch of flowers!

But beware: like all good presents, when you get your hands on it, you will want to keep it for yourself!

So, buy two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Englishness at it's best, 7 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: The Flower Shop: A Year in the Life of an English Country Flower Shop (Hardcover)
Another Sally Page book and I love it, very English very lovely, all about the coming and goings in an english flower shop, a truely good read and beautiful photo's, I will keep these books forever and look forward to any furture books that Sally writes. Thank you Sally your books and friends are wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the flower shop, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flower Shop: A Year in the Life of an English Country Flower Shop (Hardcover)
A nice book, beautiful pictures. a a
Very English and a good inspiration for all that love flowers.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 23 Mar 2011
By 
E. Chaplin (St Albans) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Flower Shop: A Year in the Life of an English Country Flower Shop (Hardcover)
I bought this lovely book as a birthday present for a friend of mine, having flicked through it I wish I had kept it. What a beautiful book, full of fabulous flowers and little anecdotes and tips. This would make a beautiful gift for anyone who loves flowers, or a special treat for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good christmas or birthday present, 29 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Flower Shop: A Year in the Life of an English Country Flower Shop (Hardcover)
Gave this to my mum for Christmas and she is really pleased with it. She enjoys flower arranging so this is just up her street. The photos are gorgeous and although there is little text there is just enough to get some useful tips and ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I devoured this book in one sitting!, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flower Shop: A Year in the Life of an English Country Flower Shop (Hardcover)
I devoured this book in one sitting. While it wasn't the insight into running a flower shop I thought it was going to be it's a lovely angle of running a flower shop that I had not considered researching!

A lovely read regardless of your level of interest in flowers & flower shops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Flower Shop: A Year in the Life of an English Country Flower Shop
£17.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews