Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book
This is a vey fascinating read on the economics and folk lore of a community. Few books emphasises the history and traditions of British knitting to this extent. This is done however by focusing upon one community and thier role in the knitwear industry of the 19th. century. Having inspired the reader it provides a skilled knitter with enough information to embark upon...
Published on 1 Dec 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed knitter
Great history book but disappointed with the patterns. I would find it difficult to knit a sweater from the way instructions are detailed
Published 10 months ago by Carmel Gray


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 1 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This is a vey fascinating read on the economics and folk lore of a community. Few books emphasises the history and traditions of British knitting to this extent. This is done however by focusing upon one community and thier role in the knitwear industry of the 19th. century. Having inspired the reader it provides a skilled knitter with enough information to embark upon their own project. For the beginner I would suggest that it is not recommend as a pattern book. It provides pointers to the manufacture of a garment rather than a complete instruction set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy knitting!, 2 Jan 2010
By 
AG PHILLIPS "An Bucca" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cornish Guernseys and Knit-frocks (Paperback)
The knitting of ornate guernsey jumpers provided a useful source of income for late nineteenth-century Cornish fishing communities, each developing their own distinctive pattern. It was mainly down to the work of this book's author that thirty of these patterns have been saved and preserved for prosperity.

Reprinted in a new, updated edition after many years out of print, this new edition contains a number of new photographs as well as identifying many of the subjects of the photos in the original edition. Information about where to obtain the 5-ply guernsey wool used in the knitting patterns has also been updated. However, I have been told by knitters that this book should be seen as more of a guide for the experienced knitter rather than providing precise patterns for those less gifted.

Purchasing the machine-knitted Cornish guernseys produced by manufacturers such as Seadogs in Penryn is an option available to those who, like me, can only marvel at the patience and dextrousness of skilled knitters. However, this book will provide for the latter, no doubt, an excellent source of challenging and useful fireside activity in the long, winter months ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a specialist book of great value, 29 Dec 2010
By 
R.H. (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cornish Guernseys and Knit-frocks (Paperback)
As a knitter of Norfolk 'ganseys' this little book is invaluable in illustrating the development of patterning in the South West. For anyone who cares about local skills and traditions, and the making of beautiful knitwear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cornish Guernseys and Knit Frocks, 21 Feb 2011
By 
Jeanette Brodie "jinty" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very informative book for anyone interested in either knitting ganseys or the history of the craft. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and looking at the illustrted patterns from the era. There is also a pattern to try out if you would like to try the shape. A good book for beginner and expert to enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
seems incomplete somehow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cornish Guernseys and Knit-frocks (Paperback)
I love this book. Lots of social history explaining where each design could have originated. Discovering how to knit a sweater without seams is a revelation and is a method I intend to use in future on suitable patterns. I knew exactly what I was buying when I placed my order. I'll enjoy learning about the social history of the time and place. A sweater or two will be a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely and interesting, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Cornish Guernseys and Knit-frocks (Paperback)
Lovely, interesting book with lots of facts and history. I haven't started a project yet as I'm still reading and also want to get the correct wool from one of the few suppliers, but am looking forward to knitting my husband a jumper to wear on our boat that will last forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed knitter, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cornish Guernseys and Knit-frocks (Paperback)
Great history book but disappointed with the patterns. I would find it difficult to knit a sweater from the way instructions are detailed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing: knitting instructions for one basic guernsey pattern, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cornish Guernseys and Knit-frocks (Paperback)
The book contains 30 knitting patterns, but it is disappointedly for one basic fisherman's sweater/guernsey. Very uninspiring book. And also many knitting patterns you can get from other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cornish knitting, 19 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cornish Guernseys and Knit-frocks (Paperback)
An excellent book for those interested and would recommend it .The book is interesting to read as well as some good patterns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cornish Guernseys and Knit-frocks
Cornish Guernseys and Knit-frocks by Mary Wright (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
£6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews