Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal Visualising Tool for Reluctant Learners
I have also bought the Richard III and Romeo and Juliet for use as teaching tools. Of the three this one is my favourite, simpy because the art work is beautiful and helps the story to motor along greatly. I have scanned in key scenes and used for Year 7's (ordering panels on the interactive whiteboard, filling in word balloons, character mapping, matching names to...
Published on 24 April 2008 by L. O'hanlon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Novel but grey
Surprised that the book is mainly black and white illustrations - really should have been better in colour. Illustrations are very good and the whole concept of introducing Shakespeare to reluctant teen readers also good. Will see how well it is received!
Published on 19 Dec. 2012 by ScotsLass


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal Visualising Tool for Reluctant Learners, 24 April 2008
By 
L. O'hanlon (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manga Shakespeare: Midsummer Night's Dream, A (Paperback)
I have also bought the Richard III and Romeo and Juliet for use as teaching tools. Of the three this one is my favourite, simpy because the art work is beautiful and helps the story to motor along greatly. I have scanned in key scenes and used for Year 7's (ordering panels on the interactive whiteboard, filling in word balloons, character mapping, matching names to characters, starting point for drama activities). As soon as the kids hear the word manga, they become enthusiastic and Shakespeare becomes 'fun' again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Shakespeare accessible to a whole new generation, 1 Feb. 2011
By 
Emma @ Book Angel Booktopia (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Manga Shakespeare: Midsummer Night's Dream, A (Paperback)
Let me start by saying I am not going to review the story of A Midsummer Night's Dream only the Manga take on the play.

I really wanted to see how these Manga books would relate in the Secondary school library, especially with the current trend for Manga.

Although the language remains the same as the original play it does make it easier to follow without the stage directions and with the illustrations of the specific person speaking.

The book starts with an introduction to each character along with a brief sentence as to their relationship with the other characters. Something that pupils can refer back to if they get confused as to who is with who etc.

The illustrations are beautiful and really add to the imagery portrayed within the dialogue. The way in which the characters were drawn is remarkably like the way I had pictured them within my imagination.

Really easy to follow and understand. My only 'complaint' which isn't really a complaint is that only the first few pages are in colour the rest are in black and white, I like colour but I think that it may increase the cost of production and therefore the cost to purchase.

I have shown the book to the English Department who are going to buy a set for the library. A great resource to run alongside the traditional text in the classroom and I think making Shakespeare more accessible to pupils.

Bringing Shakespeare to a whole new generation to fully appreciate cannot be a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Novel but grey, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manga Shakespeare: Midsummer Night's Dream, A (Paperback)
Surprised that the book is mainly black and white illustrations - really should have been better in colour. Illustrations are very good and the whole concept of introducing Shakespeare to reluctant teen readers also good. Will see how well it is received!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my son who doesn't really enjoy reading that much but to help with school work ..., 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manga Shakespeare: Midsummer Night's Dream, A (Paperback)
Bought for my son who doesn't really enjoy reading that much but to help with school work as this is one of the books they are studying this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manga Shakespeare: Midsummer Night's Dream, A (Paperback)
Well illustrated and a really interesting take on the story. A nice and different little addition to my collection. happy with this buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manga Shakespeare: Midsummer Night's Dream, A
Manga Shakespeare: Midsummer Night's Dream, A by Richard Appignanesi (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews